Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Wayland compositors and X use flag
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  

Should compositors use xwayland flag instead of X?
yes
60%
 60%  [ 3 ]
no
40%
 40%  [ 2 ]
Total Votes : 5

setan
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2024 9:45 am    Post subject: Wayland compositors and X use flag Reply with quote

Hello,
I am new to Gentoo and I am learning the USE flag system.
I am running Hyprland and recently I needed to launch an app that dosen't support wayland.

I needed to rebuild hyprland with the X flag enabled -- that pulled in Xwayland.

I have checked the USE flag index and I have noticed that usage of X and xwayland for native wayland compositors is inconsistent:
- Weston ("best" wayland implementation) uses xwayland
- wlroots, hikari, sway, hyprland (not on list) and enlightenment (DE) use X for what essentialy is xwayland support.

I think that this might be misleading and impractical.
1. Misleading: -- "I am building Sway with X flag enabled, so of course it supports X" (not xwayland) -- user might even think that it can function as a native X app, which would be understandable for users coming from DEs, where Mutter and Kwin have native X support.
2. Impractical -- if one wants to run a Wayland compositor (WM) with xwayland support, as of right now the easiest way to do that is using the X flag globally, which introduces a lot of bloat.

I think that differencieating between X and xwayland for compositors would be a good thing.
What do you think about it?

PS. I want to try the poll thing
wanne32
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2024 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

xwayland is an full blown X.Org-Server running on top of a wayland session. Its not "just" xwayland support. Its X11 with additional features. Not less.
Quote: