Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How to use your hardware sensors with Kernel 2.6
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 9, 10, 11  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rXi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2003 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i figured it out.. i needed the latest version of lm-sensors(2.8.2) which doesnt require i2c if your running >=2.6.0

rxi
_________________
hell hath but one fury greater than a woman scorned: a woman rooted, then scorned.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NatuNobilis
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 88
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2003 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just checked it: I have my sensors running perfectly even though lm_sensors is not running.

Friends, I guess you don't need lm-sensors AT ALL to have sensors working with kernel 2.6.

Mine is a KT333 mobo from MSI.

We wish you a merry monitoring.

NatuNobilis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
capran
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2003
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2003 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NatuNobilis wrote:
I just checked it: I have my sensors running perfectly even though lm_sensors is not running.

Friends, I guess you don't need lm-sensors AT ALL to have sensors working with kernel 2.6.

Mine is a KT333 mobo from MSI.

We wish you a merry monitoring.

NatuNobilis


Same brand and chipset for me. But I still can't get gkrellm-sensors to work, but the command line sensors does work.
* x11-plugins/gkrellm-sensors
Latest version available: 0.1
Latest version installed: 0.1
* sys-apps/lm-sensors
Latest version available: 2.7.0-r1
Latest version installed: 2.8.2


* app-admin/gkrellm
Latest version available: 2.1.24
Latest version installed: 2.1.24
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
viperlin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Apr 2003
Posts: 1317
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2003 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok this has never worked for my board but here is the results in 2.6 from gkrellm:

Code:

CPU: -750 C


output of "sensors"

Code:

[root@Raiden john]$ sensors
it87-isa-0290
Adapter: ISA adapter
Algorithm: ISA algorithm
VCore 1:   +1.69 V  (min =  +1.42 V, max =  +1.56 V)   ALARM
VCore 2:   +1.31 V  (min =  +2.40 V, max =  +2.60 V)   ALARM
+3.3V:     +6.58 V  (min =  +3.12 V, max =  +3.44 V)   ALARM
+5V:       +4.80 V  (min =  +4.72 V, max =  +5.24 V)   
+12V:     +12.40 V  (min = +11.36 V, max = +12.60 V)   
-12V:     -10.79 V  (min = -12.63 V, max = -11.41 V)   ALARM
-5V:       -3.55 V  (min =  -5.28 V, max =  -4.81 V)   ALARM
Stdby:     +5.04 V  (min =  +4.72 V, max =  +5.24 V)   
VBat:      +0.00 V
fan1:     3229 RPM  (min =    0 RPM, div = 2)         
fan2:     2678 RPM  (min = 3000 RPM, div = 2)          ALARM
fan3:        0 RPM  (min = 3000 RPM, div = 2)          ALARM
M/B Temp:    +30°C  (low  =   +20°C, high =   +40°C)   sensor = thermistor   
CPU Temp:    -75°C  (low  =   +25°C, high =   +45°C)   sensor = invalid   
Temp3:       +75°C  (low  =   +25°C, high =   +45°C)   sensor = thermistor   



VIA KT600 chipset, Gigabyte GA-7VT600 motherboard :-(
good board but seems like it87 can't read them

everythings compiled into the kernel
any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zoid
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2003 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rxi, I only have 0-0048 and 0-0049 in my devices directory and have tried with exactly the same modules as you. What is the contents of your 1-002d directory?

Did you have to do anything else other than the steps mentioned in the original post?

Does anyone know if the directory names are important or will different installations give different names?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrNugget
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Nov 2003
Posts: 144
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2003 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mhh,
if i do sensors-detect and press Return it works until that:

Code:
This program will help you to determine which I2C/SMBus modules you need to
 load to use lm_sensors most effectively.
 You need to have done a `make install', issued a `depmod -a' and made sure
 `/etc/conf.modules' (or `/etc/modules.conf') contains the appropriate
 module path before you can use some functions of this utility. Read
 doc/modules for more information.
 Also, you need to be `root', or at least have access to the /dev/i2c[-/]* files
 for some things. You can use prog/mkdev/mkdev.sh to create these /dev files
 if you do not have them already.
 If you have patched your kernel and have some drivers built-in you can
 safely answer NO if asked to load some modules. In this case, things may
 seem a bit confusing, but they will still work.
 
 BIOS vendor (ACPI): Nvidia
 We can start with probing for (PCI) I2C or SMBus adapters.
 You do not need any special privileges for this.
 Do you want to probe now? (YES/no):
Probing for PCI bus adapters...
Sorry, no PCI bus adapters found.
 
 We will now try to load each adapter module in turn.
 Do you now want to be prompted for non-detectable adapters? (yes/NO):
 To continue, we need module `i2c-dev' to be loaded.
 If it is built-in into your kernel, you can safely skip this.
 i2c-dev is not loaded. Do you want to load it now? (YES/no):
FATAL: Module i2c_dev not found.
 Loading failed, expect problems later on.
 
 We are now going to do the adapter probings. Some adapters may hang halfway
 through; we can't really help that. Also, some chips will be double detected;
 we choose the one with the highest confidence value in that case.
 If you found that the adapter hung after probing a certain address, you can
 specify that address to remain unprobed. That often
 includes address 0x69 (clock chip).
Couldn't open /proc/bus/i2c?!? at /usr/sbin/sensors-detect line 3192, <STDIN> li ne 3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rXi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2003 10:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Viperlin:

try changing your /etc/sensors.conf to reflect your current chip setup.

zoid:
sorry, i cant remember what i did. but afair it was pretty close to the original doc ( the short one)

im guessing that dir names are important, being chipset id's or something.

contents of my 1-002d dir:
-r--r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 alarms
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 beep_enable
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 beep_mask
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 detach_state
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 fan_div1
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 fan_div2
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 fan_div3
-r--r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 fan_input1
-r--r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 fan_input2
-r--r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 fan_input3
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 fan_min1
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 fan_min2
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 fan_min3
-r--r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 in_input0
-r--r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 in_input1
-r--r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 in_input2
-r--r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 in_input3
-r--r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 in_input4
-r--r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 in_input5
-r--r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 in_input6
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 0 Dec 31 19:51 in_max0
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 0 Dec 31 19:51 in_max1
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 0 Dec 31 19:51 in_max2
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 0 Dec 31 19:51 in_max3
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 0 Dec 31 19:51 in_max4
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 0 Dec 31 19:51 in_max5
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 0 Dec 31 19:51 in_max6
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 0 Dec 31 19:51 in_min0
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 0 Dec 31 19:51 in_min1
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 0 Dec 31 19:51 in_min2
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 0 Dec 31 19:51 in_min3
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 0 Dec 31 19:51 in_min4
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 0 Dec 31 19:51 in_min5
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 0 Dec 31 19:51 in_min6
-r--r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 name
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 0 Dec 31 19:51 power
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 pwm1
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 pwm2
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 pwm_enable2
-r--r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 temp_input1
-r--r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 temp_input2
-r--r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 temp_input3
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 temp_max1
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 temp_max2
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 temp_max3
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 temp_min1
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 temp_min2
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 temp_min3
-r--r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 vid
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 4096 Dec 31 19:51 vrm


rxi
_________________
hell hath but one fury greater than a woman scorned: a woman rooted, then scorned.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
viperlin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Apr 2003
Posts: 1317
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2003 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rXi wrote:
Viperlin:

try changing your /etc/sensors.conf to reflect your current chip setup.


i looked in there, i have no clue how you do it, lust looks like label names to me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rXi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2004 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

viperlin:
do a search for for your mobo model or a very similar one. and you might have to uncomment the section which has the correct calculations.

rxi
_________________
hell hath but one fury greater than a woman scorned: a woman rooted, then scorned.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
viperlin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Apr 2003
Posts: 1317
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2004 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rXi wrote:
viperlin:
do a search for for your mobo model or a very similar one. and you might have to uncomment the section which has the correct calculations.

rxi


nope, nothing found :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
webhawg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Oct 2002
Posts: 293

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2004 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"sensors-detect" says that I need to load module lm80. But where is that module? I can't load it. BTW, I'm using gentoo dev kernel 2.6.0-r1.
Code:

If you want to load the modules at startup, generate a config filebelow and make sure lm_sensors get started (eg. rc-update add lm_sensors default).
To make the sensor modules behave correctly, add these lines to/etc/modules.conf:
#--cut here--# I2C module options
alias char-major-89 i2c-dev
#--end cut here--
WARNING! If you have some things built into your kernel, the list abovewill contain too many modules. Skip the appropriate ones! You really should try these commands right now to make sure everything is working properly.Monitoring programs won't work until it's done.To load everything that is needed, execute the commands above...
#--cut here--# I2C adapter drivers
# modprobe unknown adapter bt878
#0 [sw] using Algorithm unavailable
modprobe i2c-viapro
# modprobe unknown adapter bt878
#0 [sw] using Algorithm unavailable
modprobe i2c-isa
# I2C chip drivers
modprobe lm80
modprobe eeprom
modprobe via686a
# sleep 2
# optional/usr/local/bin/sensors -s # recommended#
--end cut here--
Do you want to overwrite /etc/conf.d/lm_sensors? Enter s to specify other file name?  (yes/NO/s):

Code:

root # modprobe lm80
FATAL: Module lm80 not found.

Code:

root # /etc/init.d/lm_sensors start
* Loading lm_sensors modules...*   
        Loading i2c-core...*     
             Could not load i2c-core!                                                  [ !! ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rollinncoaster
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2004 7:31 pm    Post subject: lm_sensors in a dell latitude cpx Reply with quote

Anyone knows what kind of hardware sensors does a dell Latitude cpxj have? I tried to compile all support for all the chips inside the kernel and as modules, but none of them seem to work. I still end up with an empy /sys/bus/12c/devices directory.

Hopefully somebody has tried already.

RC
_________________
Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the Universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the Universe is winning." Rich Cook
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rXi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2004 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

webhawg:

dont worry too much about lm80, just try without it. if it doesnt work without it, try using lm78 or lm78 or lm85. these are in the chips section.

root # /etc/init.d/lm_sensors start
* Loading lm_sensors modules...*
Loading i2c-core...*
Could not load i2c-core! [ !! ]

i get that error too and everything seems fine :?:

rxi
_________________
hell hath but one fury greater than a woman scorned: a woman rooted, then scorned.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CybeRDukE
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jul 2002
Posts: 92

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2004 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thx for the tutorial. works great!

but is there a windowmaker-applet or sth similar (also similar in size, thus not gkrellm) that can be used with the sensor-interface of kernel 2.6?

thx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mb
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Apr 2002
Posts: 355
Location: Hessen | .de

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2004 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi..

Biker wrote:
I have the modules loaded, but...

My PC is a Shuttle SB61G2. It has the ITE87xx chip.

The AWARD BIOS implements something they call "Smart Fan", which controls the speed of one (selectable) fan according to the CPU temperature.


modprobing the it87 module resets all register and settings.. you can open the it87.c file in your kernel sources and comment out all lines in the function it87_init_client() (or, at least comment out all write_value calls)

btw: not testet by myself :wink:

update: you need to append the parameter temp_type=0x38
and take a look here http://archives.andrew.net.au/lm-sensors/msg04548.html
#mb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SaFrOuT
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 256
Location: Egypt

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 12:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i only get those after modprobe the neede modules

root@SaFrOuT safrout # ls /sys/bus/i2c/devices/1-0050/
detach_state eeprom name power
root@SaFrOuT safrout #

why is that

and how can i know the chips that i am using and the needed module for it

by the way :
root@SaFrOuT safrout # lsmod
Module Size Used by
adm1021 12032 0
lm85 22016 0
lm78 18048 0
lm75 7680 0
w83781d 33536 0
it87 21888 0
eeprom 7040 0
i2c_i810 5124 0
i2c_algo_bit 10376 1 i2c_i810
i2c_sensor 3456 7 adm1021,lm85,lm78,lm75,w83781d,it87,eeprom
i2c_isa 2816 0
i2c_core 22276 10 adm1021,lm85,lm78,lm75,w83781d,it87,eeprom,i2c_algo_bit,i2c_sensor,i2c_isa
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
webhawg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Oct 2002
Posts: 293

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 2:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rXi wrote:

webhawg:

dont worry too much about lm80, just try without it. if it doesnt work without it, try using lm78 or lm78 or lm85. these are in the chips section.

I can't get any of these to load. I see them in /usr/share/doc/lm-sensors-2.8.2/chips. But why can't I load them.

rXi wrote:

root # /etc/init.d/lm_sensors start
* Loading lm_sensors modules...*
Loading i2c-core...*
Could not load i2c-core! [ !! ]

i get that error too and everything seems fine

Well..if you can't start lm_sensors, then how do you detect temperatures, fan speeds, etc?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BodOrange
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have an Abit KT7R mobo, so need i2c-isa. I have enabled ISA bus support but the 12c-isa doesn't get built.


[EDIT] - sorry, please ignore this post! I need glasses, my eyes aren't good enough to be using 1600x1200 :oops:


Last edited by BodOrange on Mon Jan 05, 2004 6:11 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheCoop
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2002
Posts: 1814
Location: Where you least expect it

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

have you got isa bus support (in 'Bus options')
_________________
95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)

"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler

Change the world - move a rock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BodOrange
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TheCoop wrote:
have you got isa bus support (in 'Bus options')


yes that was the problem. I just spotted it after posting.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BodOrange
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 6:40 pm    Post subject: tools to read sensors Reply with quote

I have gkrellm displaying my sensor data thanks to this thread. For the time being I have just applied the 0.1 scale factor to the temps as I can't be bothered doing the calibration thing just yet. Anyone have a scale factor and zero correction for the KT7 mobos ;-)

Also is there a cmd line tool to read from the sensor output similar to sensors? I'd rather not install the lm-sensors package ATM.

thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Seph64
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 191

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there an I2C module that I would not want to modprobe on a nForce2 motherboard? Because sometimes when I try to modprobe a module in the /i2c/chips module folders, it'll turn off my moniter, and I have to turn off my computer then unplug it for a few minutes, then turn it back on because I'd get a repeditive beep if I just try to reboot.

I will post what modules I have compiled when I get back into my system. Right now I am posting on my iBook.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
orko22
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 1
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2004 3:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i been using gentoo-dev-sources, i have, i2c, lm-sensors, gkrellm, working great, but when I load the modules of I2C my cpu, start working really slow.

Code:

bash-2.05b# hdparm -t /dev/hda2

/dev/hda2:
Timing buffered disk reads: 58 MB in 3.18 seconds = 18.25 MB/sec
bash-2.05b# hdparm -T /dev/hda2

/dev/hda2:
Timing buffer-cache reads: 648 MB in 2.01 seconds = 322.12 MB/sec
bash-2.05b# modprobe w83781d
bash-2.05b# modprobe i2c-viapro
bash-2.05b# lsmod
Module Size Used by
i2c_viapro 4908 0
w83781d 33920 0
i2c_sensor 2272 1 w83781d
i2c_core 20836 3 i2c_viapro,w83781d,i2c_sensor
nvidia 1701356 10
bash-2.05b# hdparm -t /dev/hda2

/dev/hda2:
Timing buffered disk reads: 48 MB in 3.03 seconds = 15.86 MB/sec
bash-2.05b# hdparm -T /dev/hda2

/dev/hda2:
Timing buffer-cache reads: 104 MB in 2.66 seconds = 39.16 MB/sec



I'm using a Motherboard, Asus CUV4X-E, intel PIII 800 MHz 256 ram, chipset VIA, but i use, de winbound modules (with via doesn't work

this is mikernel .config I2C part
Code:

# I2C support
CONFIG_I2C=m
# CONFIG_I2C_CHARDEV is not set
# I2C Algorithms
# CONFIG_I2C_ALGOBIT is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_ALGOPCF is not set
# I2C Hardware Bus support
# CONFIG_I2C_ALI1535 is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_ALI15X3 is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_AMD756 is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_AMD8111 is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_I801 is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_NFORCE2 is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_PIIX4 is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_SIS5595 is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_SIS630 is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_SIS96X is not set
CONFIG_I2C_VIAPRO=m
# I2C Hardware Sensors Chip support
CONFIG_I2C_SENSOR=m

i got mi dmesg in
http://schoolgirl.homeunix.net/dmesg-2.6.0-1.16

i illreally apreciate if someone could help me.
Thanks

Nicolas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rXi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2004 12:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

webhawg:
ahh.. sorry. i didnt want to play with it too much in case something broke, but i looked around and realised that i just load the modules on boot (/etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6) and everything seems to work. btw i dont actually start lm_sensors rc, it does nothing for me.

the module w83781d is the important one for me. its the chip module afaik, so i get nothing til i load that module.

as for the modules not loading, id guess they dont work on the hardware you have, unless there is some specific error msg your getting?

rxi
_________________
hell hath but one fury greater than a woman scorned: a woman rooted, then scorned.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
webhawg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Oct 2002
Posts: 293

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2004 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rXi wrote:

webhawg:
ahh.. sorry. i didnt want to play with it too much in case something broke, but i looked around and realised that i just load the modules on boot (/etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6) and everything seems to work. btw i dont actually start lm_sensors rc, it does nothing for me.

the module w83781d is the important one for me. its the chip module afaik, so i get nothing til i load that module.

as for the modules not loading, id guess they dont work on the hardware you have, unless there is some specific error msg your getting?

I had everything working great with gentoo sources 2.4.20-r9. I used this guide and got the sensors to work perfectly. I then upgraded to gentoo-dev-sources 2.6.0-r1 and nothing works now.

Does anyone else know why I can't load the "lm" modules? lm80, lm75, etc...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 9, 10, 11  Next
Page 3 of 11

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum