Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
desktop / window manager - what's the diff?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
thekillerbean
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2002 7:10 am    Post subject: desktop / window manager - what's the diff? Reply with quote

i'm quite new to the linux desktop/window management stuff and i'm a little confused as to what each does - is a desktop manager the same thing as a window manager? if not, what are the main differences?

if the explanation is a long one and someone here knows of a really good newbie friendly site that explains all the differences, i'd be glad to go do some reading. however, if the explanation is a short one, then please post right here.

much obliged!
Dolio
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2002 7:39 am    Post subject: Brief Reply with quote

If you want a brief description...

A window manager generally handles less stuff than a desktop manager does. For example, I use the enlightenment window manager. It draws the borders around the windows, and handles stuff like minimizing, maximizing and resizing the windows. It also handles switching between virtual desktops (you have 4 of them by default in most of the window managers I've tried).

Desktop managers do a lot more. Take Gnome for example (I'm more experienced with it, although I don't actually use it). Gnome includes Nautilus, which draws stuff on the "desktop", like icons and stuff. Enlightenment doesn't do that (currently). Nautilus is also a graphical file manager, so you can do stuff to files (like in Windows explorer). Gnome also integrates GTK+, which is a whole graphical toolkit. Gnome has tools for customizing all sorts of aspects of how your programs behave (like how all the little widgets look, rather than just the widgets on the toolbar).