Chromium vs Firefox
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Holysword
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2014 4:17 am    Post subject: Chromium vs Firefox Reply with quote

I've been wondering what you guys use, and why?

I would like to hear your opinion, I am considering to change my omni browser its been a while. Chromium is acting weird recently in my machine, and I've been wondering if Firefox is expected to be more robust (it seems to be here). The problem is that I like syncing all my options across all my devices (Android tablets and phones and 2 laptops).

Well, disregard the title of the thread. If you use other browser your comment would also be appreciated.
Woofie
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2014 7:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, I have been using firefox for several years with no problem.
FF allow you to sync through devices as well.
The Doctor

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2014 7:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have both. Chromium has a nicer feel for me, although I can't quantify why. It has been rather crashy lately and I'm not sure if the problem is in the kernel or browser. I just kind of live with it.

Firefox is, and always has been, rock solid. Note sure why, but it always feels like a truck to me. Gets the job done, but it just isn't any fun.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2014 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I agree with the above, Firefox has that stale Netscape feel to it but just works, and Chromium has decent performance (especially on things Firefox chokes on like GL and audio), but is very brittle.