Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Installing to a RAID (AMD64)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Asherian
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 4:44 am    Post subject: Installing to a RAID (AMD64) Reply with quote

I'm installing Gentoo using the AMD64 LiveCD from Feb 2nd on an ASUS K8V Deluxe with an Athlon 64 3200+.

I'm using the VT8237 southbridge and a RAID0 with it for my two 120GB SATA HDs. fdisk only shows a hda, hde, and hdg drive.

hda is 71MB with no partitions, it says (I've no idea where it got that from). hde has 2 partitions, hde1 and hde2, but none of them seem to do anything.

hdg it says is a single 120GB drive, with no partitions.

My 120GB drives are supposed to act like a single 240GB drive, with 3 total partitions.

It seems that Gentoo can't use the RAID, but can use the SATA drive individually.

"lsmod" lists:
sata_via used by: 0
libata used by: 1 sata_via,[permanent]

How do I enable it to use the RAID? I'm installing using the Feb 2nd LiveCD for AMD64.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Asherian
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2004 10:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I checked my dmesg, and it does look like it's loading the correct drivers, at least for SATA.

Specifically:

VIA8237SATA: IDE controller at PCI slot 000:00:0f.0
VIA8237SATA: chipset revision 128
VIA8237SATA: 100% native mode on irq 10
ide2: BM-DMA at 0xd000-0xd007, BIOS settings: hdeio, hdfio
ide3: BM-DMA at 0xd008-0xd00f, BIOS settings: hdgio, hdhio
hde: ST31320027AS, ATA DISK drive
hdg: ST31220027AS, ATA DISK drive
VP_IDE...
...
BP_IDE: VIA vt8237 (rev 00) IDE UDMA133 controller on pci000:00:0f.1
ide0:.....
....
md: Autodetecting RAID arrays.
md: autorun ...
md: ... autorun DONE.
...

When I look at /proc/partitions:
major minor # blocks name
33 0 117220824 hde
33 1 211905251 hde1
33 2 1 hde2
34 0 117220824 hdg

So it looks like it detects the RAID fine (hde1 looks like the full RAID, hde and hdg being the individual drives), but it doesn't seem to be able to read the partition table? I've set up 3 partitions on the RAID, 20GB to Linux, 1GB to swap, and the rest as NTFS.

I also tried the new Fedora test (1.90), and it seems to be doing the same thing -- Disk Druid said it couldn't read the partition tables on any of my drives.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Danger_Mouse
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Nov 2003
Posts: 5
Location: Reading, UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 10:29 pm    Post subject: RAID 0 on amd64 Reply with quote

Take a look at
http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=68706

I'm running software RAID 0 using the VIA 8237 southbridge. You don't need to set up the array in the BIOS, just follow this howto.
Software RAID on there is pretty fast, here is my timing:

root@Mr_Freeze matt # hdparm -t -T /dev/md0

/dev/md0:
Timing buffer-cache reads: 1180 MB in 2.00 seconds = 588.62 MB/sec
Timing buffered disk reads: 264 MB in 3.00 seconds = 87.98 MB/sec

HTH
_________________
M@t
---------------------------------------------------
Athlon 64 3000+
ASUS k8V-Deluxe
1.5 Gb PC3200
2x 80Gb Maxtor SATA RAID 0
GeForce4 Ti 4200 128 Mb
Blue Lights!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Asherian
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, but I dualboot with Windows XP and Linux, so a software RAID using Linux isn't any good for me. :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum