Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[MOSTLY SOLVED] Unable to load emerged modules
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pinion
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Feb 2006
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 9:24 pm    Post subject: [MOSTLY SOLVED] Unable to load emerged modules Reply with quote

On my system, emerge -av @module-rebuild after a kernel (sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-3.11.8 ) upgrade shows me 3 packages to be reinstalled:

Code:
 /usr/src/linux $ sudo emerge -pv @module-rebuild

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R    ] x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-331.38  USE="X acpi (multilib) tools -pax_kernel" 0 kB
[ebuild   R   ~] app-emulation/vmware-modules-271.2  USE="-pax_kernel" 0 kB
[ebuild   R   ~] net-wireless/broadcom-sta-6.30.223.141  0 kB


However, after successfully emerging the modules, I am unable to load any of them:

Code:
 /usr/src/linux $ sudo modprobe --verbose wl
insmod /lib/modules/3.11.8-gentoo/net/wireless/wl.ko
modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'wl': Exec format error


Searching in /var/log/dmesg and /var/log/messages does not show me any errors:
Code:
Feb 18 14:14:07 localhost sudo:     dave : TTY=pts/0 ; PWD=/usr/src/linux-3.11.8-gentoo ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/sbin/modprobe --verbose wl
Feb 18 14:14:07 localhost sudo: pam_unix(sudo:session): session opened for user root by dave(uid=0)
Feb 18 14:14:07 localhost sudo: pam_unix(sudo:session): session closed for user root

Code:
 /usr/src/linux $ sudo grep wl /var/log/dmesg
 /usr/src/linux $


I have done a make clean on my kernel and rebuilt it, but after emerging these modules I can still not load them, and get the "Exec format error". Only emerged modules have this problem.. modules built with the kernel itself load fine:
Code:
Module                  Size  Used by
ipv6                  219304  52
x86_pkg_temp_thermal     3388  0
coretemp                4812  0
kvm_intel             108676  0
snd_hda_codec_hdmi     23020  1
kvm                   176996  1 kvm_intel
crc32c_intel            8312  0
asus_nb_wmi             7020  0
asus_wmi               11052  1 asus_nb_wmi
sparse_keymap           1928  1 asus_wmi
rfkill                  7252  1 asus_wmi
snd_hda_codec_realtek    27896  1
snd_hda_intel          22492  5
snd_hda_codec          84512  3 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep               4240  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm                50288  3 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel
hid_logitech_dj         8328  0
acpi_cpufreq            5388  0
mperf                    904  1 acpi_cpufreq
freq_table              1720  1 acpi_cpufreq
alx                    18216  0
snd_page_alloc          5416  2 snd_pcm,snd_hda_intel
i2c_i801                7888  0
mdio                    2648  1 alx
wmi                     6076  1 asus_wmi
microcode               5408  0
processor              20336  9 acpi_cpufreq
thermal                 7280  0
firmware_class          7888  1 microcode
snd_timer              13240  1 snd_pcm
snd                    42152  17 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hwdep,snd_timer,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_pcm,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel
lib80211                2556  0
pcspkr                  1400  0
battery                 9780  0
video                   9884  1 asus_wmi
ac                      3572  0
thermal_sys            13964  4 video,thermal,processor,x86_pkg_temp_thermal


I build my kernel manually with a make && make modules_install. I have checked my symlink, and it is good:
Code:
 $ sudo eselect kernel show
Current kernel symlink:
  /usr/src/linux-3.11.8-gentoo                 


Any help is much appreciated. I am not having any luck getting this resolved.


Last edited by pinion on Tue Mar 04, 2014 6:21 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32006
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pinion,

Those modules are all emerged against the kernel pointed to by /usr/src/linux.
I guess its not pointing to the kernel you are running, so the moules are installed against the 'wrong' kernel.

Maybe you are not running the kernel you think you are. Look at the output of
Code:
uname -a

The Time/Date is the build time of the running kernel.
Code:
$ uname -a
Linux NeddySeagoon_Static 3.13.3-gentoo #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Feb 15 19:29:18 GMT 2014 x86_64 AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1090T Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pinion
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Feb 2006
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is what uname -a tells me:

Code:
 ~ $ sudo uname -a
Linux lap8200 3.11.8-gentoo #11 SMP Sat Feb 15 22:45:53 MST 2014 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4700HQ CPU @ 2.40GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux


Thanks for the reply :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32006
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pinion,

That's the 11th build of 3.11.8-gentoo and it happened at Sat Feb 15 22:45:53 MST.
Is that correct or have you built your kernel more recently?

The versions match, which is required but not sufficient.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pinion
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Feb 2006
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 1:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just did another make clean/rebuild.. and it indicates its the 15th build.. strange. I've been using gentoo for years now, but maybe I just have been using an incorrect procedure for doing this.

These are the steps I just took:
Code:
sudo su
mount /boot
cd /usr/src/linux
make clean
rm -rf /lib64/modules/3.11.8-gentoo/ /lib/modules/3.11.8-gentoo/ (to make sure no other modules are out there.. dont usually do that)
cp /boot/config-x86_64-3.11.8-gentoo .config
make && make modules_install
cp arch/x86_64/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-x86_64-3.11.8-gentoo
cp .config /boot/config-x86_64-3.11.8-gentoo
grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
reboot...
sudo emerge -av nvidia-drivers


modprobe nvidia gives the Exec format error
same thing for broadcom-sta and vmware-modules

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32006
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pinion,

Well, Given that the kernel can count its builds, the last build was #14, not #11
Do the build dates check out with your memory?

Danger Will Robinson ...
Code:
grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg


I've never used grub2

Exec format error has lots of causes. dmesg may help further.

As long as /usr/src/linux points to your new kernel, you can build the out of tree modules before tho reboot.
This has the advantage that you should never be without Xorg.

Please post the output of
Code:
ls -l /boot
and the content of /boot/grub/grub.cfg

For completeness sake, when /boot is not mounted /boot should be empty, is it?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pinion
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Feb 2006
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In trying to fix this, I switched to 3.12.7 from gentoo-sources, and removed everything else.. (I left the other sources, but made sure the symlink points to the correct one). I manually purged the modules, did a make clean, and built the kernel and booted to it a few times. I have the same problem, however.

I failed to mention earlier that when I emerge these modules, I get permission issues, which I have to step through and add read access to (o+r). I have had that happening for awhile.. ever since I last upgraded my kernel, and have had no issues loading modules built from the kernel. I'm not sure what's causing that.. it's just mainly a pain when I build these modules.

ls -l /boot:
Code:
 ~ $ sudo ls -l /boot/
total 13920
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root       1 Mar 10  2013 boot -> .
-rw------- 1 root root  100233 Feb 19 10:15 config-x86_64-3.12.7-gentoo
drwx------ 6 root root    1024 Feb 18 20:17 grub
-rw------- 1 root root 5122603 Jan 18 19:37 initramfs.cpio.gz
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 4835426 Mar 29  2013 initramfs.cpio.gz_bu
-rw------- 1 root root 4119744 Feb 19 10:15 kernel-x86_64-3.12.7-gentoo
drwx------ 2 root root   12288 Mar 12  2013 lost+found


/boot/grub/grub.cfg
Code:

 ~ $ sudo cat /boot/grub/grub.cfg
#
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
#
# It is automatically generated by grub2-mkconfig using templates
# from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
#

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
  load_env
fi
if [ "${next_entry}" ] ; then
   set default="${next_entry}"
   set next_entry=
   save_env next_entry
   set boot_once=true
else
   set default="0"
fi

if [ x"${feature_menuentry_id}" = xy ]; then
  menuentry_id_option="--id"
else
  menuentry_id_option=""
fi

export menuentry_id_option

if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
  set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
  save_env saved_entry
  set prev_saved_entry=
  save_env prev_saved_entry
  set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
  if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
    saved_entry="${chosen}"
    save_env saved_entry
  fi
}

function load_video {
  if [ x$feature_all_video_module = xy ]; then
    insmod all_video
  else
    insmod efi_gop
    insmod efi_uga
    insmod ieee1275_fb
    insmod vbe
    insmod vga
    insmod video_bochs
    insmod video_cirrus
  fi
}

if loadfont unicode ; then
  set gfxmode=1920x1080
  load_video
  insmod gfxterm
  set locale_dir=$prefix/locale
  set lang=
  insmod gettext
fi
terminal_output gfxterm
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,msdos1'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1  904636c1-f00b-42fb-8f3f-543a76b82269
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 904636c1-f00b-42fb-8f3f-543a76b82269
fi
insmod jpeg
background_image -m stretch /grub/Ghosts-nine-inch-nails-23374236-1920-1440.jpg
if sleep --interruptible 0 ; then
  set timeout=2
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
menuentry 'Gentoo GNU/Linux' --class gentoo --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-simple-/dev/mapper/root' {
   load_video
   set gfxpayload=1920x1080
   insmod gzio
   insmod part_msdos
   insmod ext2
   set root='hd0,msdos1'
   if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
     search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1  904636c1-f00b-42fb-8f3f-543a76b82269
   else
     search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 904636c1-f00b-42fb-8f3f-543a76b82269
   fi
   echo   'Loading Linux x86_64-3.12.7-gentoo ...'
   linux   /kernel-x86_64-3.12.7-gentoo root=/dev/mapper/root ro crypt_root=/dev/sda3 scandelay=3 timeout=0 video=vesafb:mtrr:3,ywrap splash=theme:atl_default console=tty1
   echo   'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
   initrd   /initramfs.cpio.gz
}
submenu 'Advanced options for Gentoo GNU/Linux' $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-advanced-/dev/mapper/root' {
   menuentry 'Gentoo GNU/Linux, with Linux x86_64-3.12.7-gentoo' --class gentoo --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-x86_64-3.12.7-gentoo-advanced-/dev/mapper/root' {
      load_video
      set gfxpayload=1920x1080
      insmod gzio
      insmod part_msdos
      insmod ext2
      set root='hd0,msdos1'
      if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1  904636c1-f00b-42fb-8f3f-543a76b82269
      else
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 904636c1-f00b-42fb-8f3f-543a76b82269
      fi
      echo   'Loading Linux x86_64-3.12.7-gentoo ...'
      linux   /kernel-x86_64-3.12.7-gentoo root=/dev/mapper/root ro crypt_root=/dev/sda3 scandelay=3 timeout=0 video=vesafb:mtrr:3,ywrap splash=theme:atl_default console=tty1
      echo   'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
      initrd   /initramfs.cpio.gz
   }
   menuentry 'Gentoo GNU/Linux, with Linux x86_64-3.12.7-gentoo (recovery mode)' --class gentoo --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-x86_64-3.12.7-gentoo-recovery-/dev/mapper/root' {
      load_video
      set gfxpayload=1920x1080
      insmod gzio
      insmod part_msdos
      insmod ext2
      set root='hd0,msdos1'
      if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1  904636c1-f00b-42fb-8f3f-543a76b82269
      else
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 904636c1-f00b-42fb-8f3f-543a76b82269
      fi
      echo   'Loading Linux x86_64-3.12.7-gentoo ...'
      linux   /kernel-x86_64-3.12.7-gentoo root=/dev/mapper/root ro single crypt_root=/dev/sda3 scandelay=3 timeout=0 video=vesafb:mtrr:3,ywrap splash=theme:atl_default console=tty1
      echo   'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
      initrd   /initramfs.cpio.gz
   }
}

### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
if [ -f  ${config_directory}/custom.cfg ]; then
  source ${config_directory}/custom.cfg
elif [ -z "${config_directory}" -a -f  $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
  source $prefix/custom.cfg;
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###



I just verified that /boot is empty when not mounted.

Thanks for the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32006
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pinion,

Well you only have one kernel in that /boot.
Do you have /boot on any other HDD too?
That way lies madness but I have seen users install perfectly good kernels in /boot on the wrong drive, so I need to ask.

If you only have one drive, it can only be booting that kernel.

Where do you get permissions issues?
Setting things world readable in relation to kernel modules sounds like a very bad thing. Only root should be able to load modules.

Compare the permissions on your modules tree with mine
Code:
$ ls -l /lib/modules/`uname -r`
total 528
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root     28 Feb 16 11:05 build -> /usr/src/linux-3.13.3-gentoo
drwxr-xr-x 9 root root   4096 Feb 16 11:05 kernel
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root   4096 Feb 17 21:31 misc
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 124377 Feb 17 21:31 modules.alias
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 127105 Feb 17 21:31 modules.alias.bin
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root   5591 Feb 16 11:05 modules.builtin
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root   8196 Feb 17 21:31 modules.builtin.bin
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  18992 Feb 17 21:31 modules.dep
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  28234 Feb 17 21:31 modules.dep.bin
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root    250 Feb 17 21:31 modules.devname
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root   8475 Feb 16 11:05 modules.order
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root    131 Feb 17 21:31 modules.softdep
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  84145 Feb 17 21:31 modules.symbols
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  97194 Feb 17 21:31 modules.symbols.bin
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root     28 Feb 16 11:05 source -> /usr/src/linux-3.13.3-gentoo
since only root can run modprobe, permissions of 640 woks just as well.
In a random subdir, I get
Code:
$ ls -l /lib/modules/`uname -r`/misc
total 484
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 416352 Feb 17 21:31 vboxdrv.ko
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  12152 Feb 17 21:31 vboxnetadp.ko
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  32344 Feb 17 21:31 vboxnetflt.ko
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  30664 Feb 17 21:31 vboxpci.ko
but they are all the same.
The `uname -r` runs uname -r and puts the result in the command, so it returns things related to the running kernel.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pinion
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Feb 2006
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 12:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I removed the older kernels to clean things up a bit. I only have the one drive (I encrypted it though.. so I have a custom init script in the initramfs.cpio.gz file).

My permissions are similar for modules.
Code:
 ~ $ ls -l /lib/modules/`uname -r`
total 1172
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root     28 Feb 18 19:39 build -> /usr/src/linux-3.12.7-gentoo
drwx------ 9 root root   4096 Feb 19 10:14 kernel
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 303373 Feb 19 10:25 modules.alias
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 289646 Feb 19 10:25 modules.alias.bin
-rw------- 1 root root   4207 Feb 19 10:14 modules.builtin
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root   6027 Feb 19 10:25 modules.builtin.bin
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  82512 Feb 19 10:25 modules.dep
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 127513 Feb 19 10:25 modules.dep.bin
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root    224 Feb 19 10:25 modules.devname
-rw------- 1 root root  34677 Feb 19 10:14 modules.order
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root    165 Feb 19 10:25 modules.softdep
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 137764 Feb 19 10:25 modules.symbols
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 168367 Feb 19 10:25 modules.symbols.bin
drwxr-xr-x 3 root root   4096 Feb 18 22:29 net
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root     28 Feb 19 10:14 source -> /usr/src/linux-3.12.7-gentoo
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root   4096 Feb 19 10:25 video


When I emerge a module, I need to give read access to a few files inside the kernel source (/usr/src/linux/include/generated/autoconf.h for instance).. and executable permissions to a few scripts also inside the kernel source files. I have found that once you compile the kernel, it resets permissions as well. I don't understand why I run into the permission issues, as the files are all rw by root, and I always do a 'sudo emerge' to install something.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pinion
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Feb 2006
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I re-emerged portage, did a 'chmod a+rXw -R' on /usr/src/linux, and re-emerged the modules... and now I can load the modules (nvidia & wl.. emerging vmware-modules-279.0 or 271.2 failed). I can use my wifi adapter, however it crashes every few minutes and restarts.. which it was doing before I ran into this problem and is what spawned me upgrading my kernel and modules to begin with. I am unable to start X, but I am chasing down X errors to figure out why.

I am really curious why I get these permission issues against /usr/src/linux. It has only been going on for a few months, after upgrading a bunch of stuff on my system. I install modules using 'sudo emerge', and root has rwx access to all of /usr/src/linux as it should.

Anyway, Once I get my X issues straightened out with the nvidia driver, I will be somewhat set.

Thanks for the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pinion
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Feb 2006
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2014 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, I was wrong... it seemed the ability to load modules was a fluke, as apon rebooting I could no longer load emerged modules. I discovered that the emerged modules were all ELF files, where the modules built with the kernel were not. I finally took a year old config of my kernel I had saved, loaded that into menuconfig and built a clean kernel off of it, and that worked! Except, I still get the strange /usr/src/linux permission problems when emerging modules. I am unable to get vmware-modules to emerge, but that appears to be a 3.12 kernel issue with vmware, and for the time being I am just using VirtualBox, which seems to work just fine.

Here is a diff of the kernel .config that worked ( < ) and the one I was using previously ( > ):
Code:
181c181
< CONFIG_CC_OPTIMIZE_FOR_SIZE=y
---
> # CONFIG_CC_OPTIMIZE_FOR_SIZE is not set
221c221
< # CONFIG_JUMP_LABEL is not set
---
> CONFIG_JUMP_LABEL=y
625,626c625,626
< # CONFIG_IA32_AOUT is not set
< # CONFIG_X86_X32 is not set
---
> CONFIG_IA32_AOUT=y
> CONFIG_X86_X32=y
1114d1113
< # CONFIG_NET_9P_RDMA is not set
1148c1147
< # CONFIG_CONNECTOR is not set
---
> CONFIG_CONNECTOR=m
1701,1702c1700
< CONFIG_MLX4_CORE=m
< # CONFIG_MLX4_DEBUG is not set
---
> # CONFIG_MLX4_CORE is not set
2529d2526
< CONFIG_DRM_TTM=m
2539,2540c2536
< CONFIG_DRM_RADEON=m
< # CONFIG_DRM_RADEON_UMS is not set
---
> # CONFIG_DRM_RADEON is not set
2543c2539,2541
< # CONFIG_DRM_I915 is not set
---
> CONFIG_DRM_I915=m
> # CONFIG_DRM_I915_KMS is not set
> # CONFIG_DRM_I915_PRELIMINARY_HW_SUPPORT is not set
2586a2585
> # CONFIG_FB_UVESA is not set
2757a2757
> CONFIG_SND_HDA_I915=y
3336c3316
< # CONFIG_MXM_WMI is not set
---
> CONFIG_MXM_WMI=m
3542d3521
< CONFIG_SUNRPC_XPRT_RDMA=m
3622c3601
< CONFIG_PRINTK_TIME=y
---
> # CONFIG_PRINTK_TIME is not set
3660a3640
> # CONFIG_KMEMCHECK is not set
3676,3677c3656,3657
< CONFIG_PANIC_ON_OOPS=y
< CONFIG_PANIC_ON_OOPS_VALUE=1
---
> # CONFIG_PANIC_ON_OOPS is not set
> CONFIG_PANIC_ON_OOPS_VALUE=0
3696c3676
< CONFIG_DEBUG_BUGVERBOSE=y
---
> # CONFIG_DEBUG_BUGVERBOSE is not set
3957c3937
< # CONFIG_KVM_AMD is not set
---
> CONFIG_KVM_AMD=m
4001d3980
< CONFIG_GENERIC_ALLOCATOR=y


Do you see what may have caused the modules to not load?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logicien
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 838
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 4:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To have a clean of /usr/src/linux source code, I would do
Code:
make mrproper
make clean

The kernel and the initramfs versions loaded by Grub must be the same. That's imply (re)create an initramfs for the kernel version who have been (re)installed, every time you (re)install one.
_________________
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32006
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Logicien,

That is true if the initrd contains kernel modules.

My user space only initrd from April 2009 is still working properly.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logicien
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 838
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

I was precisely thinking to an initramfs who contain kernel modules. Your initrd from 2009 should contain some binaries and librairies of that time that have been upgraded on your Gentoo box since then. Would you not like to upgrade your initrd too?
_________________
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pinion
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Feb 2006
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I guess it really comes down to where your initrd is coming from, and what modules/built-ins it is using. Personally, since I encrypt my hard drive, I made the initrd I am using, and use minimal built-in drivers (no modules). So, I don't update it unless there is a specific need to. However, if using something like genkernel, I can see it would make sense to update the initrd with every kernel build.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32006
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 10:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Logicien,

My initrd is like firmware it runs one at every boot, does its job then exits.
I don't care about security updates as it does not interact with the outside world - even the keyboard, so it cannot be used to attack my system.

Why would I want to change it?

I'll make a new initrd next year, when I get a new PC :)
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum