Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
gentoo rules, but...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
chevymoon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2002 1:43 am    Post subject: gentoo rules, but... Reply with quote

I gotta be able to get my games going. Gentoo is by far the best Linux experience I've had. I'm so impressed that the one thing that prevents me from dumping my Microshaft Windoze98 right now is my inability to get a few of my games to function. I can't get off the ground...

I can't emerge quake3, and yet two posts earlier someone mentioned how they emerged quake3 recently. What could cause that?

Thanks in advance for the help...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pigeon
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Jun 2002
Posts: 307

PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2002 2:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any error message would help. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chevymoon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2002 2:37 am    Post subject: error message Reply with quote

Calculating dependencies !!! Couldn't find match for quake3; aborting.

I think that about sums it up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pigeon
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Jun 2002
Posts: 307

PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2002 2:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
cd /usr/portage/app-games/
ls -d quake*


what does that output?

edit: do an 'emerge rsync' and see if that fixes it. Also, what does 'emerge search quake3' output.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chevymoon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2002 2:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

localhost root # cd /usr/portage/app-games
localhost app-games # ls -d quake*
ls: quake*: No such file or directory
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chevymoon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2002 2:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

localhost app-games # emerge search quake3
[ Results for search key : quake3 ]
[ Applications found : 0 ]


Thanks for the help, by the way....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chevymoon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2002 2:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge rsync seemed to work, but I don't understand why. I just installed Gentoo over the past 2 weeks. Has Q3 recently been added to the portage lists?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pigeon
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Jun 2002
Posts: 307

PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2002 2:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like your portage tree is screwed up. See if emerge rsync fixes it.

New version of portage came out a day or two ago- after you do emerge rsync do emerge -u portage. (or an emerge -u world, for that matter... do emerge -up world first though.. should list many of your outdated packages)

Edit: Haha, we're posting too fast ;p

Sometimes some of gentoo's rsync mirrors get screwed up and have you delete a lot of your portage tree. Your portage tree tells emerge what programs are available to be installed, where to get them/etc. When it's missing the entry for any given program, (in your case, q3) it can't install them. 'emerge rsync' tells emerge to update the portage tree, hopefully with a mirror that's working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chevymoon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2002 3:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks. I was able to "emerge quake3" at long last.

but now, while I have your ear, I would like to symlink to my windows partition, but I can't even see it. I previously had Mandrake 8.2 installed and I had no trouble seeing the Windows partition. Do you know how to make that happen?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pigeon
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Jun 2002
Posts: 307

PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2002 3:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You'll need to add an entry to your /etc/fstab file... Go here for more details. You'll need to make sure the /dev/hdxx matches up with your windows partition (do 'fdisk -l /dev/hda', 'fdisk -l /dev/hdb', 'fdisk -l /dev/hdc' etc until it tells you something about a windows partition) and the /mnt/whatever folder you want it mounted to exists.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chevymoon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2002 3:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pigeon, you da bird, fowl, man or whatever.

I greatly appreciate your time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum