Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
eth0 assistance
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
AzazeL
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2002
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 2:32 am    Post subject: eth0 assistance Reply with quote

I run my adsl connection via a ethernet card connected to a router using dhcpcd and during my initial install I wasnt entirely sure if I had configured it correctly. Im not sure what type of ethernet card is installed in the computer either. When i booted for the first time the eth0 had an error saying 'netmount' wasnt booted or something along those lines. Any ideas which of the many conf files I need to look at?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7729
Location: Underworld

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 2:51 am    Post subject: Re: eth0 assistance Reply with quote

First of all, you'll need to find out what card you have there. lspci (with -v option) may help you in this task

Then, you have to compile a kernel with support (either as a module or inside the kernel) for this card.

After that, the basic network configuration is in /etc/conf.d/net

The service you will need to start, basically, is /etc/init.d/net.eth0

Code:

/etc/init.d/net.eth0 start



Don't forget also to RTFM 8)

AzazeL wrote:
I run my adsl connection via a ethernet card connected to a router using dhcpcd and during my initial install I wasnt entirely sure if I had configured it correctly. Im not sure what type of ethernet card is installed in the computer either. When i booted for the first time the eth0 had an error saying 'netmount' wasnt booted or something along those lines. Any ideas which of the many conf files I need to look at?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AzazeL
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2002
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 3:23 am    Post subject: hmm Reply with quote

Yeah i tried lspci -v but ahh... no command found apparently. Suggestions? Also during the init.d/net.eth0 start command is there any option to debug it? so i can see where ive gone wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20067

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 3:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does your NIC show up in the output of cat /proc/pci? If not, I'd take a look at it physically... most have the necessary info printed on them.
_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AzazeL
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2002
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 3:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Um... an ethernet controller appears in the list, is that what im looking for?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20067

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 4:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Should be... is there an identifiable make/model?
_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AzazeL
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2002
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 4:47 am    Post subject: Yeah Reply with quote

AMD PCnet LANCE. So i re-compiled my kernel to add AMD PCnet support and still... errors whenever I boot. Could it be a problem with my /etc/conf.d/net file? because Im confused when it comes to that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20067

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 5:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you compile it into the kernel, or as a module? Is it the same error? What do you have in your conf.d/net file?
_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AzazeL
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2002
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 5:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I compiled it into the kernel. But I'm thinking I may need to compile it as a module and then get the module to load on boot. And yes its the same error as before. As for my conf.d/net I've just altered it for my details. I've changed the first iface_eth0 line so it has the right IPs. I've uncommented iface_eth0="dhcp" as thats what im wanting to use and I've uncommented and changed my default gateway to 192.168.1.254
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rac
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 6553
Location: Japanifornia

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 5:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AzazeL wrote:
I compiled it into the kernel. But I'm thinking I may need to compile it as a module and then get the module to load on boot.

No, I recommend staying with it in the kernel - one less variable.

Quote:
I've changed the first iface_eth0 line so it has the right IPs. I've uncommented iface_eth0="dhcp" as thats what im wanting to use

Aren't these two things mutually exclusive?
_________________
For every higher wall, there is a taller ladder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20067

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 5:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hrm... for dhcp, all you should need in the net file is
Code:
iface_eth0="dhcp"
You should be able to comment everything else.
_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AzazeL
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2002
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 6:13 am    Post subject: hmm Reply with quote

Commented everything but
iface_eth0="dhcp"

But still error remains.
I have a feeling I am gonna need to rip this ethernet card out and put in the type i have used in the past.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20067

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 6:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The netmount problem isn't uncommon. Here are some links found with a search: One, two, three, and four.

There are more, but I'm heading off to bed. Good luck, I'll check back in the morning.
_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AzazeL
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2002
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 6:55 am    Post subject: Interesting Reply with quote

I changed iface_eth0="dhcpcd" and that seems to have helped a little. Now the only issue confronting me is that dhcpcd fails everytime it does a hostname look up on my computer. Hopefully this is a simple problem that anybody knows how to fix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rac
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 6553
Location: Japanifornia

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 7:04 am    Post subject: Re: Interesting Reply with quote

AzazeL wrote:
I changed iface_eth0="dhcpcd" and that seems to have helped a little.

Really? First I've heard of this. Wonder why that works.

Quote:
Now the only issue confronting me is that dhcpcd fails everytime it does a hostname look up on my computer.

Might dhcpcd's -D and -H options help?
_________________
For every higher wall, there is a taller ladder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AzazeL
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2002
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 7:38 am    Post subject: Hmmm Reply with quote

the dhcpcd idea was suggested in one of those links given to me. Im not actually too sure if its assisted in any way. Even with both -D and -h i cant get the hostname lookup to work. What should i have my hostname as? I mean theres any number of possibilities and in the past the dhcp my router has configged hasnt required a hostname.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rac
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 6553
Location: Japanifornia

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 7:49 am    Post subject: Re: Hmmm Reply with quote

AzazeL wrote:
-h i cant get the hostname lookup to work. What should i have my hostname as? I mean theres any number of possibilities and in the past the dhcp my router has configged hasnt required a hostname.

It's -H, not -h, and that option should take this decision out of your hands.
dhcpcd man page wrote:
-H Forces dhcpcd to set hostname of the host to the hostname option supplied by DHCP server. By default dhcpcd will NOT set hostname of the host to the hostname option received from DHCP server.

_________________
For every higher wall, there is a taller ladder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AzazeL
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2002
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 8:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No change.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AzazeL
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2002
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2002 7:48 am    Post subject: Excellent Reply with quote

I found the solution to my problem. I compiled my ethernet drivers as a module and yeah got the module to load on boot and its worked fine since then.

I really want to thank rac and kanuslupus for all your help. You guys are awesome :o
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20067

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2002 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Glad it is working. One last question. Did you leave iface_eth0="dhcpcd" or change it back to just "dhcp"?
_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rac
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 6553
Location: Japanifornia

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2002 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kanuslupus wrote:
Did you leave iface_eth0="dhcpcd" or change it back to just "dhcp"?

A good question. I just checked /etc/init.d/net.eth0, and both places it checks it looks like it explicitly checks against "dhcp", so I would be surprised if "dhcpcd" would work. I think BonezTheGoon posted before morning coffee, and the tone of the post (from your link one) was not very certain. I thought for a moment that it might regex dhcp against it, so either would work, but it doesn't.
_________________
For every higher wall, there is a taller ladder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AzazeL
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2002
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2002 12:52 am    Post subject: dhcp Reply with quote

I did try leaving it as dhcpcd but that was just adding one further complication, the hostname look up. So i commented everything but the iface_eth0 line and changed it back to dhcp and that seems to have made it work fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum