Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
touch Error: Function not implemented
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ravilj
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jul 2004
Posts: 164
Location: ziig / #

PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 11:04 pm    Post subject: touch Error: Function not implemented Reply with quote

I recently (yesterday) completed an emerge sync and then emerge world. I rebooted my PC today and my system failed to come up. It moaned about udev or such...

After some inspection, it seems I have an error with touch. I cant emerge anything, it does not get past unpacking the source. The following error is the same for all packages:

Quote:
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Unpacking udev-089.tar.bz2 to /var/tmp/portage/udev-089/work
touch: setting times of `/var/tmp/portage/udev-089/.unpacked': Function not implemented

!!! ERROR: sys-fs/udev-089 failed.
Call stack:
ebuild.sh, line 1526: Called dyn_unpack
ebuild.sh, line 698: Called die

!!! IO Failure -- Failed 'touch .unpacked' in /var/tmp/portage/udev-089
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.

wiig / #


Any idea as to the cause? Solution?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 2:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.

Given the following
Code:
atl64 atlantis # equery belongs touch
[ Searching for file(s) touch in *... ]
sys-apps/coreutils-5.94-r1 (/bin/touch)
sys-apps/coreutils-5.94-r1 (/usr/bin/touch -> /bin/touch)
atl64 atlantis #

might you have broken your coreutils? This is a frequent error, wihich might require you to get a binary package to rebuild your system.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nesl247
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 1614
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This error is not always caused by a corrupted coreutils in my experience, but sometimes by an improper mount of sequence for proc and dev. I wonder if your baselayout or udev is broken. (Dev needs to be mounted, then proc)

Boot to a livecd, mount all partitions except for proc and dev, then do:

Code:
# mount -o bind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
# mount -o bind /proc /mnt/gentoo/proc
# chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
# env-update; source /etc/profile
# emerge --sync
# emerge -auD world


This isn't always the answer, but it has been the cause for everytime I see that error message.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ravilj
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jul 2004
Posts: 164
Location: ziig / #

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks I will try that, I dont see how I could of broken my coreutils though. Perculiar...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rojanu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 361
Location: London

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2006 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks nesl247 that did worked for me
_________________
"Any fool can write code that a computer can understand. Good programmers write code that humans can understand." --- Martin Fowler,
Linux User: #416714
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tekknokrat
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Apr 2005
Posts: 278
Location: Magdeburg

PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2006 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd also got that error because I missed to mount the proc device to my chrooted environment.
After mount proc everything worked. 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oclock
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

At least once I must state it like many others: almost each time I run into a gentoo-specific problem, all I have to do is search the forums. And -surprise- ;) there is the answer.

Thanks to you all! (and in this case to nesl247)

Bye, Christoph

PS. I just upgraded to gcc-4.1.1 and thought it might be a good idea to do an emerge --depclean before rebuiling my system with --emptytree. And while doing the later my #'/(%$@ ISP stopped my dsl-connection as they do after 24h of running, and ppp got lost during depclean (yes, i know, i should have studied the output with more patience). After rebooting with my livecd the problem that lead me here occured.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TengriLethos
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Sep 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Sep 09, 2006 8:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same here. I started emerge -e system on a Stage 1 Install when I went to bet last night. This morning I had this ugly error message about touch. And indeed - I forgot to mount proc and dev. Gentoo can be difficult sometimes, but I has a great community.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
-Craig-
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jun 2004
Posts: 333

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 10:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Full ACK!
I also had the same error...thanks for the post guys! :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum