Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE F5 in portage stable
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
natrix
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Aug 2013
Posts: 285

PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2014 12:30 am    Post subject: KDE F5 in portage stable Reply with quote

I have a question of curiosity :P

Does anyone know when will KDE F5 in the stable portage tree?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bec
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Sep 2004
Posts: 161
Location: Cali - Colombia

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2014 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi natrix,

I don't know about dates, but following the instructions in:

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/KDE/Overlay#Frameworks_5

I am finishing compiling and installing kde frameworks 5.1

As I use kde4, I had to unmerge kactivities:4 first to resolve a blocking.
_________________
abe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
natrix
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Aug 2013
Posts: 285

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2014 11:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi bec!

Thanks for the link and your advice.

I would not install unstable software on gentoo.

¿KDE-F5 looks good? :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10127
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It depends on when someone with the knowledge and permissions to do it gets interested in it.

But, since not even Qt5 is in portage (not even hard masked) I guess it won't be anytime soon. Note that current kde sc stable in Gentoo is 4.12, which is near of being one year old by now. Then, you can guess what will take to get 4.14 to stable. Then you can start guessing what will take to go for 5.x.

Note that for something to get into portage, there's a strict policy. First, all the dependencies must be in portage, second, there musn't have been a serious bug report about any of the components for some time (2 months ring a bell, but it's been long since I looked into that stuff).
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 1467
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2014 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bec wrote:
As I use kde4, I had to unmerge kactivities:4 first to resolve a blocking.
Just re-emerge with USE="minimal".
_________________
systemd - The biggest fallacies
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mir3x
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Jun 2012
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2014 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Im trying to install kf5 and there is some issue with polkit-qt
It wants with flag +qt5
eix says it exists:
Code:
eix  polkit-qt
[I] sys-auth/polkit-qt
     Available versions:  0.103.0 (~)0.112.0 (**)9999[1] {debug examples +qt4 qt5}


but equery uses polkit-qt, says it doesnt exists:
Code:
 * Found these USE flags for sys-auth/polkit-qt-9999:
 U I
 - - debug    : Enable extra debug codepaths, like asserts and extra output. If you want to get meaningful backtraces see
                http://www.gentoo.org/proj/en/qa/backtraces.xml
 - - examples : Install examples, usually source code
 + + qt4      : Add support for the Qt GUI/Application Toolkit version 4.x


And emerge @kde-frameworks-5.1, failes with :
Code:
emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "sys-auth/polkit-qt[qt5]".
(dependency required by "kde-frameworks/kauth-5.1.0::kde[policykit]" [ebuild])
(dependency required by "kde-frameworks/kconfigwidgets-5.1.0::kde" [ebuild])
(dependency required by "kde-frameworks/plasma-5.1.0::kde" [ebuild])
(dependency required by "@kde-frameworks-5.1" [argument])


Any suggestions ?

EDIT: found answer on forums here
echo -qt5 >> /etc/portage/profile/use.mask

EDIT2: NOW another question, how do I run KF5 ???

nvm, KF5 made my qt5 fonts really unreadable, couldnt restore them, and I need qt5 badly, so I trashed kf5 and at least fonts are normal again
_________________
Installation aborted to prevent system self-destruction
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Herring42
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 372
Location: Buckinghamshire

PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2014 10:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd still like to know how I run KDE 5!


I have it installed, but how do I get it to work?!
_________________
"The problem with quotes on the internet is that it is difficult
to determine whether or not they are genuine." -- Abraham Lincoln
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mir3x
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Jun 2012
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2014 11:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

install @plasma-something also ( dont remeber exact name - it was 5.0 version then)

But it was crashing very often, I uninstalled quickly ( cause I had to unmerge many kde4 packages, so I kicked whole overlay out, and backed to kde4 )
I tried also that @plasma 5.999 but it failed to compile.

Anyway kf5 looks very promising, Ill try again maybe in 2 months :D
_________________
Installation aborted to prevent system self-destruction
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum