View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
zatalian
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2002 8:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Comming from redhat, i'm new to compiling kernels, and recompiling them... So I have a question :

I just downloaded the latest gentoo kernel but I want to keep the old one until i'm sure the new one is working fine. I noticed the bzImage copies in /boot but what about the /usr/src/linux link and what about the modules?

How do i get the right modules with the right kernel at startup and the right link to the kernel source?
rac
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2002 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This question originally appeared here. Please don't post support questions to threads in Documentation, Tips & Tricks.
zatalian
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Thu Sep 19, 2002 7:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

while looking into the kernel topics i found that the modules are stored in a /lib/modules/<kernel version> directory. So that solves -almost- one problem.

I guess if I want 2 versions of the same kernel, i'll have to use the same dir or change the kernel version.

But i still have problems with older versions. Last night i re-emerged my nvidia-kernel for my latest kernel and now my previous kernel does not find it anymore.

Second thing i noticed is that at startup, something (Insmod?) was complaining about a newer version of /etc/modules.conf

Thirth thing is the symlink...

And then there's one more thing, maybe a little bit of topic, but i was wondering if somebody has a solution for this one :
when i compile my kernel, it doesn't use the compiler settings as i defined them in make.conf. Any idea's on how to force my compiler options into the kernel building process?
rac
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Thu Sep 19, 2002 8:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

zatalian wrote: