Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
GCC 3.4
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 70, 71, 72, 73  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sindre
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Nov 2002
Posts: 315
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 5:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're all probably tired of CFLAGS questions by now, ignorantly I'll still ask you. Are these good Pentium 4 "Northwood" CFLAGS for gcc-3.4.1-r2?
Code:
CFLAGS="-march=pentium4 -mno-sse2 -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"

They're pretty basic, so I'm wondering if I'm missing something important. I'm worried that -mno-sse2 will be filtered in ebuilds containing "strip-flags". Would it be better to use "-march=pentium3 -mtune=pentium4"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teutzz
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Apr 2004
Posts: 333
Location: .ro

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 6:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

teutzz wrote:
using gcc-3.4.2 final (not the the prerelease) i'm getting this error (never happend when using gcc-3.4.1-r2/r1):
Code:
checking for c++... g++
checking whether the C++ compiler (g++ -O2 -march=athlon-tbird -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -ftracer -ffast-math -fforce-addr -fprefetch-loop-arrays -falign-functions=64 -fvisibility-inlines-hidden ) works... no
configure: error: installation or configuration problem: C++ compiler cannot create executables.
solved (resynced and re-emerged gcc glibc binutils)
_________________
Cand nu stii ce sa raspunzi sau ce sa spui un simplu BLA ajunge... lolz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gaelic
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Dec 2003
Posts: 119
Location: Vienna, Austria, Europe, World, Solar System, Milky Way, Universe

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ssl wrote:
Hi,

Clean install with gcc 3.4.1. Emerge system gives:

Code:
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/bash-3.0-r5/work/bash-3.0/lib/glob'
rm -f bash
gcc -L./builtins -L./lib/readline -L./lib/readline -L./lib/glob -L./lib/tilde  - L./lib/sh  -rdynamic  -march=pentium4 -O3 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -o bash she ll.o eval.o y.tab.o general.o make_cmd.o print_cmd.o  dispose_cmd.o execute_cmd. o variables.o copy_cmd.o error.o expr.o flags.o jobs.o subst.o hashcmd.o hashlib .o mailcheck.o trap.o input.o unwind_prot.o pathexp.o sig.o test.o version.o ali as.o array.o arrayfunc.o braces.o bracecomp.o bashhist.o bashline.o  list.o stri nglib.o locale.o findcmd.o redir.o pcomplete.o pcomplib.o syntax.o xmalloc.o -lb uiltins -lsh -lreadline -lhistory //usr/lib/libcurses.a -lglob -ltilde    -ldl
gcc: //usr/lib/libcurses.a: No such file or directory
make: *** [bash] Error 1

!!! ERROR: app-shells/bash-3.0-r5 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 122, Exitcode 2
!!! make failed


When switch to gcc 3.3.3 I get same error. Someone had this one?

Cheers,Ssl


go to /usr/lib
and do
Code:

ln -s libncurses.a libcurses.a
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ssl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 178
Location: Serbia

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gaelic_cargal wrote:


go to /usr/lib
and do
Code:

ln -s libncurses.a libcurses.a


Yes, it helped! Thank you. In meantime I also reported this as bug:
http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=63594
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bulletman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Jul 2002
Posts: 126

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for not doing enough digging, but this thread is getting a bit long.

I just emerged sys-devel/gcc-3.4.1-r2 after it was unmasked. Other than sys-libs/libstdc++-v3-3.3.4, which was built along with this version of gcc, is it important that I do anything else, like emerge -e system? Is there any reason to keep sys-devel/gcc-3.3.4-r1? Thanks.
_________________
Stephen

If your desktop gets out of control easily,
you probably have too much stuff on it that
doesn't need to be there.
Donna Smallin, "Unclutter Your Home"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darkphader
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 May 2002
Posts: 1113
Location: Motown

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bulletman wrote:
Is there any reason to keep sys-devel/gcc-3.3.4-r1? Thanks.

You might want to compile OOo sometime. There may be others as well that wont compile with 3.4.x.
_________________
What I need is an exact list of specific unknown problems we might encounter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
djm
Arch/Herd Tester
Arch/Herd Tester


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 690
Location: Wadham College, Oxford

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OOo 1.1.2 might not compile with 3.4.x, but 1.9.something-or-other does robmoss will hopefully have an ebuild for us soon :)

According to the gentoo-dev mailing list, 3.4.1 will be going into ~x86 proper (i.e. without the need for a special profile) soon
_________________
the forums.gentoo.org poster formally known as metal leper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spb
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 2135
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 10:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

metal leper wrote:
According to the gentoo-dev mailing list, 3.4.1 will be going into ~x86 proper (i.e. without the need for a special profile) soon

You mean like this...?
morfic wrote:
gcc 3.4 is no longer profile masked in 2004.2 default profiles
it is now ~x86 in 2004.2 profiles w/o a need for a special profile

hope anyone waiting for this will be glad, not this wont get you 3.4.2
but 3.4.2-r1 is good till 3.4.2 is all finished up

the great lv will bring this to you shortly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
djm
Arch/Herd Tester
Arch/Herd Tester


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 690
Location: Wadham College, Oxford

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 10:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

s/will be going into/is in

s/soon/now

Oops 8)
_________________
the forums.gentoo.org poster formally known as metal leper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
longshot
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Sep 2003
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've emerged gcc-3.4.1-r2 now that it is unmasked.

I've emerged -e system twice (well, second one underway).

Now I have a question about emerge -e world. I have openoffice-ximian installed, which I gather will cause emerge -e world to fall over. I dont think portage has a skip over error and continue capability (and a little forum searching just confirmed), so the whole emerge will fail with no restart possible.

So to rebuild my world am I better off temporarily removing openoffice (perhaps building a package for reinstallation) to rebuild world? Or to edit the list of packages emerge -e world throws out and then use that as the list of packages? Other approaches?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
4nykey
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Feb 2004
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Removing or commenting out 'app-office/openoffice-ximian' line from /var/cache/edb/world should do as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xake
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2004
Posts: 588
Location: Göteborg, the rainy part of scandinavia

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there anyway to set some cflags for some specific packages in a file (like the packages.x - files)? That would be nice for instans if I want to "emerge -e world" i have to reemerge xorg afterwards with working cflags (no, commenting out it in world does not work since it is a dep for many things).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ck42
l33t
l33t


Joined: 31 Jul 2003
Posts: 789

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 2:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry if this question has been covered in this thread already...but I'll admit that I don't have the patience to search thru 71 pages to find the answer 8O

Anyway, just noticed during my latest sync that gcc3.4 is available now. It appears that it's possible to run both 3.3 and 3.4 on the same system....so my question is, how does one specify during an emerge to use either 3.3 or 3.4?
If 3.4 is installed, does the system default to using 3.4 even if 3.3 is also installed?
Is there a list of ebuilds that are known to fail with 3.4?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hitman_bond007
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 May 2004
Posts: 15
Location: NC

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 5:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Is there anyway to set some cflags for some specific packages in a file (like the packages.x - files)? That would be nice for instans if I want to "emerge -e world" i have to reemerge xorg afterwards with working cflags (no, commenting out it in world does not work since it is a dep for many things).


You could try editing the ebuild to filter or replace cflags. I don't know if there is a better way to do it though. It would be nice if there was a package.cflags .


Now for my question: Is it necessary to do an emerge -e world after upgrading from gcc-3.4.2 to gcc-3.4.2-r1?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genstef
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 668
Location: M/Bay/Germany

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 7:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xview fails with gcc-3.4 and does not abort. So you get a broken install ..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xake
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2004
Posts: 588
Location: Göteborg, the rainy part of scandinavia

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 7:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ch42:
When you emerge 3.4 it will be set to your default. If you then want to compile something using 3.3 then you could switch using:
Code:
gcc-config i686-pc-linux-gnu-3.3.4
source /etc/profile


After that the system uses 3.3 as default until you switch back using the same command but change the "3.3.4" part.
If you wan to know what is currently the one in use:
Code:
gcc-config -c


And the ebuild I know will fail is all somehow connected to OOo.
xorg will compile but not work if you compile it using -march=penium4 qithout specify -mno-sse2.

hitman_bond007:
Maybe file a bug? packages.cflag I think would be nice.
I dont know, but is there a meaning at all right now to do a emerge -e world every 3.4.x bump if you don't find any troubles mixing? And since an -r1 not change TAHT much...... Or am I wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xake
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2004
Posts: 588
Location: Göteborg, the rainy part of scandinavia

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 7:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=63861
About the thought /etc/portage/package.cflag.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hitman_bond007
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 May 2004
Posts: 15
Location: NC

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 7:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

"Necessary" was probably the wrong word to use. Mostly what I want to know is if the changes made in -r1, -r2, etc. are normally going to be significant enough to cause problems.

I would assume that 3.4.x bumps generally won't cause problems, I just like to have as much as possible compiled with the same gcc release.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teutzz
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Apr 2004
Posts: 333
Location: .ro

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

longshot wrote:
I've emerged gcc-3.4.1-r2 now that it is unmasked.

I've emerged -e system twice (well, second one underway).

Now I have a question about emerge -e world. I have openoffice-ximian installed, which I gather will cause emerge -e world to fall over. I dont think portage has a skip over error and continue capability (and a little forum searching just confirmed), so the whole emerge will fail with no restart possible.

So to rebuild my world am I better off temporarily removing openoffice (perhaps building a package for reinstallation) to rebuild world? Or to edit the list of packages emerge -e world throws out and then use that as the list of packages? Other approaches?
Code:
emerge -e world --resume --skipfirst

_________________
Cand nu stii ce sa raspunzi sau ce sa spui un simplu BLA ajunge... lolz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
djm
Arch/Herd Tester
Arch/Herd Tester


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 690
Location: Wadham College, Oxford

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 9:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

teutzz wrote:
So to rebuild my world am I better off temporarily removing openoffice (perhaps building a package for reinstallation) to rebuild world? Or to edit the list of packages emerge -e world throws out and then use that as the list of packages? Other approaches?
Code:
emerge -e world --resume --skipfirst
[/quote]

Does that work?

Isn't it:

emerge -e world, and then when it fails
emerge --resume --skipfirst ?
_________________
the forums.gentoo.org poster formally known as metal leper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teutzz
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Apr 2004
Posts: 333
Location: .ro

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nope, because when it fails and you do
Code:
emerge --resume --skipfirst
emerge will not know what to emerge, where to emerge from etc.
so the correct sequence would be
Code:
emerge -e world

and when it fails if it fails etc
Code:
emerge -e world --resume --skipfirst

_________________
Cand nu stii ce sa raspunzi sau ce sa spui un simplu BLA ajunge... lolz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
djm
Arch/Herd Tester
Arch/Herd Tester


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 690
Location: Wadham College, Oxford

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 9:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well emerge --resume --skipfirst works here

If your way works too (haven't checked yet) then that's some nice extra functionality, but it's not necessary unless another emerge finishes/fails in between the emerge -e world failing and you typing the command
_________________
the forums.gentoo.org poster formally known as metal leper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
c0balt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Jul 2004
Posts: 441
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 10:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xake wrote:
http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=63861
About the thought /etc/portage/package.cflag.


hehe, I remember my first post in this forum being about exactly such a feature.
I was told I shouldnt use crazy CFLAGS and that such a feature would not exist in the near future^^
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hitman_bond007
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 May 2004
Posts: 15
Location: NC

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wouldn't exactly call -march=pentium4 a crazy CFLAG :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spb
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 2135
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

teutzz wrote:
nope, because when it fails and you do
Code:
emerge --resume --skipfirst
emerge will not know what to emerge, where to emerge from etc.
so the correct sequence would be
Code:
emerge -e world

and when it fails if it fails etc
Code:
emerge -e world --resume --skipfirst
No. emerge --resume always resumes the last merge, whatever it was. Metal leper was right.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 70, 71, 72, 73  Next
Page 71 of 73

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum