View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
pavel_prochazka
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2014 8:44 am    Post subject: Security during emerge --sync Reply with quote

Hi there,
Just a short question about protection of mirrors. I mean when I provide

Code:

emerge --sync

I check carefully where the sync server is located. For example I cancel the synchronization process, when the server is situated in Ukraine (especially the eastern part). My question is if I'm paranoid that somebody can insert some a harmful software into a particular mirror such that it will be scheduled to merge after synchronization (I have no background in the network security - I'm just an inferior Gentoo user 8) ).

Pavel
apathetic
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2014 12:11 pm    Post subject: Re: Security during emerge --sync Reply with quote

pavel_prochazka wrote:
Hi there,
Just a short question about protection of mirrors. I mean when I provide

Code:

emerge --sync

I check carefully where the sync server is located. For example I cancel the synchronization process, when the server is situated in Ukraine (especially the eastern part). My question is if I'm paranoid that somebody can insert some a harmful software into a particular mirror such that it will be scheduled to merge after synchronization (I have no background in the network security - I'm just an inferior Gentoo user 8) ).

Pavel

Actually, this is quite possible.
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2014 12:28 pm    Post subject: Re: Security during emerge --sync Reply with quote

apathetic wrote:

Actually, this is quite possible.

What an apathetic reply. :mrgreen: