Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] Xorg cannot detect screen
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 283
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 5:22 pm    Post subject: [Solved] Xorg cannot detect screen Reply with quote

It feels like one error after another..
anyways, I followed the guide here https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Xorg/Configuration to install Xorg.

I have a ATI Rage IIc graphics card

I typed in my make.conf:
INPUT_DEVICES="evdev"
VIDEO_CARDS="radeon"

I #echo "x11-base/xorg-server udev" >> /etc/portage/package.use
Then I did # emerge --ask xorg-server
it said I needed to make some USE changes:
..........
= media-libs/mesa-10.0.4 gbm

So I went into package.use and wrote: media-libs/mesa gbm

Then I # emerge media-libs/mesa
Then # emerge --ask xorg-server

After it was done, I did $ startx and it said:
Fatal server error:
(EE) no screens found(EE)

It told me to check http://wiki.x.org
I check it out and found my error: http://www.x.org/wiki/FAQErrorMessages/#index8h2
It told me that it was probably because my xorg.conf doesn't contain the correct driver.
So I tried to use nano to edit xorg.conf, but it seems that I dont have a xorg.conf.
Then it said I can create one by # X -configure
but when I do that it says:

Code:
List of video drivers:
ati
radeon
no devices to configure. Configuration failed
(EE) Server terminated with error (2). Closing log file


Last edited by ShanaXXII on Tue Jul 08, 2014 5:41 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 6920

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You don't have the correct driver, that card is not a radeon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54220
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ShanaXXII,

Please post the output of lspci so we can see your hardware.

I have a feeling you need the r128 driver. Add r128 to your VIDEO_CARDS in make.conf and
Code:
emerge -1  xf86-video-r128

Rename your xorg.conf if you have one. As you are using open source drivers, no xorg.conf is required, at least, not to get started.


Unless you have given Xorg something to do, if the above works, you will get a plain black screen and your system will lock up.

Its always good to
Code:
emerge -1 tmw xterm xclock
to test Xorg. These are the defaults that Xorg tries to run if you have not told it to do something else.
Gentoo does not install them by default.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 6196

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Its always good to
Code:
emerge -1 tmw xterm xclock
to test Xorg. These are the defaults that Xorg tries to run if you have not told it to do something else.
Gentoo does not install them by default.


Matter of opinion - personally, I don't recall ever needing those.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54220
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

VoidMage,

You don't need them if your GUI login or your ~/.xinitrc works first time.
Also, VT switching used to be the norm, so it was easy to kill X to get control back.

Notice I said --oneshot, so the packages will be removed by the next --depclean.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 283
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
ShanaXXII,

Please post the output of lspci so we can see your hardware.


Code:

# lspci

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82845 845 [Broakdale] Chipset Host Bridge (rev 03)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82845 845 [Broakdale] Chipset AGP Bridge (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev 12)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801BA ISA Bridge (LPC) (rev 12)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801BA IDE U100 Controller (rev 12)
00:1f.2 USB controller: Intel Copoation 82801BA/BAM USB Controller #1 (rev 12)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corpoation 82801BA/BAM SMBus Controller (rev 12)
00:1f.4 USB controller: Intel Copoation 82801BA/BAM USB Controller #1 (rev 12)
00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801BA/BAM AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 12)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 300/305 PCI/AGP VGA Display Adapter (rev 90)
02:08.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82801BA/BAM/CA/CAM Ethernet Controller (rev 03)
02:09.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] 3D Rage IIC PCI [Mach64 GT IIC] (rev 3a)
02:0a.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8100/8101L/8139 PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter (rev 10)


I installed the r128 driver and made my VIDEO_CARDS="r128"
Then I rebooted and its still giving me the same error when I try $ startx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54220
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ShanaXXII,

Code:
02:09.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] 3D Rage IIC PCI [Mach64 GT IIC] (rev 3a)

That means you need
Code:
x11-drivers/xf86-video-mach64
and match64 in VIDEO_CARDS.

You also have a
Code:
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 300/305 PCI/AGP VGA Display Adapter (rev 90)

which is probably a better video card. However, if it shares main memory for the graphics buffer, it will slow down everything, so you may be better with the plug in card, that has its own graphics RAM..
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 283
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 9:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
ShanaXXII,

Code:
02:09.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] 3D Rage IIC PCI [Mach64 GT IIC] (rev 3a)

That means you need
Code:
x11-drivers/xf86-video-mach64
and match64 in VIDEO_CARDS.


I unmerged the r128 driver, emerged the x11-drivers/xf86-video-mach64

I changed VIDEO_CARDS="match64"
reboot
$ startx
and it still gives me the same error


Last edited by ShanaXXII on Mon Jul 07, 2014 11:33 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 283
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did a # X -configure
and it said it detected my monitor, and made a configuration file in /root/xorg.conf.new
and to try it out by typing X -config /root/xorg.conf.new

and now its just a black screen

:(

I rebooted and tried $ startx and it gave me an error saying:

Code:
 
Loading extension GLX
error setting MTRR (base = 0xde000000, size = 0x00400000, type = 1) Invalid argument (22)
/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc: line 63: exec: xterm: not found
xinit: connection to X server lost
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54220
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 11:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ShanaXXII,


Your error
Code:
/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc: line 63: exec: xterm: not found
tells that Xorg started but has nothing to do. See my previous post about
Code:
emerge -1 tmw xterm xclock


You do not need a xorg.conf to get Xorg to start.
Its better that you don't have one until Xorg works.

Code:
error setting MTRR (base = 0xde000000, size = 0x00400000, type = 1) Invalid argument (22)
may be a kernel issue.
It will not stop Xorg from running but it may mean that the performance can be improved, so thats something for later.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 283
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Code:
/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc: line 63: exec: xterm: not found
tells that Xorg started but has nothing to do. See my previous post about
Code:
emerge -1 tmw xterm xclock


If I wanted to login from command line, will I have to permanently install it, instead of just today?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54220
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ShanaXXII,

No, its just for testing, unless you like twm.

To log in from the command line then run startx, you need to install a window manager an edit ~/.xinitrc to start your window manager.
If ~/.xinitrc is missing, Xorg will start three xterms and xclock all it the twm Window Manger.
At least, it will try. Those programs are not installed unless you install them, so instead, you get a black screen with no easy way out.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 283
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
ShanaXXII,

No, its just for testing, unless you like twm.

To log in from the command line then run startx, you need to install a window manager an edit ~/.xinitrc to start your window manager.
If ~/.xinitrc is missing, Xorg will start three xterms and xclock all it the twm Window Manger.
At least, it will try. Those programs are not installed unless you install them, so instead, you get a black screen with no easy way out.


Im sorry, but could u go over that again? :oops:

So if I want to log in from command line, I can just type startx. Where is ~/.xinitrc? And how can I edit it?


Last edited by ShanaXXII on Tue Jul 08, 2014 3:24 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 283
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay. I # emerge -l tmw and # emerge -l twm
Rebooted and $ startx

It gave me a GUI with 3 terminals and a clock. :$

I unmerged tmw after realizing it was some MMORPG game

Now what?
As in, how do I get a different desktop. (like the one you choose with # eselect profile set)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54220
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ShanaXXII,

Now Xorg works and you have a working, if somewhat primitive, window manager.
Sorry about the typo. I'm learning dvorak-uk and W and M are next door to one another.

The ~ means the currently logged in users home dir.
Thats /root/ for root and /home/<user_name>/ for everyone else.

The file .xinitrc does not exist until you make it. The file name really does start with a dot.
You edit the file with
Code:
nano  ~/.xinitrc


What you need to put there depends on the window manager you want to use.
Only edit the file after your window manager of choice is installed.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 283
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay. Thank you :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum