ibm t21 kernel modules
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
moescher
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2014 8:35 am    Post subject: ibm t21 kernel modules Reply with quote

hey folks...

i'm very new at the gentoo stuff...

i got a cheap "ibm thinkpad t21" and wanted to breath a little life in it...
i figured out, that only gentoo would be able to get a hardware 3d acceleration working...

i found http://jeremysands.com/?p=252 and it helped me so far...

but: what should my /etc/conf.d/modules look like?

can i just lsmod in chroot and copy every entry into my modules config file?
szatox
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2014 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Let's play a bit, almost everything in that blog note is also true for my X30

Now, modules: you can either load them manualy, and yes, you can lspci to see what you need there ( `lsmod | awk '{ print $1 }' | sort | uniq` might help)
You can also have udev/eudev automagicaly load needed modules for you and be done with it. Gentoo has udev by default right now.

So, thirst thing to do is download stage3 for x86 (my P3 runs i686) and follow regular installation manual. The true fun begins when you want to get GPU back to work. There are still kernel modules running dev-forsaken GPU (i810), but xorg doesn't support them anymore. intel-video-2.20.13 seems to only work with i915, and I can't make 2.19.0 compile at all (the oldes in portage tree). No idea if it supports i810, but i wanted to try it since runing in vesa mode sucks. 100% CPU load while moving a window. Well, newest drivers are worse, 100% CPU load and a window is floating slowly behind mouse pointer.

Anyway, what have you done so far in terms of bring the dead horse back to live? Perhaps we could actually get those toys run like they used to in last millenium :lol: