Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
IPv6 without IPv4
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
skiwarz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2014
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sun Mar 23, 2014 3:04 am    Post subject: IPv6 without IPv4 Reply with quote

Anyone know if it's possible to build a system that ONLY supports ipv6 and have it be somewhat functional?
I'm just curious if such a thing has been done before. Seems like it wouldn't work, but maybe there are enough servers out there that support ipv6 today that it might. Thoughts?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
666threesixes666
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2011
Posts: 1242
Location: 42.68n 85.41w

PostPosted: Sun Mar 23, 2014 3:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

id make a virtual machine and two kernels, 1 for ip v4 & 1 for ip v6.
_________________
cat /etc/*-release
Funtoo Linux - baselayout 2.2.0
consider this warning no. 1
https://wiki.gentoo.org/index.php?title=Special:Contributions/666threesixes666&offset=&limit=500&target=666threesixes666
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kurly
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Apr 2012
Posts: 182

PostPosted: Sun Mar 23, 2014 4:02 am    Post subject: Re: IPv6 without IPv4 Reply with quote

skiwarz wrote:
Anyone know if it's possible to build a system that ONLY supports ipv6 and have it be somewhat functional?
I'm just curious if such a thing has been done before. Seems like it wouldn't work, but maybe there are enough servers out there that support ipv6 today that it might. Thoughts?
I actually did this about a year and a half ago; the only thing that wasn't available at the time was the list of mirrors during installation. (There were IPv6 mirrors, but the list itself was only available over IPv4.) The actual installation went just fine, and the machine could be kept up to date through portage just fine.

Do keep in mind that while some key components of the Internet are dual-stack (IPv4/IPv6), not all are. So you'll probably want to keep IPv4 around for a while, yet. But if you're just curious if it's possible, the answer is yes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boospy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 260
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun Mar 30, 2014 12:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have some machines they only run with ipv6, VDR, VDRclient, backupmachine, some VM's, IPV4 ist not needed anymore on servers. On Desktops is only ipv6 a little bit poor. IPV6 is easier than ipv4, you only need an radvd and multicastDNS. Ready!!! :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 2525
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2014 3:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can't really turn IPv4 off because so many things are hardcoded to depend on it. You can certainly have a system with no external IPv4 connectivity though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boospy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 260
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

But i've done. XBMC, VDR, Backupserver are all only IPV6. And everything works fine. All only internal things have no IPV4 address.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 417

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm curious, how you deal with assigning IP6 addresses to create usable network?
I have DHCP for IP4, I know IP6 has automagicaly assigned link-local address, but since using lnk-local requires explicitly naming network interface it's not very convenient (uhm... usable?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boospy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 260
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Adresses and DNS comes with radvd. It is also possible with multicast (Avahi). I have this about 2 years and it works great. Most more easier than ipv4.

Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1clue
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 1406

PostPosted: Wed Apr 23, 2014 1:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you noticed anything at all that doesn't work with pure ipv6?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum