Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Fatal error: You do not have enough continuous available mem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dilbot
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Feb 2004
Posts: 110
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2004 2:03 am    Post subject: Fatal error: You do not have enough continuous available mem Reply with quote

On an E420 4Gb DRAM/4CPU system I get the following when booting from CD:

boot: gentoo-smp
..... Could not find any available memory for initial ramdisk
..... Fatal error: you do not have enough continuous available memory for such initial
ramdisk

memory check runs OK.

Any ideas?

Cheers,
dilbot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trooper82
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Mar 2003
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not sure if this will help you, but it helped me with a similar booting issue...

mem=exactmap mem=640K@0 mem=159M@1M

see the links below

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=121060&

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=13594&
_________________
The band is just fantastic
That's really what I think
Oh, by the way, which one's PINK?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dilbot
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Feb 2004
Posts: 110
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2004 4:03 am    Post subject: [more info] Fatal error: You do not have enough continuous Reply with quote

An additional note. Just tried this on another machine, with the same result at 4Gb.
Going down to 2Gb seems OK. Looks like a high-memory level problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
highrez
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Feb 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2004 7:03 pm    Post subject: Boot solaris first. Reply with quote

You're not going to like this, but the issue seems to be related to how memory is initialized (i read this on a SuSE mailing list archive). I read that if you started solaris first, then hit stop+a and booted linux it would work... And after trying I can say it did work for me - so it might work for you. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dilbot
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Feb 2004
Posts: 110
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2004 9:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This sounds like Sun ;-) It's probably easier for most people to take the memory out, do the build, and then re-insert the memory, which works fine too.

I'd like to say how pleased I am with my E420 Gentoo install - it's better than Solaris for
what I'm working on. I appreciate all the effort that the dev guys have put in to make
Gentoo Sparc a good system, and all the good replies I've gotten to my posts to this forum.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum