Quick Search: in
X windows flashes me
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
omycrap

PostPosted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 11:01 pm    Post subject: X windows flashes me Reply with quote

ok im a major newb so needless t say ive been having problems with installation, but after a week i thought i finally had it all up and rnning i had installed x and kde, but i set x to start at boot but unfortunately it just flickers at me and doesnt don anything just flicker....flicker....flicker. I think i may know what the problem is (altho i probably dont) but i cant get back to a console! ctrl alt backspace doesnt work, how do i get back to a console so i can actually use my system? pleez help im going crazy. :cry:
blunted
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ctrl + alt + f2
omycrap

PostPosted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 11:28 pm    Post subject: thx but nope Reply with quote

thanx i tried i tried it out just now but unfortunately it didnt do anything.
bonto
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Aug 31, 2002 12:16 am    Post subject: just for reference Reply with quote

I decided to register because i have a feeling illl be using this a lot :wink: so i am no longer omycrap guest i am bonto n00b, why? i dunno. anywho thought i'd say that so if nyone tries to help and i reply they wont go "who the heck is his guy?" alho really ur probably intelligent enough to figure it out but still i was bored...
bonto
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Aug 31, 2002 1:02 am    Post subject: ctrl+alt+f2 Reply with quote

so that fianaly worked because the flicker lasted long enough for the x commands to work and it proceeded to boot me into another console... Unfortunately within hirty seconds it proceeded to try to boot x again........ so i think im f***ed.
ebrostig
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva