look before you leap
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
SeJo
Retired Dev
Retired Dev

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2003 10:09 am    Post subject: look before you leap Reply with quote

Hi all,

My current laptop (p3 1300MHz) just isn't capable of running my application server anymore, and as a developer i need a stable laptop that has some power... (because i'm not always in the immediate enviroment where i can connect to my testservers).

So i was considering (more and more) to buy a apple G4 1000 Powerbook (15")...

My question is: Does this baby has some computing power? (is there a comparisation table?), how many bogomips etc...

Would i do a good or a bad buy? and should i even use OSX or just install gentoo (like i always do)?

I've been using gentoo on x86 and sparc... both servers and desktops/laptops.

And i really don't want to change :-]...

have any good advice?

SeJo

ps if this is the wrong forum to post please accept my apolygies...
stimuli
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2003 2:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think, for raw computing power, a mac laptop is what you need. (Ever thought of sshing into a desktop instead?) That said, either the 1.25Ghz or 1.33 ghz models should be faster than the PC laptop.

Get one with radeon graphics acceleration as Nvidia drivers suck on linux/PPC. Radeon drivers are quite decent.

BTW, bogomips tend not to flatter PPC, generally a 1:1 ratio with clockspeed. Keep in mind however that bogomips are bogus, and thus don't really mean a thing.
SeJo
Retired Dev
Retired Dev

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2003 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i can't ssh into a desktop because i'm always working from a remote place where i can't access my desktops, and where there are definitely no other linux pc's.... (old conservative company)...