Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
The Gentoo Gnome 2.32.1 -> Gnome 3.8 Experience
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 4004
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 3:35 pm    Post subject: The Gentoo Gnome 2.32.1 -> Gnome 3.8 Experience Reply with quote

I ended up breaking down and letting the Gnome 3.8 come through portage. I have never seen Gnome 3.8 before.

Things I have noted during the ugprade:
- I set my /etc/make.profile to a Gnome-Systemd profile. This cleared a lot of blocks.
- I did not install systemd first and let dependency tree install it. This was somewhat of a mistake: see later
- There were two perl packages related to Intltool where emerge failured. emerge -1 remedied those packages before a resume. I don't recall which they were.
- This is very odd: Networkmanager, Modemmanager needed to be re-emerged after the reboot so that it detects systemd properly and dump their config files. I had them installed but they did not have the files needed for systemd and broke the next reboot. INSTALL SYSTEMD FIRST (emerge -1 systemd)
- Needed to readd NM, MM, sshd, etc back as services after systemd is installed and rebooted:
Code:
systemctl enable NetworkManager
systemctl enable ModemManager
systemctl enable sshd

- ModemManager and NetworkManager forgot all their security keys.
- DIsk space burned about 1GB more than what it was before. Too many binaries. This is after localepurge and depclean.
- Gnome3.8 is uh-glee.
- Had to remove blueman as it doesn't seem to work.
- @preserved-rebuilds: Imagemagick 6.8.6.8 appears to require gcc-4.7.* and if you have distcc machines with older gcc, it will give strange errors (__builtin_assume_aligned).
- Systemd is very unhappy with sharing the clock with Windows on dual boot machines. Default is UTC in RTC regardless of what you had it before.
Code:
timedatectl set-local-rtc 1

will revert to sharing the RTC with Windows.
- Ruby gets installed :( because of webkit-gtk... and it's DEPEND ...)

- Do not try to remote update this :( I think the 2.32 needs to be preserved for many machines.

More comments as they become available.
Edit: Added timedatectl note about dual boot
Edit: Got bluetooth rfcomm working again, needed to reboot again it seems...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?


Last edited by eccerr0r on Mon Jan 27, 2014 12:04 am; edited 5 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 2369
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So do you like it (the upgrades) or not?
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - amd64-multilib, 3.15.9-zen, glibc-2.17, gcc-4.7.3-r1, eudev
xorg-server-1.16, openbox w/lxpanel, nouveau, oss4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 4004
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll tolerate them. "like" is a loaded term...

- I dislike the additional disk space use
- I dislike rfcomm bluetooth breaking once more

- The UI change is neutral to me. So far.
- It's using the GPU ... not sure what it means for power consumption.
- More and more white space is on the screen, seeming that it is tailored for touch...

Sigh... at least this system won't have more blocks for a while.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 2369
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I for one am interested in your comments and opinions on it, both short and long term.
So I'll be happy to read what you say in the future.

Good luck.
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - amd64-multilib, 3.15.9-zen, glibc-2.17, gcc-4.7.3-r1, eudev
xorg-server-1.16, openbox w/lxpanel, nouveau, oss4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 4004
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't recall what it was before but Gnome 3.8+systemd on this machine (Core i5 laptop + SSD) takes about 6 seconds to boot from grub until the login greeter appears. I'd have to expect something quick anyway as this machine because of the SSD, so it's not that impressive... It still seems a bit faster than my other ssd machine though. So far with Linux 3.12.8, suspend/resume works fairly snappy as well.

I sort of found bluetooth rfcomm working again. It seems like it works upon a fresh reboot but won't work after a while...
Something strange, something is triggering it to stop working...

New issue: Apparently gnome-shell is causing a lot of interrupts to fly through the cpu and my fan is on quite a bit more than before...

Ugh...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 4004
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 12:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I "upgraded" my Core i5 and i7 to Gnome-3.8 and then Gnome-3.10. After using it for a while (is 3 months OK?) I'm starting to regret the choice. I guess my biggest annoyance is how it deals with windows - how it handles windows when you move the cursor up to the upper left rapidly, goes to a different mode. Also how sometimes windows disappear, even when clicking on the window list I can't get the window to reappear. Technically the latter can be associated with any windowmanager but I've never had it happen so badly except with Gnome 3.x ...

Ugh.

I guess I'll deal with it but I feel like I want out now, at least for the desktop. The laptop hasn't irked me so much yet... it might be some bad interaction due to Synergy.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 4004
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2014 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just wanted to mention, I found that there's a way to fix this behavior, found it on another website.

Have to make a dconf change. There's a setting

Code:
$ gsettings set org.gnome.shell.overrides edge-tiling false


source: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1970815

I still don't like the transitions/window manager and how you have to jam your mouse to the upper left to get to the window selector. And that Gnome 3.10 pulled in Apache to get a feature working...what gives?

Luckily I just upgraded the SSD on my laptop, so the package bloat isn't as bad. Really I should just blow away win7, but sometimes it's still useful.

More xfce coming methinks. My MythTV box likely has been swayed to xfce...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 2369
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2014 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xfce is very gnome 2 like, last I used it. It's also a lot less resource (disk and cpu) intensive.
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - amd64-multilib, 3.15.9-zen, glibc-2.17, gcc-4.7.3-r1, eudev
xorg-server-1.16, openbox w/lxpanel, nouveau, oss4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 4004
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2014 11:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just updated another of my Gnome2 boxes, and it's to XFCE4, mostly because I didn't want systemd on this box. Yet, at least.
Luckily it's a desktop/server and I just got rid of networkmanager along with Gnome2.

However one more thing I was kind of ticked off about Gnome3, at least 3.10 - the Gnome2 legacy "tray" - I don't know if it exists or not anymore. There are a couple of gnome-shell extensions that claim to show them but it doesn't. The problem software I'm having?

libvirtd (specifically, virt-manager).

When you close virt-man's window it will stay in the "tray" on Gnome2. [strike]I suspect it will work[/strike] It works correctly on the tray emulator for xfce4 - verified on my recent gnome2 -> xfce4 switch. But it's simply *gone* on gnome3 as far as I can tell. I ended up killing virt-man and restarting to get the window up, but that doesn't seem like a proper solution... Or I have to remember to never close that window - exit virt-manager but never close...

Ugh...

EDIT: It appears that the setting I made for virt-manager got cleared. I reset it and it works, so this is no longer an issue anymore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum