Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
fullscreen dvd
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gsfgf
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 1266

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2002 2:57 am    Post subject: fullscreen dvd Reply with quote

what do i need to do to make dvds play fullscreen (or as close as possible if letterbox)? I have 720x405 as a mode in XF86Config.

I can't switch resolutions manually, but that may just be from the laptop keyboard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fghellar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 856
Location: Porto Alegre, BR

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2002 3:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which program are you using to play dvds?
_________________
| www.gentoo.org | www.tldp.org | www.google.com |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nitro322
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jul 2002
Posts: 553
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2002 8:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
emerge xine-ui xine-lib xine-d5d libdvdcss libdvdread'


After everything's finished compiling, start xine, set whatever options you need to get started (it'll open the Configuration utility your first time starting it), click d5d, then click play. Press f to switch to full screen. Xine does the best job of playing DVDs that I've yet to come across in Linux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gsfgf
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 1266

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2002 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i was using ogle b/c i cant get dvdnav to appear as an option for xine. I'll try d5d and see if that works.

Is ther a way to do fullscreen w/ ogle?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nitro322
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jul 2002
Posts: 553
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2002 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

from http://www.dtek.chalmers.se/groups/dvd/manual.shtml
Quote:
'f' 'F', toggle between fullscreen and window mode
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gsfgf
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 1266

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2002 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

that keeps the image the same size and leaves a black border around the image. Not what i want.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nitro322
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jul 2002
Posts: 553
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2002 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm... I've actually seen MPlayer do the same thing, and in order to get it to blow the picture up to full screen I had to pass some special parameter from the command line (--zoom, or something like that). Try reading the man page and see if it mentions anything similar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hopesfall
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jul 2002
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2002 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A computer monitor has the same width to height ratio on the display as a television, so the only way to get rid of the black letterbox bars is to cut the sides off of the image and zoom in on what is left until it fills up the screen. I assume this is what you are trying to do.

I'm not sure if such a feature exists because it would completely destroy the movie. Movies are filmed widescreen and they can be 'formatted to fit your television screen' - the image is clipped professionally so that the focus of the image as well as the director's style is maintained as best as possible.

I hope I didn't miss interpret what you were trying to do, or just tell you something you already know, but there's the reason why directors always push for widescreen - it's the way they filmed it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gsfgf
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 1266

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2002 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well i installed d5d and all of a suddon, both it and dvdnav appear in xine. Fullscreen works all is good.

And hopesfall, i was just trying to get it to streatch as lorge as it can.

from
Code:

___________
|     _____     |
|    |          |    |
|    |_____|    |
|__________|


to

Code:

___________
|__________|
|                    |
|__________|
|__________|


xine works now so all is well in the world
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum