Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Macromedia Flash Player 6 on Linux PPC with Qemu
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
fb
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Dec 2003
Posts: 630
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi aronchi,,
Well I had a memory that softmmu wasn't working well on ppc but
I cannot find anything supporting this in the forum or the doc on the contrary.
People who run windows binaries all use it.
I don't use it, so you may give it a shot but that probably won't work.
You are on ~ppc so it is possible that your building chain doesn't like
qemu this is a risk of living on the edge.

I cannot really think of anything else, sorry.

fb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Duck11
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Aug 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

shr1nk wrote:
has anyone else tried this?

I didnt. But i know another program that allows you converts any Macromedia Flash (swf files) to video movie AVI or mp4 or ASF file. The converting process allowing human interaction on Flash content during conversion. Its easy to manage.You can get it from:
http://www.geovid.com/Flash_To_Video_Encoder/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
llywelyn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2004
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2005 1:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

linuxopjemac wrote:
What about emulating a complete browser and its plugins? Or is this masochism?


Good question. I gave it a good ol' college try, and was not able to do this.

Opera, Epiphany, Galeon, and Konqueror all failed because qemu-i386 is not well developed enough to run them -- they give errors about unsupported calls or whatever and then fail to run.

Firefox and Mozilla on the other hand, failed to run, but I'm not sure the problem was with qemu-i386.
Both use (ridiculusly complex) shell scripts to run (_FOUR_ scripts before you get to the binary), and because of this I was unable to troubleshoot.

Guess we'll have to give up on that idea until qemu-i386 becomes better, or unless someone can think of another browser that I missed ...
_________________
Estoy apesadumbrado para mi Español ... estoy practicando ...
iBook Dual-USB G3/800MHz 640 MB RAM
OS 10.4 / Gentoo 2005.0 / NetBSD 2.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fb
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Dec 2003
Posts: 630
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

llywelyn wrote:
linuxopjemac wrote:
What about emulating a complete browser and its plugins? Or is this masochism?


Good question. I gave it a good ol' college try, and was not able to do this.

Opera, Epiphany, Galeon, and Konqueror all failed because qemu-i386 is not well developed enough to run them -- they give errors about unsupported calls or whatever and then fail to run.

Firefox and Mozilla on the other hand, failed to run, but I'm not sure the problem was with qemu-i386.
Both use (ridiculusly complex) shell scripts to run (_FOUR_ scripts before you get to the binary), and because of this I was unable to troubleshoot.

Guess we'll have to give up on that idea until qemu-i386 becomes better, or unless someone can think of another browser that I missed ...


I remember answering it would be masochism.
I suspect it didn't work because you didn't provide everything the program
wanted. You not only have to supply the x86 binaries for your program but also
all the x86 libraries it dynamically depends on. Including glibc, I think, and definitely
libX.so.
If you want to use a x86 version of konqueror you will have also to provide
the underlying kde and Qt libraries and so on.
You have to remember qemu translate machine instructions so it needs all the instructions,
it won't make up functions calls beyond the kernel level I think.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
llywelyn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2004
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fb wrote:
I remember answering it would be masochism.
I suspect it didn't work because you didn't provide everything the program
wanted. You not only have to supply the x86 binaries for your program but also
all the x86 libraries it dynamically depends on. Including glibc, I think, and definitely
libX.so.
If you want to use a x86 version of konqueror you will have also to provide
the underlying kde and Qt libraries and so on.
You have to remember qemu translate machine instructions so it needs all the instructions,
it won't make up functions calls beyond the kernel level I think.


Um ... I'm pretty sure I got all those ... I did all my testing on an x86 box ... (makes life a lot easier during testing)
Code:
qemu-i386 -L / /usr/bin/binary


Probably should have mentioned that.

Konqueror actually gives me a window which immidiatly freezes, and opera gives me a fully functioning window which crashes whenever I try to do anything with it. (Both of which are very useful ... :-P)
_________________
Estoy apesadumbrado para mi Español ... estoy practicando ...
iBook Dual-USB G3/800MHz 640 MB RAM
OS 10.4 / Gentoo 2005.0 / NetBSD 2.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fb
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Dec 2003
Posts: 630
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

llywelyn wrote:

Um ... I'm pretty sure I got all those ... I did all my testing on an x86 box ... (makes life a lot easier during testing)
Code:
qemu-i386 -L / /usr/bin/binary


Probably should have mentioned that.

Konqueror actually gives me a window which immidiatly freezes, and opera gives me a fully functioning window which crashes whenever I try to do anything with it. (Both of which are very useful ... :-P)


Well I was assuming a bit too much there, I am sorry :oops: . I didn't try to do
it myself. Thinking about it last evening I thought I should try it with a x86 livecd
mounted to be sure I had everything needed. I didn't think on trying x86 on x86, I think
you did prove something about the state of qemu there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum