Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
HELP - can't read EDID from monitor - SOLVED
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 2362
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2014 2:35 am    Post subject: HELP - can't read EDID from monitor - SOLVED Reply with quote

I recently purchased a Dell P2815Q monitor that has very high resolution: 3840 x 2160. It must interface using displayport to achieve this resolution. My Lenovo w530 laptop has a minidisplayport that can connect to it via a minidisplayport to displayport cable, which I am using. The nvidia K100M discrete display controller in the laptop is capable of driving the display in the 3840 x 2160 mode. I have proved this by installing Windows-7 on a different boot disk and using the Dell display.

But under Gentoo, I can connect to the Dell external monitor, but it always comes up in 1024x768 mode. :(

After some investigation, I think the problem is that my Gentoo system cannot read the EDID information from the display.
Code:

onesimus ~ # get-edid | parse-edid
parse-edid: parse-edid version 2.0.0
get-edid: get-edid version 2.0.0

        Performing real mode VBE call
        Interrupt 0x10 ax=0x4f00 bx=0x0 cx=0x0
        Function supported
        Call successful

        VBE version 300
        VBE string at 0x11100 "NVIDIA"

VBE/DDC service about to be called
        Report DDC capabilities

        Performing real mode VBE call
        Interrupt 0x10 ax=0x4f15 bx=0x0 cx=0x0
        Function supported
        Call successful

        Monitor and video card combination does not support DDC1 transfers
        Monitor and video card combination does not support DDC2 transfers
        0 seconds per 128 byte EDID block transfer
        Screen is not blanked during DDC transfer

Reading next EDID block

VBE/DDC service about to be called
        Read EDID

        Performing real mode VBE call
        Interrupt 0x10 ax=0x4f15 bx=0x1 cx=0x0
        Function supported
        Call failed

The EDID data should not be trusted as the VBE call failed
Error: output block unchanged
parse-edid: IO error reading EDID
onesimus ~ #

I suspect if the EDID could be read, it would use the high resolution mode, and not default to 1024x768.

Any idea why I can't read the EDID?
_________________
The MyWord KJV Bible tool is at http://www.elilabs.com/~myword

Foghorn Leghorn is a Warner Bros. cartoon character.


Last edited by Moriah on Fri Aug 22, 2014 4:17 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creaker
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2012
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2014 4:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would try to
a) Configure laptop for switching to external monitor as early as it possible.
b) Retrieve EDID binary under Windows and save it to further use in Linux. Xorg.conf supports 'CustomEDID = /path/to/binary' option.
c) Contact Dell support for this file if it cannot be obtained from Windows.

Added:
http://askubuntu.com/questions/81370/how-to-create-extract-the-edid-for-from-a-monitor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 2362
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2014 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the external monitor configured to come up at boot, even while in the bios.

I used the get-edid and parse-edid programs you posted the link to in my original post.

How do I get the edid binary out of windows? I am not a windows person.
_________________
The MyWord KJV Bible tool is at http://www.elilabs.com/~myword

Foghorn Leghorn is a Warner Bros. cartoon character.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creaker
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2012
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2014 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moriah wrote:

How do I get the edid binary out of windows? I am not a windows person.


Under linux it can be obtained by Nvidia-setting. Select your monitor at left pane and take a look at right - button "Acquire EDID" should did EDID extraction. Save it e.g. at /etc/X11 and add CustomEdid parameter to xorg.conf, something like
Code:
Option         "CustomEDID" "DFP-0:/etc/X11/edid.bin"


I used it without DFP, like
Code:
Option         "CustomEDID" "/etc/X11/edid.bin"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7470

PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2014 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-894978.html
have a look on how i've done it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 2362
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2014 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the good info. I will not be able to try any of this until 2014_08_18 Monday after 23:00 GMT, as my schedule is overloaded until then. :(

I will post what I find after that time.
_________________
The MyWord KJV Bible tool is at http://www.elilabs.com/~myword

Foghorn Leghorn is a Warner Bros. cartoon character.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 2362
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2014 2:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was able to connect my w530 to a 1920x1200 external monitor using the vga connector over the weekend. The vga connector on the w530 uses the discrete nvidia controller, whereas on my w500, the integrated intel controller is used on the vga connector. I observed the same inability to read the EDID information when using the VGA connector as I observed using the mini-displayport connector, so it seems to be nvidia related, not connector related. Just an observation...
_________________
The MyWord KJV Bible tool is at http://www.elilabs.com/~myword

Foghorn Leghorn is a Warner Bros. cartoon character.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54214
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2014 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moriah,

If you are using the nVidia binary blob driver, write a modeline and tell the nVidia driver to use it.
You can use the manual override for various parts of the EDID info or all of it.

Its a while since I've needed it so I'll need to refer you to the readme.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 2362
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2014 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Neddy! Long time no correspond. :oops:

I am not sure which nvidia driver I am using, and its been 5 years since I had to cook up a modeline, so this will be a bit of a research project for me. I just emerged the nvidia driver and built the kernel for nvidia support. I also have the nvidia_fb module, as I needed the framebuffer for the integrated inteel driver, so I suspected I might need it for the nvidia driver as well.

I am travelling today, but maybe tonight I can look into it.

Thanks for the reply! :D
_________________
The MyWord KJV Bible tool is at http://www.elilabs.com/~myword

Foghorn Leghorn is a Warner Bros. cartoon character.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7470

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2014 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You don't need to cook any modeline, if you look better at the link i gave you, you will see the modeline is just given when you read edid.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54214
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2014 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

krinn,

Awww, you are spoiling Moriahs fun. There are lots of ways to get a mode line without resorting to paper and pencil and doing it from first principals.
I'm sure Moriah knows this too.

I was only trying to lead him in the right direction without giving the answer. :)
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 2362
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 3:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Problems are worse than I thought. :(

I had nvidia_fb as a module, which was why I got anything on my X display at all.

It seems that make menuconfig shows me that the nvidia droiver requires x86_32 8O :o :evil:

Is that for real? I can't run my nvidia hardware on a 64 bit system? I can't believe that, but it does not show me any prompt for nvidia under AGP where it says it should, and when I search with slash (/), is says x86_32 is a required prerequisite.

I have a 32 GB 64 bit 8 core laptop, and I have a nice high performance nvidia display controller, and I have a super high resolution monitor, aND i CAN ONLY USE IT IN TOTALLY CRIPPLED 32 BIT MODE? That stinks! :evil:

Now please tell me I am wrong, and why.
_________________
The MyWord KJV Bible tool is at http://www.elilabs.com/~myword

Foghorn Leghorn is a Warner Bros. cartoon character.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7470

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's just drivers for the AGP part of nforce nvidia drivers, that are chipset.

Maybe all nforce supporting 64bits cpu were made with pci-e and some were made with AGP but not to drive any 64bits cpu.
So forcing them X86_32 is then logic and in this case should help 64bits users hinting them if they use a 64bit kernel, they don't have any nforce AGP chipset and should not use that driver.

From a long long time, nvidia blob drivers have in its readme the advise that using two drivers to handle the same card is a bad idea. So if you have any problem with your card, first disable framebuffer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6097
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You shouldn't be using nvidia fb, use the vesa one instead, then load nvidia only for X.
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, 6.1 zen kernel
gcc 13, profile 17.0 (custom bare multilib), openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 2362
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh yeah, forgot to mention, I alsohad this whole setup running under win7-64 and everything worked, so it will work under 64 bit. Now I just need to figure out the magic drivr combination for gentoo.

I guess the first step is to get rid of nvidia_fb, which step I will take tonight.
_________________
The MyWord KJV Bible tool is at http://www.elilabs.com/~myword

Foghorn Leghorn is a Warner Bros. cartoon character.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54214
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moriah,

nvidia-drivers will not load at all when you have nvidiafb in the kernel.
The Xorg.0.log usually tells you.
Further, nvidia-drivers will tell you that you have invalidated your warranty :) if you use any framebuffer console at all but vesa seems to work here.

Lastly, I'm 64 bit /no-multilib and no 32 bit support in the kernel. nvidia-drivers works for me.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 2362
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, Neddy! I will be working on this again tonight. Of course by that time you will be asleep.
_________________
The MyWord KJV Bible tool is at http://www.elilabs.com/~myword

Foghorn Leghorn is a Warner Bros. cartoon character.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 2362
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2014 3:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I took out the nvidia_fb driver, and still could not find an appropriate nvidia driver anywhere in make menuconfig.

I built the kernel anyway and booted it. It is apparently using the framebuffer driver (not the nvidia one), but it is able to display 3840x2160 on the external monitor after I run xrandr to select that mode.

I cannot, however, run more than a single X-server. I normally run 5 of them (I have my reasons; no need to explain here).

The /var/log/Xorg.0.log file shows some problems, as do the other 4 Xorg log files. I could post the Xorg.0.log file here, but it is pretty long.

If I knew what to choose for an nvidia driver, it might work better, but at least I have the display running in 3840x2160 mode now, which is a minor victory in itself. :?
_________________
The MyWord KJV Bible tool is at http://www.elilabs.com/~myword

Foghorn Leghorn is a Warner Bros. cartoon character.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6097
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2014 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is no driver for nvidia (proprietary blob) in the kernel, use vesa.

This is what I had for the part of xorg.conf that deals with the nvidia blob (when I was running it)
Code:
Section "Module"
    Disable        "dri"
    Disable        "dri2"   
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
    Option         "Xinerama" "false"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    Option         "NoLogo" "true"
    Option         "TwinView" "false"
    Option         "RenderAccel" "true"
    Option         "Backingstore" "true"
    Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-0"
EndSection


This should automatically load the nvidia driver when you start X.

Edit to add: you may not need all of what I have there but you should at least need the Driver line under the Device section that's what tells X to use the nvidia module.
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, 6.1 zen kernel
gcc 13, profile 17.0 (custom bare multilib), openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maffblaster
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 May 2007
Posts: 70
Location: Spokane, Washington, USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2014 12:09 am    Post subject: Nvidia-Drivers Issues Reply with quote

Moriah,

I've having the same program as you. I've replied to a few of the forums you've recently started or commented on. Let me know if you get the drivers working. I'll let you know if I get mine working. I've been trying to get them working for a WHILE with little success. It's pretty frustrating. I'm sure you feel the same way. :roll:

I do know for a fact that the above posts are correct, you can't use nvidia-fb while using the nvidia-drivers proprietary package. They conflict. I was told to disable the nouveau driver and any nvidia framebuffer drivers in the kernel config...

Maffblaster
_________________
Lets make Gentoo better together!
wiki: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Maffblaster
blog: http://dev.gentoo.org/~maffblaster/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 2362
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2014 12:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I start X, it fails, saying "Module nvidia not found."

Where do I get module nvidia?
_________________
The MyWord KJV Bible tool is at http://www.elilabs.com/~myword

Foghorn Leghorn is a Warner Bros. cartoon character.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maffblaster
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 May 2007
Posts: 70
Location: Spokane, Washington, USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2014 2:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should be able to get it by
Code:
emerge nvidia-drivers

_________________
Lets make Gentoo better together!
wiki: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Maffblaster
blog: http://dev.gentoo.org/~maffblaster/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 2362
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2014 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I did that, but they don't show up. Is there something in the lernel build I am missing?
_________________
The MyWord KJV Bible tool is at http://www.elilabs.com/~myword

Foghorn Leghorn is a Warner Bros. cartoon character.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6097
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2014 2:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which nvidia chipset do you have and which nvidia drivers are built?
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, 6.1 zen kernel
gcc 13, profile 17.0 (custom bare multilib), openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 2362
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2014 2:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is a Lenovo w530 laptop. It has the K100M chipset. I am not at the machine in question now, so I can't say which drivers are being built. If you look back thru this thread, you will see where I at least got a hi-res picture on the monitor with nvidia_fb, but everyone says don't use that. :?
_________________
The MyWord KJV Bible tool is at http://www.elilabs.com/~myword

Foghorn Leghorn is a Warner Bros. cartoon character.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum