Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved]Black screen when booting
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
frozenpenguin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Feb 2024
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2024 4:44 am    Post subject: [Solved]Black screen when booting Reply with quote

I am booting using an EFI Stub and getting a black screen. I have already searched the internet and tried its various methods in an attempt to solve this issue yet the problem still persists. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
fstab
config
lspci


Last edited by frozenpenguin on Thu Feb 15, 2024 12:50 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54359
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2024 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

frozenpenguin,

Welcome to Gentoo.

Your lspci is missing. There are two copies of fstab.
Please provide
Code:
lspci -nnk

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 4283
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2024 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

frozenpenguin,

I guess it is your missing Framebuffer:
Code:
# CONFIG_FB_VESA is not set
# CONFIG_FB_EFI is not set

See more here: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger/Tutorials/Manual_Configuring_Kernel_Version_6.6#Part_3_-_Must_Haves
_________________
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54359
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2024 10:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pietinger,

Its more than that. i915=Y should give a framebuffer console if it starts without firmware.

EFI/VESA wlll only be used until the DRM framebuffer takes over. Its quite possible that will be before anything is sent to the console.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frozenpenguin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Feb 2024
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2024 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The reason for the black screen seems to be as pietinger said: CONFIG_FB_VESA and CONFIG_FB_EFI not being set. In the installed os however, iwlwifi doesn't seem to show up under the network controller when using lspci from the installed os yet show up under it when the command is run using the live cd. Meaning that I don't have internet even though the option is modulated in the kernel. The filesystem of the installed os also seems to be read only for some reason. Help would once again be appreciated.
lspci -nnk
new config
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grknight
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Feb 2015
Posts: 1695

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2024 2:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

frozenpenguin wrote:
The filesystem of the installed os also seems to be read only for some reason. Help would once again be appreciated.

This is often a result of not configuring or a typo in /etc/fstab. Though there may be other reasons, a bad fstab is more likely on a new install.

You can force read-write by doing: mount -o remount,rw /
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frozenpenguin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Feb 2024
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2024 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

when I used
Quote:
mount -o remount,rw /
I get
Code:
mount: /: mount point not mounted or bad option.
dmesg(1) may have more information after failed mount system call
[/code][/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54359
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2024 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

frozenpenguin,

Code:
dmesg(1) may have more information after failed mount system call


What is at the end of dmesg?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frozenpenguin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Feb 2024
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2024 1:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The end of dmsg is:
Code:
xfs: unknown parameter 'default'

Also I get this when booting:
Code:
Remounting root filesystem read/write ...   
mount: /: mount point not mounted or bad option
dmesg(1) may have more more information after failed mount system call
Root filesystem could not be mounted read/write
Remounting filesystems
mount: /: mount point not mounted or bad option
dmesg(1) may have more more information after failed mount system call

default dmesg after booting without any entering any mount commands
Code:
[1.014161] XFS (nvme0n1p6): Mounting V5 Filesystem 2a859d7c-a64c-4799-889e-5d06a7303267
[1.021562] XFS (nvme0n1p6): Ending clean mount
[2.867054] xfs: Unknown parameter 'default'
[2.878253] xfs: Unknown parameter 'default'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 21753

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2024 1:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

default is not a valid mount option in /etc/fstab. Did you mean defaults?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
figueroa
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Aug 2005
Posts: 2965
Location: Edge of marsh USA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2024 4:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pietinger wrote:
...
See more here: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger/Tutorials/Manual_Configuring_Kernel_Version_6.6#Part_3_-_Must_Haves

I had not encountered this series of yours until seeing this post. After reading quickly through it and the base article at https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger/Tutorials/Manual_kernel_configuration I can see that your efforts will help me further refine my own kernel.

Thanks for your work.
_________________
Andy Figueroa
hp pavilion hpe h8-1260t/2AB5; spinning rust x3
i7-2600 @ 3.40GHz; 16 gb; Radeon HD 7570
amd64/23.0/split-usr/desktop (stable), OpenRC, -systemd -pulseaudio -uefi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 4283
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2024 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

figueroa wrote:
Thanks for your work.

You are very Welcome ... and thank you for your kind words. :D
_________________
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frozenpenguin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Feb 2024
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2024 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After fixing the typo in fstab, the system now boots correctly. Thank you all for your assistance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grknight
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Feb 2015
Posts: 1695

PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2024 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FWIW "defaults,noatime" is the same as "noatime" because "defaults" is a column placeholder when there is nothing else to put there.
Having "defaults" is a noop so it will neither hurt nor help if there is another option next to it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum