Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
quake3 -> no sound
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
chr1z
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Jul 2002
Posts: 207

PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2002 5:04 pm    Post subject: quake3 -> no sound Reply with quote

ok i installed the linux version of q3 and it runs really fine with the nvidia driver. at first i had sound and no problems but with the next reboot the sound was gone :(
im using alsa and have my sound-module in /etc/modules.autoload

my config contains this lines for sound
Code:

//- Sound Settings -
seta snddevice       "/dev/dsp"
seta s_loadas8bit   "0"
seta s_volume      ".7"
seta s_musicvolume   "0"
seta s_separation   "0.5"
seta s_khz      "11"
seta s_compression   "1"
seta s_mixahead      "0.08"
seta s_mixPreStep   "0.05"
seta s_rolloff      "0"
seta s_doppler      "0"
seta s_distance      "100.0"
seta s_min_distance   "3.0"
seta s_max_distance   "1000.0"
seta s_leafnum      "0"
seta s_refgain      "0.45"
seta s_refdelay      "2.0"
seta s_polykeep      "1000000000"
seta s_polysize      "10000000"
seta s_polyreflectsize   "10000000"
seta s_numpolys      "400"
seta s_bloat      "2.0"
seta s_occfactor      "0.5"
seta s_occ_eq      "0.75"
seta s_ambient      "0"


i also tried to use /dev/dsp0 or /dev/dsp1 instead of /dev/dsp
nothing works!
i know that it works because i had sound![/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hypnos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 2859
Location: Omnipresent

PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2002 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some things to try:

* run "alsactl restore" (as root if necessary)

* delete the quake config file and start over -- worked for me. I messed it up when trying to solve a different problem also regarding ALSA.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chr1z
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Jul 2002
Posts: 207

PostPosted: Fri Aug 09, 2002 12:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

after some reboots it works again!
thx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hypnos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 2859
Location: Omnipresent

PostPosted: Fri Aug 09, 2002 3:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You shouldn't have to reboot .... try building the stock kernel drivers for your sound chip. Load the OSS modules, unload them, and then load the ALSA modules. This seems to appease Quake.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum