Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Setting a working bridge for my VMs
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kgdrenefort
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2023
Posts: 247
Location: Somewhere in the 77

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2024 11:27 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Setting a working bridge for my VMs Reply with quote

Hello,

EDIT: Long-story short, the dhcpcd services starting at boot was in conflict, disabling it and rebooting worked like a charm.

I tried yesterday to setup a bridge aside my enp8s0 Ethernet card, because virt-manager/KVM/qemu was not pleased to create a VM without any BR/TAP connection.

Code:
Mephistopheles ~ # ip a
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host noprefixroute
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: enp8s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc fq_codel state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 70:85:c2:8d:11:c5 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.1.103/24 brd 192.168.1.255 scope global dynamic noprefixroute enp8s0
       valid_lft 36078sec preferred_lft 30678sec
    inet6 2a01:e0a:47d:1160:caee:5d3c:2295:7499/64 scope global dynamic mngtmpaddr noprefixroute
       valid_lft 86072sec preferred_lft 86072sec
    inet6 fe80::64a2:b7fe:c028:e261/64 scope link
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
3: br0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 9a:5b:a6:86:35:7a brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff


As you can see, enp8s0 is working and has it's own IP in my LAN with the DHCP process.

I tried to add br0 aside it, as connecting enp8s0 to br0, following this page: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Network_bridge

But no luck, following the SystemD sub-section I created the /etc/systemd/network/MyBridge.netdev file:
Code:
[NetDev]
Name=br0
Kind=bridge


As /etc/systemd/network/MyEth.network:
Code:
[Match]
Name=eth*

[Network]
Bridge=br0


And since I'm lazy, I wanted to do it via DHCP to not bother:

Code:

[Match]
Name=br0

[Network]
DHCP=ipv4


The systemd-networkd service status return this:
Code:
Mephistopheles ~ # systemctl status systemd-networkd
● systemd-networkd.service - Network Configuration
     Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/systemd-networkd.service; enabled; preset: enabled)
     Active: active (running) since Tue 2024-05-21 10:47:59 CEST; 2h 2min ago
TriggeredBy: ● systemd-networkd.socket
       Docs: man:systemd-networkd.service(8)
             man:org.freedesktop.network1(5)
   Main PID: 740 (systemd-network)
     Status: "Processing requests..."
      Tasks: 1 (limit: 19047)
   FD Store: 0 (limit: 512)
     Memory: 3.3M (peak: 3.8M)
        CPU: 48ms
     CGroup: /system.slice/systemd-networkd.service
             └─740 /usr/lib/systemd/systemd-networkd

mai 21 10:47:59 Mephistopheles systemd-networkd[740]: enp8s0: Link UP
mai 21 10:47:59 Mephistopheles systemd-networkd[740]: br0: netdev ready
mai 21 10:47:59 Mephistopheles systemd-networkd[740]: Enumeration completed
mai 21 10:47:59 Mephistopheles systemd[1]: Started Network Configuration.
mai 21 10:47:59 Mephistopheles systemd-networkd[740]: enp8s0: Link DOWN
mai 21 10:47:59 Mephistopheles systemd-networkd[740]: enp8s0: Link UP
mai 21 10:47:59 Mephistopheles systemd-networkd[740]: br0: Configuring with /etc/systemd/network/MyBridge.network.
mai 21 10:47:59 Mephistopheles systemd-networkd[740]: br0: Link UP
mai 21 10:48:02 Mephistopheles systemd-networkd[740]: enp8s0: Gained carrier


It seems to recognize br0 and linking it up. At this point I was thinking I was on something working. Saw it was not working because I could not SSH my VM or ping it.

The ip a command return for the enp1s0 inside the VM the IP: 169.254.141.74/16, while my usual networks works on 192.168.1.XXX/24, but so far as I remember it's quite normal into a VM to have these, on another CIDR/Mask, but the internet (LAN or WAN) does not works.

Killing dhcpcd (-x) and then doing dhcpcd enp1s0 return this:

Code:

dhcpcd-10.0.6 starting
DUID 00:01:00:01:2d:df:39:89:52:54:00:14:14:b9
enp1s0: IAID 00:14:14:b9
enp1s0: soliciting an IPv6 router
enp1s0: soliciting a DHCP lease
enp1s0: using IPv4LL address 169.254.141.74
enp1s0: adding route to 169.254.0.0/16
enp1s0: adding default route


While, on the VM, ip routes return:
Code:

default dev enp1s0 scope link src 169.254.141.74 metric 1001002
169.254.0.0/16 dev enp1s0 scope link src 169.254.141.74 metric 1002


This is the route of the host:
Code:

default via 192.168.1.254 dev enp8s0 proto dhcp src 192.168.1.103 metric 1002
192.168.1.0/24 dev enp8s0 proto dhcp scope link src 192.168.1.103 metric 1002


Of course, I am the source of this non-working situation.

I've some nftables rules, but it does happen too if I flush them:

Code:

Mephistopheles ~ # ping -c 3 169.254.141.74
PING 169.254.141.74 (169.254.141.74) 56(84) octets de données.

--- statistiques ping 169.254.141.74 ---
3 paquets transmis, 0 reçus, 100 % paquets perdus, temps 2028 ms

Mephistopheles ~ # nft list ruleset
table inet filter {
   chain input {
      type filter hook input priority filter; policy drop;
      ct state invalid counter packets 0 bytes 0 drop comment "early drop of invalid packets"
      ct state { established, related } counter packets 277 bytes 376537 accept comment "accept all connections related to connections made by us"
      iif "lo" accept comment "accept loopback"
      iif != "lo" ip daddr 127.0.0.0/8 counter packets 0 bytes 0 drop comment "drop connections to loopback not coming from loopback"
      iif != "lo" ip6 daddr ::1 counter packets 0 bytes 0 drop comment "drop connections to loopback not coming from loopback"
      ip protocol icmp counter packets 0 bytes 0 accept comment "accept all ICMP types"
      meta l4proto ipv6-icmp counter packets 0 bytes 0 accept comment "accept all ICMP types"
      tcp dport 22 counter packets 0 bytes 0 drop comment "accept SSH"
      tcp dport 80 counter packets 0 bytes 0 drop comment "accept HTTP"
      tcp dport 443 counter packets 0 bytes 0 drop comment "accept HTTPS"
      udp dport 30001 counter packets 0 bytes 0 accept comment "accept 30001 - minetestserver - testAvecJustine"
      udp dport 30002 counter packets 0 bytes 0 accept comment "accept 30002 - minetestserver - minecloniaTest1"
      counter packets 5 bytes 8616 comment "count dropped packets"
   }

   chain forward {
      type filter hook forward priority filter; policy drop;
      counter packets 0 bytes 0 comment "count dropped packets"
   }

   chain output {
      type filter hook output priority filter; policy accept;
      counter packets 7 bytes 567 comment "count accepted packets"
   }
}

Mephistopheles ~ # nft flush ruleset

Mephistopheles ~ # nft list ruleset
Mephistopheles ~ # ping -c 3 169.254.141.74
PING 169.254.141.74 (169.254.141.74) 56(84) octets de données.

--- statistiques ping 169.254.141.74 ---
3 paquets transmis, 0 reçus, 100 % paquets perdus, temps 2034 ms


So I'm pretty sure my firewall is not involved here.

Since systemd-netword is enable at boot, it already reads the configuration at boot time. Reloading the service indeed brings nothing new and the status only add:

Code:
mai 21 13:03:46 Mephistopheles systemd[1]: Reloading Network Configuration...


Also, virt-manager is saying in the NIC subsection of the configuration of my VM:

Code:
Failed to find a suitable default network
.

The model of the device is by default virtio, it has a MAC address (52.54:00:14:14:b9), unknown IP, the state of the link is active. As a bridge device with device name "br0" as well:
Code:
<interface type="bridge">
  <mac address="52:54:00:14:14:b9"/>
  <source bridge="br0"/>
  <model type="virtio"/>
  <address type="pci" domain="0x0000" bus="0x01" slot="0x00" function="0x0"/>
</interface>


----

Then, later, I realized that the MyEth file was for eth… not enp !

So I set enp8s0, thinking I'm smart.

Reloading systemd-netword:

Code:
Mephistopheles ~ # systemctl status systemd-networkd.service
● systemd-networkd.service - Network Configuration
     Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/systemd-networkd.service; enabled; preset: enabled)
     Active: active (running) since Tue 2024-05-21 13:13:38 CEST; 3s ago
TriggeredBy: ● systemd-networkd.socket
       Docs: man:systemd-networkd.service(8)
             man:org.freedesktop.network1(5)
   Main PID: 77596 (systemd-network)
     Status: "Processing requests..."
      Tasks: 1 (limit: 19047)
   FD Store: 0 (limit: 512)
     Memory: 1.6M (peak: 2.1M)
        CPU: 66ms
     CGroup: /system.slice/systemd-networkd.service
             └─77596 /usr/lib/systemd/systemd-networkd

mai 21 13:13:38 Mephistopheles systemd-networkd[77596]: vnet1: Link UP
mai 21 13:13:38 Mephistopheles systemd-networkd[77596]: vnet1: Gained carrier
mai 21 13:13:38 Mephistopheles systemd-networkd[77596]: enp8s0: Gained IPv6LL
mai 21 13:13:38 Mephistopheles systemd-networkd[77596]: br0: Gained IPv6LL
mai 21 13:13:38 Mephistopheles systemd-networkd[77596]: vnet1: Gained IPv6LL
mai 21 13:13:38 Mephistopheles systemd-networkd[77596]: Enumeration completed
mai 21 13:13:38 Mephistopheles systemd[1]: Started Network Configuration.
mai 21 13:13:38 Mephistopheles systemd-networkd[77596]: br0: netdev exists, using existing without changing its parameters
mai 21 13:13:38 Mephistopheles systemd-networkd[77596]: br0: Configuring with /etc/systemd/network/MyBridge.network.


Showing me that vnet1 was added:

Code:
Mephistopheles ~ # ip a
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host noprefixroute
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: enp8s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc fq_codel master br0 state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 70:85:c2:8d:11:c5 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.1.103/24 brd 192.168.1.255 scope global dynamic noprefixroute enp8s0
       valid_lft 42964sec preferred_lft 37564sec
    inet6 fe80::64a2:b7fe:c028:e261/64 scope link
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
3: br0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 9a:5b:a6:86:35:7a brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.1.47/24 metric 1024 brd 192.168.1.255 scope global dynamic br0
       valid_lft 43189sec preferred_lft 43189sec
    inet6 2a01:e0a:47d:1160:985b:a6ff:fe86:357a/64 scope global dynamic mngtmpaddr noprefixroute
       valid_lft 86388sec preferred_lft 86388sec
    inet6 fe80::985b:a6ff:fe86:357a/64 scope link proto kernel_ll
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
5: vnet1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue master br0 state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether fe:54:00:14:14:b9 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet6 fe80::fc54:ff:fe14:14b9/64 scope link proto kernel_ll
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever


But now, half of my networks won't works:

I Can reach google and some websites, not all, gentoo.org is ok, as google, but some are not and everything on LAN is not either (I can't ping my LAN server !). I can as well use emerge --sync.

The ip route of the host now is this:

Code:
Mephistopheles ~ # ip route
default via 192.168.1.254 dev enp8s0 proto dhcp src 192.168.1.103 metric 1002
default via 192.168.1.254 dev br0 proto dhcp src 192.168.1.47 metric 1024
192.168.1.0/24 dev enp8s0 proto dhcp scope link src 192.168.1.103 metric 1002
192.168.1.0/24 dev br0 proto kernel scope link src 192.168.1.47 metric 1024
192.168.1.254 dev br0 proto dhcp scope link src 192.168.1.47 metric 1024


As for the VM which can, at least, use links to reach google:

Code:

default via 192.168.1.254 dev enp1s0 proto dhco src 192.168.1.50 metric 1002
192.168.1.0/24 dev enp1s0 proto dhcp scope link src 192.168.1.50 metric 1002


I guess multiple routes on my host is an undesired behaviour.

Simpliest way to solve this was a reboot of the host, which indeed return this route:

Code:
Mephistopheles ~ # ip route
default via 192.168.1.254 dev enp8s0 proto dhcp src 192.168.1.103 metric 1002
192.168.1.0/24 dev enp8s0 proto dhcp scope link src 192.168.1.103 metric 1002


And everything is back to normal, for the host.

What do you think ?

Regards,
GASPARD DE RENEFORT Kévin
_________________
wiki/User:Kgdrenefort/captain_logs My system info
G. does not have problems, only learning opportunities. - NeddyS.
If your installation isn't valuable to you, feel free to continue to ignore the instructions. - figue.


Last edited by kgdrenefort on Sat May 25, 2024 12:42 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54418
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2024 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kgdrenefort,

Close but no cigar. I have no idea how to do this with systemd but this is what is needed.

Bring up enp8s0 without any IP address or routes.
Create br0.
Donate enp8s0 to br0
Configure br0 in place of enp8s0.

enp8s0 will never have any IP address or routes. Its donated to br0.

Set up the VM as a member of br0.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kgdrenefort
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2023
Posts: 247
Location: Somewhere in the 77

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2024 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
kgdrenefort,

Close but no cigar. I have no idea how to do this with systemd but this is what is needed.

Bring up enp8s0 without any IP address or routes.
Create br0.
Donate enp8s0 to br0
Configure br0 in place of enp8s0.

enp8s0 will never have any IP address or routes. Its donated to br0.

Set up the VM as a member of br0.


So br0 has to get the IP and all of that, sharing the connection between enp8s0 (my host) and my VMs (so, br0 becomes the main device getting connection on the host) and then, connecting the VM to br0 as the host would be ?

Thanks for your answer.

Regards,
GASPARD DE RENEFORT Kévin
_________________
wiki/User:Kgdrenefort/captain_logs My system info
G. does not have problems, only learning opportunities. - NeddyS.
If your installation isn't valuable to you, feel free to continue to ignore the instructions. - figue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54418
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2024 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kgdrenefort,

A bridge is the software equivalent of an Ethernet hub.
Every port can see all of the traffic on the bridge.

With OpenRC its
Code:
config_eth0="null"
bridge_br4="eth0"
config_br4="192.168.100.250/24"
routes_br4="default via 192.168.100.252"

but you could use dhcpcd in place of a static setup.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kgdrenefort
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2023
Posts: 247
Location: Somewhere in the 77

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2024 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Right now, I think my problem is I have two routes.

If I set up the config as it is it Systemd and reboot, the behaviour is the same (two defaults routes…).

I'm tempted to delete the old one, without bridge, but also afraid to duck up my network configuration as well:

Code:
default via 192.168.1.254 dev enp8s0 proto dhcp src 192.168.1.103 metric 1002
192.168.1.0/24 dev enp8s0 proto dhcp scope link src 192.168.1.103 metric 1002


Kind of lost on the next good moves to follow:

Should I be removing old default routes for enp8s0 ? Could it breaks the networks until I fix it ?

I guess removing it won't make it come back after a reboot. My main concern.

Regards,
GASPARD DE RENEFORT Kévin
_________________
wiki/User:Kgdrenefort/captain_logs My system info
G. does not have problems, only learning opportunities. - NeddyS.
If your installation isn't valuable to you, feel free to continue to ignore the instructions. - figue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54418
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2024 1:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kgdrenefort,

enp8s0 should not have an IP address, nor a route.
It's a port on br0
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
salahx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Mar 2005
Posts: 534

PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2024 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got a systemd-networkjd+libvirt machine. Here's the recipe. You need to create 3 files:

/etc/systemd/network/25-bridge0.netdev
Code:
[NetDev]
Name=bridge0
Kind=bridge


/etc/systemd/network/25-bridge0-en.network
Code:
[Match]
Name=en*

[Network]
Bridge=bridge0


/etc/systemd/network/25-bridge0.network
Code:
[Match]
Name=bridge0

[Network]
DHCP=yes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kgdrenefort
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2023
Posts: 247
Location: Somewhere in the 77

PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2024 11:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

salahx wrote:
I've got a systemd-networkjd+libvirt machine. Here's the recipe. You need to create 3 files:

/etc/systemd/network/25-bridge0.netdev
Code:
[NetDev]
Name=bridge0
Kind=bridge


/etc/systemd/network/25-bridge0-en.network
Code:
[Match]
Name=en*

[Network]
Bridge=bridge0


/etc/systemd/network/25-bridge0.network
Code:
[Match]
Name=bridge0

[Network]
DHCP=yes


Hello and thanks.

I might have progression, I think your configuration comes from Archlinux wiki, here.

Find maybe what was wrong, as Neddy (and the Archlinux's wiki) says, enp8s0 (my main ethernet interface) should not get the IP first.

And it seems they (files into /etc/systemd/network) are read by alphabetic order, so the order was probably wrong.

But, even if now I have set "bridge0" (instead of br0, because why not) I keep internet working, even after a reboot, but the VM still do not have internet, and on the host my bridge0 is down somehow:

Code:

meself@Mephistopheles ~ $ ip a
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host noprefixroute
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: enp8s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc fq_codel state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 70:85:c2:8d:11:c5 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.1.103/24 brd 192.168.1.255 scope global dynamic noprefixroute enp8s0
       valid_lft 42837sec preferred_lft 37437sec
    inet6 2a01:e0a:47d:1160:caee:5d3c:2295:7499/64 scope global dynamic mngtmpaddr noprefixroute
       valid_lft 86140sec preferred_lft 86140sec
    inet6 fe80::64a2:b7fe:c028:e261/64 scope link
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
3: bridge0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether c2:4f:4f:ed:e8:b3 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet6 fe80::c04f:4fff:feed:e8b3/64 scope link proto kernel_ll
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
5: vnet1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue master bridge0 state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether fe:54:00:14:14:b9 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet6 fe80::fc54:ff:fe14:14b9/64 scope link proto kernel_ll
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever


As testing virt-manager by running the VM (before hand I changed to bridge0 the interface in the configuration:

Code:
<interface type="bridge">
  <mac address="52:54:00:14:14:b9"/>
  <source bridge="bridge0"/>
  <model type="virtio"/>
  <address type="pci" domain="0x0000" bus="0x01" slot="0x00" function="0x0"/>
</interface>


In /etc/systemd/network I have these files:

- 25-bridge0.netdev:
Code:

[NetDev]
Name=bridge0
Kind=bridge


- 25-bridge0-enp8s0.netdev:
Code:
[Match]
name=enp8s0

[Network]
Bridge=bridge0


- 25-bridge0.network
Code:
[Match]
Name=bridge0

[Network]
DHCP=yes


First error, 25-bridge0-enp8s0.netdev should be named with .network, not .netdev.

Then, I tried to understood which was the proper order, because even if the archlinux's wiki speak about alphabetical order, they should have named in consequence their file example with number, as 0-… 1-…, because it seems they are not presented in the right order.

So far as I understand, the .netdev file in charge to raise an interface (here, bridge0) should be read first, to create the bridge 0 interface.

Then it should be the file connecting bridge0 to enp8s0, and finally the one giving an IP address with DHCPd to bridge0. Correct ?

Thus, I tried this order:

- 0-bridge0.netdev : Create the bridge0 interfaces
Code:

[NetDev]
Name=bridge0
Kind=bridge


- 1-bridge0-enp8s0.network : Connect enp8s0 to the bridge0 interfaces, the one that should got an IP
Code:

[Match]
name=enp8s0

[Network]
Bridge=bridge0


- 2-bridge0.network : Then, finally, giving an IP to bridge0, and thus, allowing enp8s0 to get the network as well
Code:

[Match]
Name=bridge0

[Network]
DHCP=yes


But, despite trying or rebooting the whole system, this is my ip a:
Code:

1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host noprefixroute
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: enp8s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc fq_codel state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 70:85:c2:8d:11:c5 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.1.103/24 brd 192.168.1.255 scope global dynamic noprefixroute enp8s0
       valid_lft 42821sec preferred_lft 37421sec
    inet6 2a01:e0a:47d:1160:caee:5d3c:2295:7499/64 scope global dynamic mngtmpaddr noprefixroute
       valid_lft 86385sec preferred_lft 86385sec
    inet6 fe80::64a2:b7fe:c028:e261/64 scope link
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
3: bridge0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether c2:4f:4f:ed:e8:b3 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff


1/ enp8s0 get the IP, meh !
2/ bridge0 still DOWN

Is there something I missed ? The order of files maybe ?


I also tried to revert the order of 2 to 1, and 1 to 2, so I tried that order as well:

- 0-bridge0.netdev
- 1-bridge0.network
- 2-bridge0-enp8s0.network

Not better.

Any ideas about what I'm missing ?

Good things is it doesn't break my networking for now.

Regards,
GASPARD DE RENEFORT Kévin
_________________
wiki/User:Kgdrenefort/captain_logs My system info
G. does not have problems, only learning opportunities. - NeddyS.
If your installation isn't valuable to you, feel free to continue to ignore the instructions. - figue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kgdrenefort
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2023
Posts: 247
Location: Somewhere in the 77

PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2024 12:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I might have found the problem, dhcpd.

After keeping mixing my files order, trying to replace DHCP=yes by ipv4, googling, crying… I had an idea.

And if dhcpd was adding stuff unwanted ? I disabled at boot, and how, surprise:

Code:
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host noprefixroute
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: enp8s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc fq_codel master bridge0 state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 70:85:c2:8d:11:c5 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
3: bridge0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether c2:4f:4f:ed:e8:b3 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.1.44/24 metric 1024 brd 192.168.1.255 scope global dynamic bridge0
       valid_lft 43187sec preferred_lft 43187sec
    inet6 2a01:e0a:47d:1160:c04f:4fff:feed:e8b3/64 scope global dynamic mngtmpaddr noprefixroute
       valid_lft 86387sec preferred_lft 86387sec
    inet6 fe80::c04f:4fff:feed:e8b3/64 scope link proto kernel_ll
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever


Code:
default via 192.168.1.254 dev bridge0 proto dhcp src 192.168.1.44 metric 1024
192.168.1.0/24 dev bridge0 proto kernel scope link src 192.168.1.44 metric 1024
192.168.1.254 dev bridge0 proto dhcp scope link src 192.168.1.44 metric 1024


And my internet seems to be very ok. I changed my IP, I could probably set the same MAC address to my bridge0 than my enp8s0 to keep stuff like they were on my LAN.

For further reader, as me, this is the actual state of my /etc/systemd/network files configuration:

- 0-bridge0.netdev
Code:

[NetDev]
Name=bridge0
Kind=bridge



- 1-bridge0-enp8s0.network
Code:

[Match]
Name=enp8s0

[Network]
Bridge=bridge0



-2-bridge0.network
Code:

[Match]
Name=bridge0

[Network]
DHCP=ipv4


So, first file create the bridge0 interface, as a bridge.

Second is connecting enp8s0 traffic to bridge0.

Then, finally, DHCP is asked to gives an IPv4 address to bridge0, sharing connection with the enp8s0 device.

Correct ?

----

As for my VM, now it gets an IP for enp1s0 which is 192.168.1.50/24, did not pushed any more test, but it was not even reaching that point. I could also try this… https://bpa.st/LYFA from the VM.

Now, as you can see at the beginning of this answer, enp8s0 does not get an IP any more !

Thanks for your time, will add [RESOLVED] into the topic name, and not coming back unless I missed something I did not realized yet !

Regards,
GASPARD DE RENEFORT Kévin
_________________
wiki/User:Kgdrenefort/captain_logs My system info
G. does not have problems, only learning opportunities. - NeddyS.
If your installation isn't valuable to you, feel free to continue to ignore the instructions. - figue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum