Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOVLED] Restore GCC
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vanger
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2014
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 8:53 am    Post subject: [SOVLED] Restore GCC Reply with quote

Hello!

I was accidentally deleted my gcc while messing with crossdev. Namely, I executed
Code:
crossdev --clean x86_64-pc-linux-gnu

How can I restore the system?


Last edited by vanger on Sat Feb 07, 2015 6:36 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 9678
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

We need a 101 ways to kill your Gentoo box/Portage page :D

If you have a second machine you can binpkg gcc and transfer it over, or if you can grab a binpkg of gcc from http://tinderbox.dev.gentoo.org/

http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Binary_package_guide
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K/Radeon R7 250/24GB DDR3/256GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vanger
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2014
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 9:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

:)
My corrupted system is still working. So is seems, I should
1. get a binary of gcc,
2. set it a default system compiler with gcc-config
3. to install gcc with emerge, using that binary of gcc,
right?
Should I do something with the remains of gcc in the system? I didn't delete it in a proper way using emerge. So gcc-config, for example, still remembers it:
Code:
vanger@localhost /home/vanger % gcc-config -l     
 * gcc-config: No gcc profile is active!

/usr/bin/gcc-config: line 72: /etc/env.d/gcc/config-x86_64-pc-linux-gnu: No such file or directory
 [1] x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-4.8.3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 9678
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 9:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The tinderbox files (and binpkg) are pretty much tar files. You are in sort of an 'emergency' so just untar them if emerge --usepkgonly (with the binpkg in /usr/portage/packages/(category)/tarfile) doesn't work.

If you have to go the route of manually untarring it (that is, if emerge --usepkgonly fails), then it's recommended to build gcc again just to make sure the package metadata on your system is correct.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K/Radeon R7 250/24GB DDR3/256GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vanger
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2014
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 10:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I downloaded tinderbox.dev.gentoo.org/default-linux/amd64/sys-devel/gcc-4.8.3.tbz2 and executed
Code:
tar -xjpf gcc-4.8.3.tbz2 -C /

Now there's some issues with gcc-config. It says that it could not get CHOST:
Code:

root@localhost /home/vanger/downloads % gcc-config -l
 * gcc-config: Could not get portage CHOST!
 * gcc-config: You should verify that CHOST is set in one of these places:
 * gcc-config:  - //etc/portage/make.conf
 * gcc-config:  - active environment

despite it is set in make.conf:
Code:
root@localhost /home/vanger % cat /etc/portage/make.conf
# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically
# built this stage.
# Please consult /usr/share/portage/config/make.conf.example for a more
# detailed example.
CFLAGS="-march=native -O2 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
MAKEOPTS="-j9"

# WARNING: Changing your CHOST is not something that should be done lightly.
# Please consult http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/change-chost.xml before changing.
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"

# These are the USE flags that were used in addition to what is provided by the
# profile used for building.
# default:
USE="bindist mmx sse sse2 sse3 ssse3 sse4 sse4a sse4_1 \
     unicode nls \
     bash-completion zsh-completion \
     dbus consolekit policykit udev udisks X \
     cmake mercurial valgrind"
LINGUAS="en ru"
VIDEO_CARDS="intel nvidia"
#VIDEO_CARDS="intel"
#VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia"
#VIDEO_CARDS="nouveau"
INPUT_DEVICES="evdev synaptics"

PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
#PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/overlays/crossdev"
DISTDIR="${PORTDIR}/distfiles"
PKGDIR="${PORTDIR}/packages"


#source /var/lib/layman/make.conf
#PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage-crossdev ${PORTDIR_OVERLAY} /usr/local/portage"
#PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage-crossdev /usr/local/portage"

GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://mirror.yandex.ru/gentoo-distfiles/"

SYNC="rsync://rsync.ru.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vanger ... I'm not exactly sure why you're recieving that error but try 'env-update && source /etc/profile'.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vanger
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2014
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 10:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

env-update is not found for some reason O_o
Code:
root@localhost /home/vanger/downloads % env-update
zsh: command not found: env-update
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54220
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vanger,

Code:
# equery b env-update
 * Searching for env-update ...
sys-apps/portage-2.2.15 (/usr/sbin/env-update -> ../lib/python-exec/python-exec2)
sys-apps/portage-2.2.15 (/usr/lib/python-exec/python3.3/env-update)
sys-apps/portage-2.2.15 (/usr/lib/python-exec/python2.7/env-update)

So its provided by portage and depends on python.

Can you run /usr/lib/python-exec/python3.3/env-update or /usr/lib/python-exec/python2.7/env-update ?
Do you have those files?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vanger wrote:
env-update is not found for some reason O_o

Code:
root@localhost /home/vanger/downloads % env-update
zsh: command not found: env-update

vanger ... ummm, that suggests that you have issues with either your path, or python-exec ...

Code:
# equery -NC belongs =env-update
 * Searching for /usr/sbin/env-update ...
dev-lang/python-exec-2.0.1-r1 (/usr/lib/python-exec/python-exec2)
sys-apps/portage-2.2.14 (/usr/sbin/env-update -> ../lib/python-exec/python-exec2)

Why does your root prompt have '%' ... in zsh that denotes a non-root shell ... I would expect it to be '#', is /usr/sbin in the root path? Did you perhaps run 'su' without making it a login shell?

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vanger
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2014
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 11:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:

Can you run /usr/lib/python-exec/python3.3/env-update or /usr/lib/python-exec/python2.7/env-update ?
Do you have those files?

I have /usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/env-update :
Code:
root@localhost /home/vanger/downloads % /usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/env-update
>>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...

executing that didn't change
Code:
gcc-config -l
output.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vanger
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2014
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

khayyam wrote:

is /usr/sbin in the root path?

I don't completely understand this question. But here's some ROOTPATH variables:
Code:
root@localhost / % grep ROOTPATH /etc/env.d/00basic
ROOTPATH="/opt/bin"

Code:
root@localhost / % grep ROOTPATH /etc/env.d/04gcc-x86_64-pc-linux-gnu
ROOTPATH="/usr/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/4.8.3"

Code:
root@localhost / % grep ROOTPATH /etc/env.d/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-4.8.3
ROOTPATH="/usr/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/4.8.3"


khayyam wrote:

Did you perhaps run 'su' without making it a login shell?

Seems so. I run 'su' in a terminal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vanger wrote:
khayyam wrote:
is /usr/sbin in the root path?

I don't completely understand this question.

vanger ...

Code:
# whoami
root
# echo $PATH
/root/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin:/opt/bin:/usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/4.8.3
# ls -l =env-update
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 31 2014-12-15 09:19 /usr/sbin/env-update -> ../lib/python-exec/python-exec2

vanger wrote:
khayyam wrote:
Did you perhaps run 'su' without making it a login shell?

Seems so. I run 'su' in a terminal.

OK ... in which case you should use 'su -' (so that root gets a login shell, which will provide roots PATH ... not that of the user who su'ed).

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vanger
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2014
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, there's a difference in $PATH. But not with env-update:

Code:
root@localhost /home/vanger % whoami
root
root@localhost /home/vanger % echo $PATH
/sbin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin
root@localhost /home/vanger % ls -l =env-update
zsh: env-update not found


Code:
vanger@localhost /home/vanger % su -
Password:
root@localhost /root % whoami
root
root@localhost /root % echo $PATH
/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin:/opt/bin:/usr/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/4.8.3
root@localhost /root % ls -l =env-update
zsh: env-update not found
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vanger wrote:
Code:
root@localhost /home/vanger/downloads % /usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/env-update
>>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...

executing that didn't change 'gcc-config -l' output.

vanger ... missed that particular reply ... did you run 'source /etc/profile' after env-update (and so before 'gcc-config -l').

vanger wrote:
Code:
root@localhost /root % ls -l =env-update
zsh: env-update not found

OK, then you have an issue with python-exec ... not just with gcc.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vanger
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2014
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

khayyam wrote:

did you run 'source /etc/profile' after env-update (and so before 'gcc-config -l').

No. I've run it right now. It didn't change 'gcc-config -l'.

khayyam wrote:

OK, then you have an issue with python-exec ... not just with gcc.

Pros: we know something for sure. Cons: i have more issues :)

What could cause it? Actions I did: that 'crossdev --clean', unmerging gcc to remove it's remains from the system, tar binary gcc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54220
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vanger,

Heres the ultimate Gentoo recovery guide.
You may not want the stage3 given in that post, choose one to match your system.
Its written for gcc but it works for anything or combinations.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vanger wrote:
khayyam wrote:
OK, then you have an issue with python-exec ... not just with gcc.

What could cause it? Actions I did: that 'crossdev --clean', unmerging gcc to remove it's remains from the system, tar binary gcc.

vanger ... I'm not really sure, have you perhaps updated python recently, what does 'eselect python list' show, have you set anything for PYTHON_TARGETS in make.conf, what is set as the default python, does /usr/lib/python-exec/python{2.7,3.3,3.4} exist?

Untaring gcc into / shouldn't have caused the above, so that leaves crossdev, or some other seperate issue.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vanger
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2014
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon, thanks for a link! I'll read carefully in a while.

khayyam,

Code:
vanger@localhost /home/vanger % eselect python list     
Available Python interpreters:
  [1]   python2.7
  [2]   python3.3 *


There's no 'python-exec' in lib dir:
Code:
vanger@localhost /home/vanger % ls /usr/lib       
gcc


But it's in lib64:
Code:
vanger@localhost /home/vanger % ls /usr/lib64/python
files
python2.7/    python3.3/    python-exec/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vanger wrote:
There's no 'python-exec' in lib dir: [...] But it's in lib64:

Code:
vanger@localhost /home/vanger % ls /usr/lib64/python
files
python2.7/    python3.3/    python-exec/

vanger ... you're pasting zsh's completion ... its the contents of /usr/lib64/python-exec that we need to check ...

Code:
# print -rl /usr/lib/python-exec/{,python2.7/}*

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vanger
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2014
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

khayyam wrote:

vanger ... you're pasting zsh's completion

Yep. I'm aware of it.

Quote:

... its the contents of /usr/lib64/python-exec that we need to check ...
Code:
# print -rl /usr/lib/python-exec/{,python2.7/}*


Did you mean "the contents of /usr/lib/python-exec" (not 'lib64')?

The result is the same: 'lib64' has python-exec, 'lib' hasn't:
Code:
vanger@localhost /home/vanger % print -rl /usr/lib/python-exec/{,python2.7/}*
zsh: no matches found: /usr/lib/python-exec/*


Code:
vanger@localhost /home/vanger % print -rl /usr/lib64/python-exec/{,python2.7/}*
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python-exec2
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python-exec2-c
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/archive-conf
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/chardetect
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/depend-java-query
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/dispatch-conf
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/easy_install
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/ebuild
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/eclean
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/eclean-dist
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/eclean-pkg
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/egencache
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/emaint
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/emerge
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/emirrordist
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/enalyze
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/env-update
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/epkginfo
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/equery
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/eshowkw
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/fixpackages
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/gdbus-codegen
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/gjl
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/glsa-check
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/hg
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/hg-ssh
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/java-config-2
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/mirrorselect
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/ndg_httpclient
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/portageq
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/pykdeuic4
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/pyuic4
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/quickpkg
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/regenworld
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/repoman
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/revdep-rebuild.py
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/scons
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/sconsign
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/scons-time
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/synaptiks
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/synaptikscfg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vanger wrote:
Did you mean "the contents of /usr/lib/python-exec" (not 'lib64')?

vanger, sorry, no. They are the same, only lib64 exists because on 64bit systems you can also have 32bit components (multilib). So, I meant */lib64/python-exec.

vanger wrote:
Code:
vanger@localhost /home/vanger % print -rl /usr/lib64/python-exec/{,python2.7/}*
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python-exec2
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python-exec2-c
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7/archive-conf
[...]

Again, my apologies ... its really python3.3 I intended to target, as that is the python interpreter you have set as the default. The above does suggest everything is ok, I see 'env-update' (under python2.7) ... the question now is why /usr/sbin/env-update returns "not found" ... does that file exist, and where does it point?

Code:
# ls -l /usr/sbin/env-update

If it points to '../lib64/python-exec/python-exec2' then your problem is with 'eselect python', again, did you perhaps change python from 2.7 to 3.3 ... and does the issue resolve itself by switching back to python2.7?

Code:
# eselect python list
# eselect python set {N}
# env-update

My suspicion is that eselect python is set to some interpreter you either nolonger have installed, or had switched to without running python-updater.

Anyhow, once corrected you should be able to run env-update and other python scripts in lib64/python-exec/python{2.7,3.3} (ie, emerge). We've taken a detour, but once this is working we can try and figure out what is happening wrt gcc-config.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vanger
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2014
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2015 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

khayyam wrote:

Again, my apologies ... its really python3.3 I intended to target, as that is the python interpreter you have set as the default. The above does suggest everything is ok, I see 'env-update' (under python2.7) ... the question now is why /usr/sbin/env-update returns "not found" ... does that file exist, and where does it point?


'python3.3' directory exists:
Code:

vanger@localhost /home/vanger % print -rl /usr/lib64/python-exec/{,python3.3/}*
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python2.7
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python-exec2
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python-exec2-c
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/archive-conf
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/chardetect
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/depend-java-query
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/dispatch-conf
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/easy_install
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/ebuild
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/eclean
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/eclean-dist
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/eclean-pkg
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/egencache
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/emaint
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/emerge
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/emirrordist
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/enalyze
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/env-update
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/epkginfo
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/equery
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/eshowkw
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/fixpackages
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/gdbus-codegen
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/gjl
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/glsa-check
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/java-config-2
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/mirrorselect
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/portageq
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/pykdeuic4
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/pyuic4
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/quickpkg
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/regenworld
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/repoman
/usr/lib64/python-exec/python3.3/revdep-rebuild.py



khayyam wrote:

Again, my apologies ... its really python3.3 I intended to target, as that is the python interpreter you have set as the default. The above does suggest everything is ok, I see 'env-update' (under python2.7) ... the question now is why /usr/sbin/env-update returns "not found" ... does that file exist, and where does it point?

Code:
# ls -l /usr/sbin/env-update

If it points to '../lib64/python-exec/python-exec2' then your problem is with 'eselect python', again, did you perhaps change python from 2.7 to 3.3 ... and does the issue resolve itself by switching back to python2.7?

Code:
# eselect python list
# eselect python set {N}
# env-update

My suspicion is that eselect python is set to some interpreter you either nolonger have installed, or had switched to without running python-updater.

Anyhow, once corrected you should be able to run env-update and other python scripts in lib64/python-exec/python{2.7,3.3} (ie, emerge). We've taken a detour, but once this is working we can try and figure out what is happening wrt gcc-config.


and
Code:
# ls -l /usr/sbin/env-update

gives good results:
Code:
vanger@localhost /home/vanger % ls -l /usr/sbin/env-update
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 31 Dec  7 10:39 /usr/sbin/env-update -> ../lib/python-exec/python-exec2


But I did nothing with python version selection.
Code:
vanger@localhost /home/vanger % eselect python list       
Available Python interpreters:
  [1]   python2.7
  [2]   python3.3 *


BTW, I even can't change it now:
Code:
vanger@localhost /home/vanger % eselect python set 1     
!!! Error: Cannot remove symlinks
exiting
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54220
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2015 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vanger,

Do you have a filesystem error, so its been remounted read only while you weren't looking?
mount will show it.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2015 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vanger wrote:
BTW, I even can't change it now:
Code:
vanger@localhost /home/vanger % eselect python set 1     
!!! Error: Cannot remove symlinks
exiting

vanger ... please concentrate, obviously you need to be root to make changes to the system.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vanger
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2014
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2015 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:

Do you have a filesystem error, so its been remounted read only while you weren't looking?
mount will show it.

No, there was no filesystem errors.
Code:
vanger@localhost /home/vanger % mount | grep boot
/dev/sda7 on /boot type ext2 (rw,noatime)


khayyam wrote:

vanger ... please concentrate, obviously you need to be root to make changes to the system.

Oh, sorry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum