Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
general "does Gentoo do this..." questions...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
klieber
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2002 8:13 pm    Post subject: general "does Gentoo do this..." questions... Reply with quote

I've been using Debian Linux for about 6 months now and feel pretty comfortable with its quirks. I'm interested in Gentoo primarily because of the increased customization capabilities. I've read most of the documentation on gentoo.org and still have a few questions.

I'm hoping someone can answer the following questions regarding what Gentoo can/can't do: (note: I reference the way Debian does things only because that's what I'm familiar with -- not because that's how I think things should be done)

• Can you put a hold on certain Gentoo..umm..packages to prevent them from getting upgraded? (is 'package' the right word?) Something like 'echo "libc6 hold" | dpkg --set-selections'

• Does Gentoo's dependency system work at the version level or just at the program level? (in other words, can you make something dependent on KDE 3.0 or 2.2.2 instead of just KDE)

• Does Gentoo adhere to FHS standards?

• How time-consuming is it to write a Gentoo package?

My question regarding how hard it is to write Gentoo packages stems from the fact that, with Debian, the process is extremely time consuming, which tends to delay the release of new packages, especially larger ones like XFree86 and KDE3.

Finally, from anyone else who has transferred over from Debian, what have you found that's really cool about Gentoo and what have you found that's lacking?

Sorry for all the questions -- I'm still waiting for 'emerge system' to finish on my poor old PII 300. (and then I have to install KDE :))

--kurt
fghellar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva