Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
can't start a graphical session
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
2handband
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2014
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It was a couple of problems. First of all, I had my modules file screwed up (which was probably the original problem in the first place). Secondly, all the kernel compiles I'd done had left kernel images all over hell and gone, and I didn't understand that I had to reconfigure grub each time; I thought make install would just replace the old kernel image and grub would use the new one. Oops. I wound up just getting rid of all those kernels, reemerging gentoo - sources (this time without the genkernel; that thing sucks), configuring and compiling it manually (my first kernel roll in 8 years of Linux usage!), redoing the modules file and reconfiguring grub. I'm now sitting here looking at my nice shiny kde desktop. Thanks for the responses! If anyone is still feeling helpful I now can't get my wifi working and have a thread over I. Networking...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smlbstcbr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 5:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hehe, I usually don't add entries to GRUB everytime I need to recompile the Kernel, I just name the new kernel like the old one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54237
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

smlbstcbr,

That works until you make a broken kernel and you can't find a new one to boot with.
Sometimes Linus will make a broken kernel for you.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
cd /boot
mv bzImage bzImage.old
cd -
cp arch/x86/boot/bzImage /boot/bzImage

That's what I do. There are obviously two items in GRUB menu.
_________________
My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tclover
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Apr 2011
Posts: 516

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
Code:
cd /boot
mv bzImage bzImage.old
cd -
cp arch/x86/boot/bzImage /boot/bzImage

That's what I do. There are obviously two items in GRUB menu.


And why you guys keep copying that bzImage at hand... without any version string and proper name? You're looking for BIG TROUBLES or something?! Just asking, no pun or ofense intended. I mean, while you're in `/usr/src/linux' what prevent you to...
Code:
mount /boot
make install
make modules_install # I guess everyone does this, right?
make headers_install

What prevent from just rolling the other essential steps/cmds after building a new kernel?
Just asking.

PS: `make install' will properly install a new kernel `vmlinuz-$KV' and move the old to`vmlinuz-$KV{,.old}'... I guess anybody know this, at least anybody building a kernel at hand and who know what [s]he's doing.
_________________
home/:mkinitramfs-ll/:supervision/:e-gtk-theme/:overlay/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2014 1:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you please define BIG TROUBLES? When my newest kernel has always the same name I do not have to reconfigure my bootloader, same when my backup kernel has always the same name.
_________________
My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tclover
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Apr 2011
Posts: 516

PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2014 2:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
Can you please define BIG TROUBLES? When my newest kernel has always the same name I do not have to reconfigure my bootloader, same when my backup kernel has always the same name.


Fine. Lucky you! Well, you may read the previous post of NeddyS before you run out of luck. (pun intended)
_________________
home/:mkinitramfs-ll/:supervision/:e-gtk-theme/:overlay/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 2575
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2014 2:29 am    Post subject: ><)))°€ Reply with quote

tclover wrote:
Fine. Lucky you! Well, you may read the previous post of NeddyS before you run out of luck. (pun intended)

I do basically what Jaglover does, and never had any issues due to it. Not sure why I do it; it's just how I always did do it!

I believe the problem NeddySeagoon is referring to is only a problem if one doesn't keep backupses of the old, working kernel(s) that they can boot in case the new one is a doozy. ^^
_________________
Kindest of regardses.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum