Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
What are your glxgear FPS?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
wudmx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 527

PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2002 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

duron 1ghz with a voodoo3 2000 agp
5187 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1037.400 FPS
5897 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1179.400 FPS
4586 frames in 5.0 seconds = 917.200 FPS
5434 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1086.800 FPS
6088 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1217.600 FPS


;-)
wudmx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TripKnot
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 May 2002
Posts: 213

PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2002 2:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Athlon 500 / Radeon8500LE w FireGL drivers

11938 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2387.600 FPS
12922 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2584.400 FPS
12923 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2584.600 FPS
12926 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2585.200 FPS
12887 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2577.400 FPS

I'm liking the new vid card. It has given new life to this old box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gear
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Aug 2002
Posts: 3
Location: Bookarrest, Romania

PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2002 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here are my results with Matrox G400 MAX, P4 1.5Ghz, i845, AGP 4x :

cat 16bpp_85hz_1152x864_Xterm_only.score
Code:
6141 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1228.200 FPS
6200 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1240.000 FPS
6200 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1240.000 FPS
6201 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1240.200 FPS
6200 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1240.000 FPS
6200 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1240.000 FPS


cat 24bpp_85hz_1152x864_Xterm_only.score
Code:
3067 frames in 5.0 seconds = 613.400 FPS
3313 frames in 5.0 seconds = 662.600 FPS
3313 frames in 5.0 seconds = 662.600 FPS
3312 frames in 5.0 seconds = 662.400 FPS
3313 frames in 5.0 seconds = 662.600 FPS
:cry: :!: Smth. is not working as it should...


display: :0 screen: 0
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.2
server glx extensions:
GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating, GLX_EXT_import_context
client glx vendor string: SGI
client glx version string: 1.2
client glx extensions:
GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating, GLX_EXT_import_context
GLX extensions:
GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating, GLX_EXT_import_context
OpenGL vendor string: VA Linux Systems Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI G400 20010622 AGP 4x x86/MMX/SSE
OpenGL version string: 1.2 Mesa 3.4.2
OpenGL extensions:
GL_ARB_multitexture, GL_ARB_transpose_matrix, GL_EXT_abgr,
GL_EXT_blend_func_separate, GL_EXT_clip_volume_hint, GL_EXT_histogram,
GL_EXT_packed_pixels, GL_EXT_polygon_offset, GL_EXT_rescale_normal,
GL_EXT_stencil_wrap, GL_EXT_texture3D, GL_EXT_texture_env_add,
GL_EXT_texture_object, GL_EXT_vertex_array, GL_MESA_window_pos,
GL_MESA_resize_buffers, GL_NV_texgen_reflection, GL_PGI_misc_hints,
GL_SGIS_pixel_texture, GL_SGIS_texture_edge_clamp
glu version: 1.3
glu extensions:
GLU_EXT_nurbs_tessellator, GLU_EXT_object_space_tess

visual x bf lv rg d st colorbuffer ax dp st accumbuffer ms cav
id dep cl sp sz l ci b ro r g b a bf th cl r g b a ns b eat
----------------------------------------------------------------------
0x23 16 tc 0 16 0 r y . 5 6 5 0 0 16 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 None
0x24 16 tc 0 16 0 r . . 5 6 5 0 0 16 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 None
0x25 16 tc 0 16 0 r y . 5 6 5 0 0 16 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 Slow
0x26 16 tc 0 16 0 r . . 5 6 5 0 0 16 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 Slow
0x27 16 tc 0 16 0 r y . 5 6 5 0 0 16 0 16 16 16 0 0 0 Slow
0x28 16 tc 0 16 0 r . . 5 6 5 0 0 16 0 16 16 16 0 0 0 Slow
0x29 16 tc 0 16 0 r y . 5 6 5 0 0 16 8 16 16 16 0 0 0 Slow
0x2a 16 tc 0 16 0 r . . 5 6 5 0 0 16 8 16 16 16 0 0 0 Slow
0x2b 16 dc 0 16 0 r y . 5 6 5 0 0 16 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 None
0x2c 16 dc 0 16 0 r . . 5 6 5 0 0 16 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 None
0x2d 16 dc 0 16 0 r y . 5 6 5 0 0 16 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 Slow
0x2e 16 dc 0 16 0 r . . 5 6 5 0 0 16 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 Slow
0x2f 16 dc 0 16 0 r y . 5 6 5 0 0 16 0 16 16 16 0 0 0 Slow
0x30 16 dc 0 16 0 r . . 5 6 5 0 0 16 0 16 16 16 0 0 0 Slow
0x31 16 dc 0 16 0 r y . 5 6 5 0 0 16 8 16 16 16 0 0 0 Slow
0x32 16 dc 0 16 0 r . . 5 6 5 0 0 16 8 16 16 16 0 0 0 Slow
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hypnos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 2869
Location: Omnipresent

PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2002 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ATI Radeon 7500 Mobile, P4 1.6GHz, 1400x1050@24bpp.

~1000fps

This seems rather disappointing ...

Of course, I just realized that the drivers from dri.sf.net default to AGP 1x mode! I'm going to try setting the AGP mode/speed with the "AGPMode" option in the "Device" section ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Malakin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Apr 2002
Posts: 1692
Location: Victoria BC Canada

PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2002 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
well its the window size that opens up default....doesnt it do the same for you?...and yeah its small...like a real player size
Maybe you had the window partially obscured?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rommel
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 1140
Location: Williamsburg Virginia

PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2002 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

partially obscured?...i dont follow...if you type glxgears in say konsole what happens?.....for me a little window running three gears opens up and then in the konsole window the frame rate count begins....isnt it the same for you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
masseya
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 17 Apr 2002
Posts: 2602
Location: Raleigh, NC

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 3:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hypnos wrote:
ATI Radeon 7500 Mobile, P4 1.6GHz, 1400x1050@24bpp.

~1000fps

This seems rather disappointing ...

Of course, I just realized that the drivers from dri.sf.net default to AGP 1x mode! I'm going to try setting the AGP mode/speed with the "AGPMode" option in the "Device" section ...

Can you explain the AGPMode settings to me or show me some snippits of your XF86Config? I'm a little confused as to how that works. TIA..
_________________
if i never try anything, i never learn anything..
if i never take a risk, i stay where i am..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Malakin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Apr 2002
Posts: 1692
Location: Victoria BC Canada

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
partially obscured?...i dont follow...if you type glxgears in say konsole what happens?.....for me a little window running three gears opens up and then in the konsole window the frame rate count begins....isnt it the same for you?

I'm just trying to guess why your scores are off. If you had your terminal window covering the glxgears window for example that might do it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dcstimm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jun 2002
Posts: 321

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 4:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

damn everyones scores are higher than mine...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hypnos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 2869
Location: Omnipresent

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 4:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tristam29 wrote:
Can you explain the AGPMode settings to me or show me some snippits of your XF86Config? I'm a little confused as to how that works. TIA..


Certainly:

Code:

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "ATI Radeon Mobility 7500"
    Driver      "radeon"
    Option "AGPMode" "4"
    #VideoRam    32768
    # Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
EndSection


Too bad it doesn't seem to do anything for me. :( glxgears, Q3A and RtCW framerates/performance are unchanged. glxinfo does reflect the change.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arkane
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 918
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 5:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good lord...

Everyone has a thousand and over FPS, and here I am with an NVidia Geforce 2MX400 with 64mb ram, and get:

2630 frames in 5.0 seconds = 526.000 FPS
3206 frames in 5.0 seconds = 641.200 FPS
3214 frames in 5.0 seconds = 642.800 FPS
3210 frames in 5.0 seconds = 642.000 FPS
3197 frames in 5.0 seconds = 639.400 FPS
q3273 frames in 5.0 seconds = 654.600 FPS

Of course I'm emerging right now... but that shouldn't do much.
This is on a Pentium 4 1.8Ghz and AGP is stated as being 4x in the XFree86.0.log (or whatever it's called).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arkane
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 918
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 5:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dcstimm wrote:
do this:

cat /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/status

it will tell you your agp settings, AMD systems have problems with agp4x (sometimes), try turning off agp or setting it to agp 1x or 2x.

Peace.


I checked mine, and it says
Code:

sh-2.05a$ cat /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/
card         host-bridge  status       
sh-2.05a$ cat /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/status
Status:          Enabled
Driver:          AGPGART
AGP Rate:        4x
Fast Writes:     Disabled
SBA:             Disabled


I guess I need to look further into the nvidia driver stuff to figure out how to turn on fast writes and SBA (whatever that is)

Anyone know anything about those things?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rommel
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 1140
Location: Williamsburg Virginia

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 6:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well if i run it at full screen....24" sony then the score is like arkanes.....but i dont know if any of it matters...running UT and Q3 would seem to be a better test of the graphics of the card and X
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arkane
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 918
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 6:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah.. my quake screen seems to be perfect, although I'm not sure how to get FPS on quake. (I play Q3A with mods and all, haven't done much else with it)

Though I will have to add I'm running 1440x1080 @ 16bpp.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dcstimm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jun 2002
Posts: 321

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 6:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

arkane

Do this, get the NVIDIA-kernel 2960 tar.gz from /usr/portage/distfiles

and edit the os-registry.c file

it will allow you to turn on Fast Writes (FW) and SideBanning (SBA)

also there is some other performance tweaks in there .

tar the file back up and put it back into portage/distfiles/

then do ebuild /path/to/NVIDIA-kernel-2960.ebuild digest

then re install the kernel driver

reboot your system and make sure Fast writes and Sidebanning is enabled in your bios.

that should do it!!

Also disable agpgart from your kernel and use Nvidia gart.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hypnos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 2869
Location: Omnipresent

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 6:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

arkane wrote:
Yeah.. my quake screen seems to be perfect, although I'm not sure how to get FPS on quake.


In the console,

Code:
\cg_drawfps 1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arkane
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 918
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 7:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hypnos wrote:
arkane wrote:
Yeah.. my quake screen seems to be perfect, although I'm not sure how to get FPS on quake.


In the console,

Code:
\cg_drawfps 1


In that case, I'm getting about 50-57 fps in quake 3 with an emerge going.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdpye
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 102
Location: Nottingham, England

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 10:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

arkane wrote:

3197 frames in 5.0 seconds = 639.400 FPS
q3273 frames in 5.0 seconds = 654.600 FPS

Of course I'm emerging right now... but that shouldn't do much.
This is on a Pentium 4 1.8Ghz and AGP is stated as being 4x in the XFree86.0.log (or whatever it's called).


Emergeing does matter. glxgears will soak up all your processor power as well as your gpu. I'm using an identical card and I get ~1100 FPS with my AthlonXP 2100+ and 512MB of RAM. Also, I am using 16bit colour which increases the performance...
_________________
Cheers, MP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arkane
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 918
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

Emergeing does matter. glxgears will soak up all your processor power as well as your gpu. I'm using an identical card and I get ~1100 FPS with my AthlonXP 2100+ and 512MB of RAM. Also, I am using 16bit colour which increases the performance...


Alright, I did my test this time without emerging and your right, I'm getting 1148 - 1149 FPS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Safrax
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 422

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On my desktop I get this:

18608 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3721.600 FPS
19565 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3913.000 FPS
19559 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3911.800 FPS
19524 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3904.800 FPS
19565 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3913.000 FPS
19566 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3913.200 FPS
19532 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3906.400 FPS
19563 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3912.600 FPS
19571 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3914.200 FPS
19521 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3904.200 FPS
19567 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3913.400 FPS
19544 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3908.800 FPS
19543 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3908.600 FPS

Thats with a ti4200 with 64mb of ram with the gpu and ram running at stock speeds with a resolution of 1280x1024, 24bit color, 32bit framebuffer. This is on a pentium4 1.7ghz w/256kb l2 cache and 400mhz fsb machine using 512mb of pc133 ram. Its a dell optiplex GX240. Rather nice gaming machine for my work computer...

My laptop is currently compiling the mozilla 1.1beta so its scores are totally useless. But from what I can remember it gets around 1500-2000fps. The video card is a gf4 o 440 with 32mb of ram. Its a dell inspirion 8200, with a 1.7ghz pentium4 mobile with 512kb of level 2 cache, 400mhz, fsb, 512mb of pc2100 crucial ddr. It uses the same configuration file as my desktop.

Laptop Figures:

6402 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1280.400 FPS
7057 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1411.400 FPS
7090 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1418.000 FPS
7095 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1419.000 FPS
7055 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1411.000 FPS
7095 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1419.000 FPS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aardvark
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Jun 2002
Posts: 576

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

arkane wrote:
Quote:

Emergeing does matter. glxgears will soak up all your processor power as well as your gpu. I'm using an identical card and I get ~1100 FPS with my AthlonXP 2100+ and 512MB of RAM. Also, I am using 16bit colour which increases the performance...


Alright, I did my test this time without emerging and your right, I'm getting 1148 - 1149 FPS.


You should have figured that one yourself mr. GURU :twisted:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arkane
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 918
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

You should have figured that one yourself mr. GURU :twisted:


Considering most of the work is GPU based, I didn't figure the processor usage being at 25-50 percent would do that much damage.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arkane
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 918
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interesting... I just did a q3a frame count without an emerge, and it was the same as with the emerge going lol

I guess writing to a full screen app versus a windowed app makes a difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
masseya
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 17 Apr 2002
Posts: 2602
Location: Raleigh, NC

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

arkane wrote:
Quote:

You should have figured that one yourself mr. GURU :twisted:


Considering most of the work is GPU based, I didn't figure the processor usage being at 25-50 percent would do that much damage.

Yeah, I was a little surprised at this as well... :roll:
_________________
if i never try anything, i never learn anything..
if i never take a risk, i stay where i am..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arkane
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 918
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 11:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did as you said, and checked the code after everything to make sure it stayed instead of being downloaded over top of quicker than I could see :)

Unfortunately, it looks like my system doesn't like Fast Writes or Side Band, because after altering the os-registry.c and retarring/gzipping it and putting it into the /usr/portage/distfiles directory, running the ebuild digest build and re-emerging nvidia-kernel, and taking out agpgart from the modules, and rebooting it stills ays disabled for fast writes and sba.
I couldn't find anything in the bios specific for fast writes or side band allocation. I have an Award bios, and it's a pretty straight forward menu layout, nothing obscure or confusing.

I'm at a loss.
I enabled the nvidia gart in the os-registry.c also.




dcstimm wrote:
arkane

Do this, get the NVIDIA-kernel 2960 tar.gz from /usr/portage/distfiles

and edit the os-registry.c file

it will allow you to turn on Fast Writes (FW) and SideBanning (SBA)

also there is some other performance tweaks in there .

tar the file back up and put it back into portage/distfiles/

then do ebuild /path/to/NVIDIA-kernel-2960.ebuild digest

then re install the kernel driver

reboot your system and make sure Fast writes and Sidebanning is enabled in your bios.

that should do it!!

Also disable agpgart from your kernel and use Nvidia gart.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum