Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Grub Error Collection [Part 7] [POST GRUB QUESTIONS HERE!]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 22, 23, 24, 25, 26  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
wynn
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 2421
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jmbsvicetto wrote:
try using rootdelay instead of scandelay
rootdelay is a kernel parameter and is handled in init/do_mounts.c while scandelay is an initramfs parameter handled in linuxrc (aka /init).

The point being that, if initramfs manages to mount the root filesystem, prepare_namespace in do_mounts is not called and rootdelay is ignored.

In this particular case, booting gets no further than an emergency shell so if scandelay doesn't work, rootdelay never gets a chance to strut its thing.
_________________
The avatar is jorma, a "duck" from "Elephants Dream": the film and all the production materials have been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 License, see orange.blender.org for details.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 12:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wynn wrote:
jmbsvicetto wrote:
try using rootdelay instead of scandelay
rootdelay is a kernel parameter and is handled in init/do_mounts.c while scandelay is an initramfs parameter handled in linuxrc (aka /init).
The point being that, if initramfs manages to mount the root filesystem, prepare_namespace in do_mounts is not called and rootdelay is ignored.
In this particular case, booting gets no further than an emergency shell so if scandelay doesn't work, rootdelay never gets a chance to strut its thing.

Wynn,

I wasn't aware of the scandelay option. Thanks for letting me know what it does.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GungHo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 254

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 1:29 pm    Post subject: boot a bootable CD/DVD with grub, Error 23 Reply with quote

Hi All,

I'd like to have an entry in my /boot/grub/grub.conf like

Code:
title=Bootable CD/DVD
rootnoverify (cd)
chainloader +1
boot


to boot a bootable CD/DVD out of grub (which could be installed on HD or Floppy).

According to http://www.gnu.org/software/grub/manual/html_node/Making-a-GRUB-bootable-CD_002dROM.html#Making-a-GRUB-bootable-CD_002dROM there should be a "device" named (cd).

But when I do

Code:
grub> rootnoverify ({TAB}


grub replies

Code:
 
grub> rootnoverify (hd
 Possible disks are:  hd0 hd1


Please notice how the TAB Key is replaced by "hd".

If I do

Code:
grub> rootnoverify (f{TAB}


(f for fd0) nothing happens. If I do

Code:
grub> rootnoverify (c{TAB}
Error 23: Error while parsing number


grub shows Error 23, which is the same error as when I try to boot via such an entry.

fd0 is definitively working !

My grub is

Code:
# eix -ncI grub
[I] sys-boot/grub (0.97-r3@01/22/2007): GNU GRUB 2 boot loader


Any clues ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GungHo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 254

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi All,

forget/delete the last question, it works as documented:

Chapter 11.1 of grub's doku:

Code:
If you boot GRUB from a CD-ROM, `(cd)' is available.


Then, and only then there is a (cd) device available.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ptero
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Mar 2007
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2007 10:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

all right, the problem really was the partition table. after deleting all partitions and making new ones everything works just fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ptero
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Mar 2007
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

how do i load freebsd 6.2 from grub?
Code:
title=FreeBSD
root(hd1,0,a)
kernel /boot/loader

doesn't work (yes, i'm sure, it's hd1,0 ;) ). actually, i still can load it per mbr, but i wanted to install xp on the same hdd soon, so the mbr record will be gone...


Last edited by ptero on Thu Apr 19, 2007 5:16 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
likeitfast
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 5:06 pm    Post subject: error 15 Reply with quote

I whent thru a all the minumum install and when I rebooted I got the error 15 on my kernel.
Grub error 15
After hitting return in the grub prompt you get something similar to this one?
Code:
Booting 'gentoo Linux'

root (hd0,0)
Filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83
kernel (hd0,0)/boot/kernel-2.4.20 root=/dev/hda3 vga=792

Error 15: File not found
Press any key to continue...
info grub wrote:
15 : File not found
This error is returned if the specified file name cannot be found, but everything else (like the disk/partition info) is OK.

If it's the kernel that it's missing (bzImage, kernel...):make sure that the file it is referring to exists on your boot partition.
my error

To find out what the exact name of your kernel is, first boot from the live-cd or into your existing linux installation. Then mount /boot if you've got a seperate partition, or mount / if you don't. Then do the following:
Code:
cd /boot
ls
This will list all the kernels that you've got on your boot partition.
this returns only the folder boot using the minumum install cd to boot

If your kernel is missing make sure that you compiled a kernel either with genkernel or make menuconfig
Code:
cd /usr/src/linux/
make menuconfig
and you copied it to your boot partition.
brings up the error no such file or directory


please some one help this min install took me 2 days. and before that I kept trying the gtk+ livecd install for about 8 hours.
I am a windows born computer science major and I have been made accustomed to the commands of unix as a quick learn before I needed it to compile java in a unix environment on campus computers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thorpe
l33t
l33t


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 618
Location: Sydney, Australia.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can we see your grub.conf file?
_________________
Research before taking any advice from me. I'm still coming to grips with this myself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Merged above post here.

Error 15 is a mismatch between the kernel file name you've told grub to look for and the actual file name of the kernel image.
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
likeitfast
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 5:16 pm    Post subject: 15 Reply with quote

fdisk -l retrives
/dev/hda1 * 1 101 811251 83 linux
/dev/hda2 102 614 4120672+ 82 linux swap /solaris
/dev/hda3 615 875 2096482+ 83 linux

then my grub.conf
default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.17-r5
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.17-gentoo-r5 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/hda3 udev
initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.17-gentoo-r5

i did not correct to make sure my kernel is right but I think it is not I just copied from the code in the guide.

ty for the prompt replys
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
likeitfast
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 5:27 pm    Post subject: 15 Reply with quote

I first emerged gentoo-sources because when I tryed emerge genkernel for some reason it did not want to. but it seemed to run happly after emergeing gentoo-sources. I did get random warning lines that blazed by durring some parts of tar or emerge commands. but I thought they did not mean much in large list of text expecialy when the text does not return to a prompt because of it.

ill come back to it in about 6 hours
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dasy2k1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Feb 2007
Posts: 15
Location: chester UK

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 6:39 pm    Post subject: cannot open root device "sda7" Reply with quote

my system is set up as


ID SYSTEM MOUNT POINT SIZE START END FS LABEL

sda1 Gentoo ( /usr ) 60 G 1 7833 Reiser
sda2 SWAP ( SWAP ) 2 G 7834 8094 SWAP
sda3 Gentoo ( /boot ) 256 M 8095 8127 EXT2 Gentoo.boot

sda4 ******** EXTENDED ****** 8128 38913

sda5 blank ( ) 80 G 8128 18570 EXT3
sda6 Suse ( / ) 60 G 18571 26403 EXT3
sda7 Gentoo ( / ) 20 G 26404 29014 Reiser Gentoo
sda8 Gentoo ( /var ) 2 G 29015 29275 EXT2 Gentoo.var
sda9 ALL ( /home ) 64+ G 29275 38913 EXT3

(thast my handy crib sheet to remember where i put everything)

when i try to boot to gentoo using the following grub.conf file

Code:
# Which listing to boot as default. 0 is the first, 1 the second etc.
default 0
# How many seconds to wait before the default listing is booted.
timeout 30
# Nice, fat splash-image to spice things up :)
# Comment out if you don't have a graphics card installed
splashimage=(hd0,2)/grub/splash.xpm.gz


title=Gentoo Linux
 root (hd0,6)
        kernel=(hd0,2)/bzImage ro root=(hd0,6)



title openSUSE 10.2
 root (hd0,5)
        kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda6 vga=0x317 resume=/dev/sda2
        initrd /boot/initrd


i get the folowing messaes after all the normall kernel stuff that scrolls past too fast to read

Code:

Root-NFS: No NFS server avalable, giving up
VFS: Unable to mount root fs via NFS, trying floppy
VFS: Insert root floppy and press ENTER



i dont even have a floppy drive, if i just press ener anyway i get...

Code:

VFS: cannot open root device "sda7" or unknown-block(2,0)
please append a correct "root=" option

Kernel Panic not syncing: VFS: unable to mount root fs on unknown-block (2,0)

(there may be typos in the last code block as i had to copy it to paper off the screen then type it in again)

this seems strange as im not trying to acsess anything via NFS.

im a relative newbie to setting up grub manually having only used binary distros in the past that have done it for me

if anyone can help me fix this i would be greatfull.

PS the suse entry boots fine... (thast what im writing this from)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.
ptero wrote:
how do i load freebsd 6.2 from grub?
Code:
title=FreeBSD
root(hd1,0,a)
kernel /boot/loader

doesn't work (yes, i'm sure, it's hd1,0 ;) ). actually, i still can load it per mbr, but i wanted to install xp on the same hdd soon, so the mbr record will be gone...

Have you tried using root(hd1,0)?
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 11:12 pm    Post subject: Re: 15 Reply with quote

Hi.
likeitfast wrote:

...
Code:
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
...
kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.17-gentoo-r5 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/hda3 udev
initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.17-gentoo-r5


Make sure you have the 3 previous files. You could start by commenting the splashimage line and checking carefully the name of the kernel and initramfs files.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 11:25 pm    Post subject: Re: cannot open root device "sda7" Reply with quote

Hi.
dasy2k1 wrote:

Code:

sda3    Gentoo          ( /boot )       256 M   8095    8127    EXT2    Gentoo.boot
sda7    Gentoo          ( / )           20  G   26404   29014   Reiser  Gentoo

Code:

splashimage=(hd0,2)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
...
title=Gentoo Linux
root (hd0,6)
kernel=(hd0,2)/bzImage ro root=(hd0,6)

Code:

VFS: cannot open root device "sda7" or unknown-block(2,0)
please append a correct "root=" option
Kernel Panic not syncing: VFS: unable to mount root fs on unknown-block (2,0)


You have quite a few problems in your grub.conf file.

  • Having root (hd0,6) and kernel=(hd0,2) is wrong. One uses the root syntax to have / equal to that value. Even worse is you using 2 different values in there.
  • Then you have root=(hd0,6) which is also wrong. The (hdX,Y) syntax is used by GRUB, not by the Linux kernel. You should have root=/dev/sda7. The final kernel error is caused by this.
  • You're confusing the /boot partition with the / partition - /dev/sda3, (hd0,2) / /dev/sda7.
  • Finally, you shouldn't be using the ro parameter with the kernel, unless you use something like JFS, IIRC.

Code:
Try using the following:
title=Gentoo Linux
root (hd0,2)
kernel /boot/bzImage root=/dev/sda7

_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
likeitfast
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 11:39 pm    Post subject: to jmbsvicetto Reply with quote

um I don't see any kernel the way this thread start gives I find nothing. Is there some other way I should try to find it? or even better a step by step way to get a live kernel without having to redo the entire install over again?

well I guess when I typed mount / or mount /boot nothing actualy mounted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
likeitfast
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:04 am    Post subject: hum Reply with quote

maybe I messed up and some how did not configure any kernel
I think I did miss some steps in installing the kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:27 am    Post subject: Re: hum Reply with quote

likeitfast wrote:
maybe I messed up and some how did not configure any kernel
I think I did miss some steps in installing the kernel.

Use the handbook to help you mount your partitions and do the chroot. Then edit your /boot/grub/grub.conf file and install grub into the MBR - I suggest using grub over grub-install.
If you need more detailed instructions, you might want to try #gentoo on the Freenode IRC network.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ptero
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Mar 2007
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jmbsvicetto wrote:
Hi.
ptero wrote:
how do i load freebsd 6.2 from grub?
Code:
title=FreeBSD
root(hd1,0,a)
kernel /boot/loader

doesn't work (yes, i'm sure, it's hd1,0 ;) ). actually, i still can load it per mbr, but i wanted to install xp on the same hdd soon, so the mbr record will be gone...

Have you tried using root(hd1,0)?

it doesn't work either. actually, i rad that old versions of grub don't support ufs2, but i do have 0.97
there's a file named ufs2_stage1_5 in the /boot/grub directory. can it be that that is a module which isn't loaded by default?

p.s. i didn't mention what error it was: it's error 15, file not found. but (hd1,0,a)/boot/loader is right.


Last edited by ptero on Fri Apr 20, 2007 9:47 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dasy2k1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Feb 2007
Posts: 15
Location: chester UK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 9:01 pm    Post subject: Re: cannot open root device "sda7" Reply with quote

jmbsvicetto wrote:

Code:
Try using the following:
title=Gentoo Linux
root (hd0,2)
kernel /boot/bzImage root=/dev/sda7


that loads the kernel fine but still gives the error
Code:

Root-NFS: No NFS server avalable, giving up
VFS: Unable to mount root fs via NFS, trying floppy
VFS: Insert root floppy and press ENTER


this seems strange as im not trying to use NFS to mount root!
im not running anything NFS in fact.

could the error be in my /etc/fstab ?

Code:

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# noatime turns off atimes for increased performance (atimes normally aren't
# needed; notail increases performance of ReiserFS (at the expense of storage
# efficiency).  It's safe to drop the noatime options if you want and to
# switch between notail / tail freely.
#
# The root filesystem should have a pass number of either 0 or 1.
# All other filesystems should have a pass number of 0 or greater than 1.
#
# See the manpage fstab(5) for more information.
#

# <fs>                  <mountpoint>    <type>          <opts>          <dump/pass>

# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
/dev/sda3               /boot           ext2            noauto,noatime  1 2
/dev/sda7               /               reiserfs        noatime         0 1
/dev/sda2               none            swap            sw              0 0
/dev/sda8               /var            ext2            noatime         0 2
/dev/sda1               /usr            reiserfs        noatime         0 0
/dev/sda9               /home           ext3            noatime         0 0
/dev/hda                /mnt/cdrom      auto            noauto,user     0 0
#/dev/fd0               /mnt/floppy     auto            noauto          0 0

# NOTE: The next line is critical for boot!
proc                    /proc           proc            defaults        0 0

# glibc 2.2 and above expects tmpfs to be mounted at /dev/shm for
# POSIX shared memory (shm_open, shm_unlink).
# (tmpfs is a dynamically expandable/shrinkable ramdisk, and will
#  use almost no memory if not populated with files)
shm                     /dev/shm        tmpfs           nodev,nosuid,noexec     0 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wynn
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 2421
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 10:08 am    Post subject: Re: cannot open root device "sda7" Reply with quote

dasy2k1 wrote:
jmbsvicetto wrote:
Code:
Try using the following:
title=Gentoo Linux
root (hd0,2)
kernel /boot/bzImage root=/dev/sda7
that loads the kernel fine but still gives the error
Code:
Root-NFS: No NFS server avalable, giving up
VFS: Unable to mount root fs via NFS, trying floppy
VFS: Insert root floppy and press ENTER
this seems strange as im not trying to use NFS to mount root!
im not running anything NFS in fact.
No, but if your kernel configuration has
Code:
    -> File systems
      -> Network File Systems
[*] Root file system on NFS
and
Code:
    -> Device Drivers
      -> Block devices
<*> Normal floppy disk support
(usually configured in by default) then you will get this message when the kernel hasn't got support for the disk type the root filesystem is on.

Could you check your kernel configuration — it is usually in /usr/src/linux-<release>/.config where "<release>" is the kernel release, for "linux-2.6.17-gentoo-r7" it is "2.6.17-gentoo-r7" — against [FAQ] KC13: I just installed a new kernel and it won't boot? This will show you what is required for SATA support.

Have you downloaded the kernel sources and compiled them? Or are you working from the LiveCD kernel just copied across?
_________________
The avatar is jorma, a "duck" from "Elephants Dream": the film and all the production materials have been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 License, see orange.blender.org for details.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ptero wrote:
jmbsvicetto wrote:
Hi.
ptero wrote:
how do i load freebsd 6.2 from grub?
Code:
title=FreeBSD
root(hd1,0,a)
kernel /boot/loader

doesn't work (yes, i'm sure, it's hd1,0 ;) ). actually, i still can load it per mbr, but i wanted to install xp on the same hdd soon, so the mbr record will be gone...

Have you tried using root(hd1,0)?

it doesn't work either. actually, i rad that old versions of grub don't support ufs2, but i do have 0.97
there's a file named ufs2_stage1_5 in the /boot/grub directory. can it be that that is a module which isn't loaded by default?

p.s. i didn't mention what error it was: it's error 15, file not found. but (hd1,0,a)/boot/loader is right.

Then mount your /boot partition and make sure you have the file loader. Error 15 means you're using the wrong kernel name.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ptero
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Mar 2007
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jmbsvicetto wrote:
ptero wrote:
jmbsvicetto wrote:
Hi.
ptero wrote:
how do i load freebsd 6.2 from grub?
Code:
title=FreeBSD
root(hd1,0,a)
kernel /boot/loader

doesn't work (yes, i'm sure, it's hd1,0 ;) ). actually, i still can load it per mbr, but i wanted to install xp on the same hdd soon, so the mbr record will be gone...

Have you tried using root(hd1,0)?

it doesn't work either. actually, i rad that old versions of grub don't support ufs2, but i do have 0.97
there's a file named ufs2_stage1_5 in the /boot/grub directory. can it be that that is a module which isn't loaded by default?

p.s. i didn't mention what error it was: it's error 15, file not found. but (hd1,0,a)/boot/loader is right.

Then mount your /boot partition and make sure you have the file loader. Error 15 means you're using the wrong kernel name.

i already had, else i wouldn't say, it was right... it's the strange thing about it...
perharps, i should try to install grub again, but this time from freebsd. i hope, then it would work with ufs2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 4:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ptero wrote:
jmbsvicetto wrote:

...
Then mount your /boot partition and make sure you have the file loader. Error 15 means you're using the wrong kernel name.

i already had, else i wouldn't say, it was right... it's the strange thing about it...
perharps, i should try to install grub again, but this time from freebsd. i hope, then it would work with ufs2.

You should also make sure that you have the boot symlink in /boot.
I would suggest you use the GRUB console, while on the GRUB menu press 'c', to diagnose your problem. You should enter into the console the following lines:
Code:
root(hd1,0,a)
kernel /boot/loader
boot

You can take advantage of the tab auto completion to check if the disk, partition and file name are correct. If you write root(hd and press TAB, you should get a list of available disks; if you write root(hd1, and press TAB you should get a list of partitions and so on.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ptero
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Mar 2007
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 2:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, the problem was a missing space after "root".
with the space everything works!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 22, 23, 24, 25, 26  Next
Page 23 of 26

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum