View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
theneopro
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 1:46 pm    Post subject: OS X Reply with quote

Hey All,

I have a g3 loaner. I went ahead and loaded 10.2 (upgrade not a fresh install). I like the new 10.2 but when i now choose to shut down it asks if im sure if I would like to shut down. Annoying it is. But does anyone know how to make the redudancy stop?

Also I would like to dual boot Jaguar and gentoo. But since I am new to this MAC world, i am uncertain of the partion table. As well as the boot loader procedure. Is there somewhere where i can find on how it works or if not where there is a step by step outline and I will figure it out later.

Thanks

-Mykey
ernstp
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A easy way to do it is to download the mandrake ppc cd's and do a minimal install with them. It has a really nice installer that fixes a bootstrappartion for you (among other things).

But if you're a newbie, you could also stick to Mandrake. It's not that much difference in speed...
theneopro
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 4:51 pm    Post subject: Opps Reply with quote

10.2 is the latest mac OS X (jaguar) version. I did an update from 10.1.5

I also want to put gentoo really soon as well sharing the same HD. I have used a PC for the longest time and switching to the mac has been pleasent but i want to be as usual more than just a user. On the PC i have a server running FreeBSD 4.5 and I am happy with that as well. Mandrake i want to shy away from. Thanks for the input but I will try to be more specific next time.