Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Gnome-3.11: can't logout, sliders don't work, etc.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
NP_complete
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 9:52 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Gnome-3.11: can't logout, sliders don't work, etc. Reply with quote

This is my first time installing Gnome 3 and Gentoo on a laptop. Gnome starts fine, but I cannot logout: clicking User -> Logout produces nothing. (No window pop up, the way it normally does this). That panel normally has two sliders - for sound level and screen brightness - but in my case, it has THREE, though none work, and I'm not even sure what the third slider is for. No Wifi expander either, so no way to choose a network. Btw, the Gnome does *not* freeze or visibly malfunction when I try to logout or move a slider, and I cannot really see any error message. Perhaps I'm not looking in the right places.

I initially emerged gnome-light but then unmerged it. I wonder if I'm inadvertently using some of its functionality. But the funny thing is: it was actually working better than the full version.

Many thanks in advance.

Last edited by NP_complete on Sun Oct 19, 2014 11:15 am; edited 1 time in total
epsilon72
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you booting with systemd instead of openrc?

GNOME 3.12 requires systemd, and Gentoo will boot with openrc by default. Make sure you choose the GNOME systemd profile with eselect, and follow the wiki's systemd guide here:
http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Systemd
NP_complete
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2014 4:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote