Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
AMD64 - How do you run yours? 32, 64 or both?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lightvhawk0
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Nov 2003
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2004 6:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I installed 100% 64-bit and I just got done emerging app-emulation/emul-linux-x86-baselibs app-emulation/emul-linux-x86-xlibs
Hoping I can get Neverwinter Nights to work
_________________
If God has made us in his image, we have returned him the favor. - Voltaire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SpoonMeiser
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Sep 2002
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2004 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lightvhawk0 wrote:
Hoping I can get Neverwinter Nights to work

Unfortunatly, you will need 32bit 3D drivers installed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crazycat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Aug 2003
Posts: 838
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2004 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

check this thread
http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=137927
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lightvhawk0
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Nov 2003
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 7:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, now all i need to do is make some 32-bit alsa libs :D
_________________
If God has made us in his image, we have returned him the favor. - Voltaire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TucDemonic
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Sep 2003
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="scoobydu"]
LaNcom wrote:

I was gutted that fluxbox doesn't appear to work http://packages.gentoo.org/search/?sstring=fluxbox

although pekwm does :)



Works Beautifully for me, all i had to do was put in the ~amd64 in the ebuild and in fact i am running on it now (though i still cant figure out how to get my tabs setup correctly.)

uname -a
Linux amd64 2.6.2-gentoo-r1 #1 Tue Feb 17 17:50:33 MST 2004 x86_64 4 GNU/Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoobydu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 1076
Location: 'Mind the Gap'

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@TucDemonic

My comment is misleading, sorry. I meant officially its not supported, ie unmasked, but you are right, it does work very well.

Not sure what your problem is with the tabs .... I just use the standard tab setup. it works for me :)
_________________
Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
get sirius
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2002
Posts: 316
Location: Madison, WI

PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2004 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So far I've just installed everything 64-bit. My first couple of installs I did emerge the two emul-linux-x86 libs but the subsequent gcc recompile failed, so this time I did not emerge them.

I'm using gnome because it boots faster than kde by a wide margin and seems to have fewer problems with the 64-bit nvidia driver (although I prefer the completeness and configurability of kde).

BTW, if anyone is considering using one of Tyan's high-end boards with the 3ware 8506 SATA controller, be advised that (at least with the S2885) you'll also need a riser card to connect it to a PCI-X slot, otherwise be prepared for max instability, crashes, etc. The best recommendation on this is to wait until 3ware comes out with its next iteration of this card, which is supposed to fix the problem as well as offer even better performance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoobydu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 1076
Location: 'Mind the Gap'

PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2004 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

get sirius wrote:
BTW, if anyone is considering using one of Tyan's high-end boards with the 3ware 8506 SATA controller, be advised that (at least with the S2885) you'll also need a riser card to connect it to a PCI-X slot, otherwise be prepared for max instability, crashes, etc. The best recommendation on this is to wait until 3ware comes out with its next iteration of this card, which is supposed to fix the problem as well as offer even better performance.


I've pinched your recommendations, hope you don't mind ... :wink:
_________________
Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
get sirius
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2002
Posts: 316
Location: Madison, WI

PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Scoobydoo: you're welcome to them; which did you see fit to try?

On another note, after posting my entry yesterday, I felt like trying kde again. Must have been a cleaner install this time because boot time now rivals that of gnome, but it's still buggy as heck compiled as 64-bit: I can log on as either root or as user, but everytime I log off as root the machine locks up hard - doesn't happen when I log on/off as user.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoobydu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 1076
Location: 'Mind the Gap'

PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2004 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

get sirius wrote:
Scoobydoo: you're welcome to them; which did you see fit to try?

On another note, after posting my entry yesterday, I felt like trying kde again. Must have been a cleaner install this time because boot time now rivals that of gnome, but it's still buggy as heck compiled as 64-bit: I can log on as either root or as user, but everytime I log off as root the machine locks up hard - doesn't happen when I log on/off as user.


get sirius

I didn't try them, I just pinched them for this thread http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=139823 in an attempt to list some hardware that works, so others get a better idea of which hardware suits their needs :)

Re kde, I can't really comment, as I've never built kde or gnome on gentoo. Only ever tried them on livecd's and decided to go for a light option like fluxbox.
_________________
Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mb4guns
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Dec 2002
Posts: 300
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2004 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mainly 64-bit with the exception on some pre compiled apps and games. Using my chrooted 32bit for testing only....
_________________
sys0: Athlon64, Corsair TWINX DDR400 (1024mb), GeForce FX5600 256mb, 2x SATA MAxtor 120gig, Plextor 708a, Zalman cooling, Zalman powered, gnomed
sys1: Dell inspiron 4100 PentiumIII-mobile@1000 512mb ATI Radeon mobility m6 30gig, gnomed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum