Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] Chromium: what happened?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Princess Nell
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Apr 2005
Posts: 538

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2014 11:03 pm    Post subject: [Solved] Chromium: what happened? Reply with quote

Build time nearly tripled? No, I was not running cpu-intensive stuff at the same time.
Code:

localhost ~ # genlop -t chromium |tail -n 15
     Wed Dec 11 23:40:57 2013 >>> www-client/chromium-31.0.1650.63
       merge time: 1 hour, 8 minutes and 20 seconds.

     Fri Jan 17 21:52:26 2014 >>> www-client/chromium-32.0.1700.77
       merge time: 1 hour, 12 minutes and 51 seconds.

     Sun Jan 26 03:32:08 2014 >>> www-client/chromium-32.0.1700.77
       merge time: 1 hour, 12 minutes and 49 seconds.

     Tue Feb  4 21:29:06 2014 >>> www-client/chromium-32.0.1700.102
       merge time: 1 hour, 15 minutes and 44 seconds.

     Sun Feb 23 01:25:39 2014 >>> www-client/chromium-33.0.1750.117
       merge time: 3 hours, 16 minutes and 18 seconds.

localhost ~ #


Last edited by Princess Nell on Thu Feb 27, 2014 12:12 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4690
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 12:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you using ccache and/or distcc?
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Princess Nell
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Apr 2005
Posts: 538

PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope, none of the above, and never did.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
snkmoorthy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Nov 2002
Posts: 333

PostPosted: Wed Feb 26, 2014 5:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

for me I see an improvement:
Code:

     Thu Dec  5 08:32:19 2013 >>> www-client/chromium-32.0.1700.19
       merge time: 1 hour, 31 minutes and 28 seconds.

     Mon Dec 16 13:06:40 2013 >>> www-client/chromium-32.0.1700.55
       merge time: 51 minutes and 7 seconds.

     Mon Dec 23 14:32:30 2013 >>> www-client/chromium-32.0.1700.68
       merge time: 1 hour, 6 minutes and 40 seconds.

     Thu Jan 23 14:00:16 2014 >>> www-client/chromium-33.0.1750.29
       merge time: 1 hour and 46 seconds.

     Wed Feb 26 10:49:19 2014 >>> www-client/chromium-33.0.1750.117
       merge time: 56 minutes and 21 seconds.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SirRobin2318
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Apr 2004
Posts: 213
Location: Strasbourg, france.

PostPosted: Wed Feb 26, 2014 12:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I noticed the same thing as OP:
Code:
 * www-client/chromium

     Sat Feb  8 17:39:39 2014 >>> www-client/chromium-32.0.1700.102
       merge time: 1 hour, 29 minutes and 17 seconds.

     Mon Feb 10 00:26:02 2014 >>> www-client/chromium-32.0.1700.102
       merge time: 1 hour, 19 minutes and 8 seconds.

     Sun Feb 23 16:05:06 2014 >>> www-client/chromium-33.0.1750.117
       merge time: 3 hours, 48 minutes and 56 seconds.


I am using ccache, and the following use flags enabled: cups pulseaudio tcmalloc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Princess Nell
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Apr 2005
Posts: 538

PostPosted: Wed Feb 26, 2014 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I found the reason.

The cpu frequency scaling monitor shows that my 2.6GHz cpu is running at 1200MHz. Even changing the governor from ondemand to performance doesn't change this.

This may have started with a few kernel mods to be able to use powertop. I enabled CONFIG_NO_HZ, CONFIG_CPU_IDLE_GOV_MENU, and CONFIG_TIMER_STATS. These are literally the only additions to a kernel that was working fine.

Let me boot into the kernel I installed in November and re-emerge a few packages.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Princess Nell
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Apr 2005
Posts: 538

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 12:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

And now, the solution. Technically, it's off-topic for this forum, but it's a solution.

I played with various of my historical kernels and the cpu frequency was stuck to 1.2GHz, no matter what. Booted sysresccd off USB and found the same. Booted into FreeBSD, and here, cpu frequency scaled fine.

With help of my search engine of choice, I finally found this: http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Problem_with_CPU_frequency_scaling, and the pieces clicked into place. For a few weeks, I've been using another Lenovo laptop's charger, as it turns out, a 65W model (presumably - it doesn't say so explicitly, but 20V at 3.25A is a pretty close match in my book). Going back to the 90W charger fixed my problem.

For the record, this is a T530. While not explicitly listed at above URL, it strongly matches the "it is probably true of all Lenovo ThinkPads" statement.

There. Storm in a tea cup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SirRobin2318
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Apr 2004
Posts: 213
Location: Strasbourg, france.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well what do you know, my cpu freq was also stuck at 1200MHz...
How does KDE manage cpu freq? My governor is userspace, is KDE supposed to manage scaling?

It probably did something at some point since my previous compilations of chromium were fast...
For now I manually set it to ondemand.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 894
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interesting cause for the problem right there. ^^

SirRobin2318 wrote:
Well what do you know, my cpu freq was also stuck at 1200MHz...
How does KDE manage cpu freq? My governor is userspace, is KDE supposed to manage scaling?

It probably did something at some point since my previous compilations of chromium were fast...
For now I manually set it to ondemand.

KDE itself, as far as I am aware, does not manage that. I'm sure there are applications (plasmoids, possiblai?) which do, and those I might imagine are using sys-power/cpufreqd or the likes.

I would also check the kernel configuration (CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV).
_________________
Kind Regards,
~ The Noob Unlimited ~

Sore wa sore, kore wa kore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SirRobin2318
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Apr 2004
Posts: 213
Location: Strasbourg, france.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, I went with sys-power/cpufrequtils.
I'm just curious as to how my cpu was managed before...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum