Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
ABI_X86="(64) (-32) (-x32)" switch problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nanostallmann
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Oct 2014
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2014 7:52 pm    Post subject: ABI_X86="(64) (-32) (-x32)" switch problem Reply with quote

Hi all,
I have a problem with libXft it's installed with ABI_X86="(64) (-32) (-x32)" compilation switch but I need for the 32bit version.
I tryed with
Code:

ABI_X86="(64) (32) (-x32)" emerge -a libXft


but the output is
Code:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R    ] x11-libs/libXft-2.3.1-r1  USE="-static-libs" ABI_X86="(64) (-32) (-x32)" 0 kB


As you can see emerge wants rebuild the lib with the same switch of the last time.

How can I include both the architectures ???

Thank you,
regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thumper
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Dec 2002
Posts: 552
Location: Venice FL

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2014 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You may need to add:
Code:
-abi_x86_32

to the /etc/portage/profile/use.mask file.

also it could require it as a USE flag such as:
Code:
USE="abi_x86_32" emerge -av libXft


I put my USE flags for abi_x86_32 fun into the "/etc/portage/package.use/abi_x86_32.use" file to preserve my sanity.

Good luck.

George
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nanostallmann
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Oct 2014
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sat Nov 15, 2014 11:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thumper wrote:
You may need to add:
Code:
-abi_x86_32

to the /etc/portage/profile/use.mask file.

also it could require it as a USE flag such as:
Code:
USE="abi_x86_32" emerge -av libXft


I put my USE flags for abi_x86_32 fun into the "/etc/portage/package.use/abi_x86_32.use" file to preserve my sanity.

Good luck.

George


Hi,
sorry for my extreme delay to reply...
Yes if I try to add -abi_x86_32 switch in /profile/use.mask the result is:
Code:

USE="abi_x86_32" emerge -a libXft

 * IMPORTANT: 1 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
 * Use eselect news to read news items.


These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R    ] app-arch/bzip2-1.0.6-r6  ABI_X86="32*"
[ebuild   R    ] dev-libs/expat-2.1.0-r3  ABI_X86="32*"
[ebuild   R    ] sys-libs/zlib-1.2.8-r1  ABI_X86="32*"
[ebuild   R    ] x11-proto/xproto-7.0.25  ABI_X86="32*"
[ebuild   R    ] x11-proto/xextproto-7.3.0  ABI_X86="32*"
[ebuild   R    ] x11-proto/inputproto-2.3  ABI_X86="32*"
[ebuild   R    ] x11-proto/kbproto-1.0.6-r1  ABI_X86="32*"
[ebuild   R    ] dev-libs/libpthread-stubs-0.3-r1  ABI_X86="32*"
[ebuild   R    ] x11-proto/renderproto-0.11.1-r1  ABI_X86="32*"
[ebuild   R    ] x11-proto/xf86bigfontproto-1.2.0-r1  ABI_X86="32*"
[ebuild   R    ] media-libs/libpng-1.6.12  ABI_X86="32*"
[ebuild   R    ] x11-libs/libXau-1.0.8  ABI_X86="32*"
[ebuild   R    ] x11-libs/libXdmcp-1.1.1-r1  ABI_X86="32*"
[ebuild   R    ] media-libs/freetype-2.5.3-r1  ABI_X86="32*"
[ebuild   R    ] media-libs/fontconfig-2.10.92  ABI_X86="32*"
[ebuild   R    ] x11-proto/xcb-proto-1.10  ABI_X86="32*"
[ebuild   R    ] x11-libs/libxcb-1.10  ABI_X86="32*"
[ebuild   R    ] x11-libs/libX11-1.6.2  ABI_X86="32*"
[ebuild   R    ] x11-libs/libXext-1.3.2  ABI_X86="32*"
[ebuild   R    ] x11-libs/libXrender-0.9.8  ABI_X86="32*"
[ebuild   R    ] x11-libs/libXft-2.3.1-r1  ABI_X86="32*"



Before proced I have another question this means that emerge rebuilds this package adding the support for 32 bits and preserve the 64 bit support?? or the rebuild can compromise the system sanity?
thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thumper
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Dec 2002
Posts: 552
Location: Venice FL

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 12:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it just adds it, 64 bit is preserved.

If you use
Code:
emerge -av
you should be able to see what its going to build with


George
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nanostallmann
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Oct 2014
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2014 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thumper wrote:
it just adds it, 64 bit is preserved.

If you use
Code:
emerge -av
you should be able to see what its going to build with


George


Yes work properly for me!
thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2011
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2014 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i noticed that i needed to put the ~amd64 keyword for every package i wanted to compile with abi_x86_32.
without that, no matter what i tried with use-flsags it would only compile 64 for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6098
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2014 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

klz wrote:
i noticed that i needed to put the ~amd64 keyword for every package i wanted to compile with abi_x86_32.
without that, no matter what i tried with use-flsags it would only compile 64 for me.


I had to put every package that I wanted to use abi_x86_32 with, in the keywords file, even when it was a stable package.
I assume something very screwy with the way the devs have set up masking for it.
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, 6.1 zen kernel
gcc 13, profile 17.0 (custom bare multilib), openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 6196

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2014 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
klz wrote:
i noticed that i needed to put the ~amd64 keyword for every package i wanted to compile with abi_x86_32.
without that, no matter what i tried with use-flsags it would only compile 64 for me.


I had to put every package that I wanted to use abi_x86_32 with, in the keywords file, even when it was a stable package.
I assume something very screwy with the way the devs have set up masking for it.


:roll: again, entries in {package.,}use.stable.mask trump those in {package.,}use.mask.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6098
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2014 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

klz wrote:
i noticed that i needed to put the ~amd64 keyword for every package i wanted to compile with abi_x86_32.
without that, no matter what i tried with use-flsags it would only compile 64 for me.


I went back and read the first few posts and now I've removed many entries from my keyword file.

This post helped
thumper wrote:
You may need to add:
Code:
-abi_x86_32

to the /etc/portage/profile/use.mask file.

also it could require it as a USE flag such as:
Code:
USE="abi_x86_32" emerge -av libXft


I already had the abi_x86_32 flag in package.use I just wasn't aware of profile/use.mask.

Thanks thumper

Edit to add: They do mention use.mask in http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Multilib_System_without_emul-linux_Packages#Apply_the_abi_x86_32_flag
I just somehow missed it.
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, 6.1 zen kernel
gcc 13, profile 17.0 (custom bare multilib), openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum