Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
how important is NLS (native language support)??
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
farrenheit
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:35 pm    Post subject: how important is NLS (native language support)?? Reply with quote

:?:

I'm a newbie to Gentoo, finally trying to install it on my system using the LiveDVD now (had been trying in VMware and getting kernel panic errors I think, or VFS errors, can't remember exactly).

I'm editing my make.conf and about to emerge gentoo-sources for the first time.

When I wanted to check out what USE flags were set globally:

Code:
emerge --info

I see among the USE flags "nls" for Native Language Support. I feel it's safe to remove this if I never use anything other than English, but I wanted to know if anyone has experienced that nls is needed for some important things, even if I never want another language, and that if I remove nls, it will likely break my system down the road.

Anyone know? I tried searching the forums for "nls" and "native language support" and didn't find much relevant hits. Searching google for "the importance of native language support" didn't help much either.
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

farrenheit,

I think its needed for vfat. Thats all versions of the FAT filesystem. If you will never use VFAT you probly don't need it.

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Dustbin to Installing Gentoo.

Sorry about that - I clicked on the wrong button

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups