Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] What "-march" to use first time installing Gentoo!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
P1neapple
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2014 9:22 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] What "-march" to use first time installin Reply with quote

Hello! I'm studying the Gentoo Handbook in my spare time :D
I'm following the amd64 handbook but I am concerned about the
Code:
-march
option because k8 is apparently for AMD processors according to this source:
https://gcc.gnu.org/onlinedocs/gcc-4.1.1/gcc/i386-and-x86_002d64-Options.html#i386-and-x86_002d64-Options
However I have an Intel Processor:
Code:
model name   : Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2350M CPU @ 2.30GHz

So is k8 safe to use as according to http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-amd64.xml?part=1&chap=5 ?

Thanks in advance! :wink:

Last edited by P1neapple on Sat Jul 19, 2014 12:20 am; edited 1 time in total
xaviermiller
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2014 9:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Simply use "-march=native -mtune=native", which will give the best for your CPU.
P1neapple
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2014 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah I heard of that option before.

However I am curious if k8 will work on an Intel i3.

PS I also heard that not including march at all will make it default to native. Is this true?
szatox
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2014 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I also heard that not including march at all will make it default to native. Is this true?
it's very likely.
Quote:
However I am curious if k8 will work on an Intel i3.
as long as i3 is at least the same arch as k8. I think that would mean it must be x86_64.