Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE emerge won't even start!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sheepdog
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Oct 2002
Posts: 369
Location: Edison Enterprises Inc., Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2004 10:48 pm    Post subject: KDE emerge won't even start! Reply with quote

Code:
emerge kde


results in:
Quote:
Calculating dependencies ...done!
>>> emerge (1 of 1) kde-base/kde-3.2.0 to /
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Source unpacked.

>>> Install kde-3.2.0 into /var/tmp/portage/kde-3.2.0/image/ category kde-base
man:
prepallstrip:
strip:
>>> Completed installing into /var/tmp/portage/kde-3.2.0/image/

./
>>> Done.
>>> extracting info
>>> extracting kde-3.2.0
>>> Merging kde-base/kde-3.2.0 to /
* Caching service dependencies... [ ok ]
>>> kde-base/kde-3.2.0 merged.

>>> clean: No packages selected for removal.

>>> Auto-cleaning packages ...

>>> No outdated packages were found on your system.


* GNU info directory index is up-to-date.

That's it. I can emerge -C kde and then emerge kde with the same result. Even after an emerge rsync. Never seen portage do this before. Anyone have any ideas?

There are no kde distfiles on the machine. KDE is installed and working from the "packages" LiveCD. I wouldn't need to re-emerge it except I need ALSA working and it was apparantly not compiled for ALSA.

emerge --info:
Quote:
Portage 2.0.50-r1 (default-amd64-2004.0, gcc-3.3.3, glibc-2.3.2-r9, 2.6.3-gentoo-r2)
=================================================================
System uname: 2.6.3-gentoo-r2 x86_64 5
Gentoo Base System version 1.4.3.13
ccache version 2.3 [enabled]
Autoconf: sys-devel/autoconf-2.58-r1
Automake: sys-devel/automake-1.7.8
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64"
AUTOCLEAN="yes"
CFLAGS="-O2 -fPIC"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
COMPILER="gcc3"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/xkb /usr/kde/2/share/config /usr/kde/3.2/share/config /usr/kde/3/share/config /usr/share/config /var/qmail/control"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/gconf /etc/terminfo /etc/env.d"
CXXFLAGS="-O2 -fPIC"
DISTDIR="/opt/no_archive/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="autoaddcvs buildpkg ccache sandbox"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://128.213.5.34/gentoo/"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"
PKGDIR="/opt/no_archive/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="X alsa amd64 apm arts avi berkdb cdr crypt doc encode esd foomaticdb gdbm gif gnome gpm gtk gtk2 imlib jpeg kde ldap libg++ libwww log4cpp mikmod motif mozilla mpeg mysql nas ncurses nls oggvorbis opengl oss pam pdflib perl plotutils png postgres python qt quicktime readline ruby sdl slang spell ssl tcltk tcpd truetype usb wxwindows xinerama xml2 xmms xv zlib"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thumper
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Dec 2002
Posts: 448
Location: Venice FL

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2004 3:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If it's already at kde 3.2, then you have to emerge the individual packages..

Code:
emerge -pv kdelibs kdebase kdeaddons kdeadmin kdeartwork kdeedu kdegames kdegraphics kdemultimedia kdenetwork kdepim kdetoys kdeutils kdeaccessibility


and see what happens.

George
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sheepdog
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Oct 2002
Posts: 369
Location: Edison Enterprises Inc., Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2004 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thumper wrote:
If it's already at kde 3.2, then you have to emerge the individual packages..


Yes, that works. Thanks. I'm used to portage just telling me that there is nothing to emerge if it is up to date. Not doing an "empty" emerge like this. Is this a feature or a bug?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thumper
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Dec 2002
Posts: 448
Location: Venice FL

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2004 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd think more like an oversight... or a no can do for some technical reason.

Not what I would expect though, like you, I would expect it to re-emerge all of the packages as requested.

George
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum