Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Thinkpad buttons on T440s won't work
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MarcusXP
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Apr 2007
Posts: 184
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 2:12 am    Post subject: Thinkpad buttons on T440s won't work Reply with quote

Hi,

I just installed Gentoo on my new T440s.
Most of the stuff works, except the special Thinkpad buttons (mute, volume up/down, etc)
Some buttons work kinda flaky, some don't work at all.
Volume up/down is what I am interested in mostly. When I press any volume button it pops-up the OSD showing 0% volume and doesn't do anything (but the volume is at max already).

Anyone has a T440s with Gentoo installed, to confirm these buttons won't work?

I have this enabled in the kernel:

Device Drivers --->
[*] X86 Platform Specific Device Drivers --->
<M> ThinkPad ACPI Laptop Extras


According to this link: http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Thinkpad-acpi#Supported_ThinkPads
it seems T440s is supported (or not??). I see T440p and T440s are colored in RED, as opposed to some older models, colored in BLUE.
Does that mean this kernel option doesn't work for T440s/T440p?

thanks,
Marcus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
XavierMiller
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 5542
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 7:11 am    Post subject: nd Reply with quote

Hello,

On my S540, I also enabled Lenovo/Thinkpad stuff in the HID section. And everything is working.
_________________
Xavier Miller
(FR) Merci de respecter les règles du forum.
http://www.xaviermiller.be
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcusXP
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Apr 2007
Posts: 184
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 3:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the HID section is only the Lenovo keyboard, which has nothing to do with the Thinkpad special buttons.
I don't have that enabled, but I doubt it would make any difference in my case.

Anyone with T440s or T440p that can confirm/infirm the special buttons work for him?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
XavierMiller
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 5542
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why don't you try it ?
_________________
Xavier Miller
(FR) Merci de respecter les règles du forum.
http://www.xaviermiller.be
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2104
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Anyone with T440s or T440p that can confirm/infirm the special buttons work for him?


I have a t440s and the buttons work

the volume up/down/mute buttons work in kde and they worked without any setup
once sound was working

the micmute button I had to setup manually (using xbindkeys)

the brightness keys work once I set

echo N > /sys/module/video/parameters/brightness_switch_enabled

in /etc/local.d/baselayoutstart

rfkill works out of the box

the special windows keys at F9 ... don't do anything and the
last three seem to give identical keycodes
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcusXP
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Apr 2007
Posts: 184
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 3:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

XavierMiller wrote:
Why don't you try it ?


I did, it made no difference :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcusXP
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Apr 2007
Posts: 184
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 3:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

albright wrote:
Quote:
Anyone with T440s or T440p that can confirm/infirm the special buttons work for him?


I have a t440s and the buttons work

the volume up/down/mute buttons work in kde and they worked without any setup
once sound was working

the micmute button I had to setup manually (using xbindkeys)

the brightness keys work once I set

echo N > /sys/module/video/parameters/brightness_switch_enabled

in /etc/local.d/baselayoutstart

rfkill works out of the box

the special windows keys at F9 ... don't do anything and the
last three seem to give identical keycodes



For some reason I can't hear the welcome sound when I login in kde, so I am not sure if the sound works properly.
However, if I go to:
System Settings / Multimedia / Audio and Video Settings
I can see "HDA Intel PCH, ALC292 Analog" device first in the list and if I press the "Test" button, I can see the sound playing.
If I keep the mouse over the little speaker icon in the taskbar it shows a popup message "Volume at 0%" and I am not able to increase the volume.
If I click on the little speaker icon, it shows the "Master" volume all the way to the top (contradicting the message with "Volume at 0%")
Does it mean the sound works properly or not?

I didn't get the other part regarding the brightness keys, how do I make them work as well?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2104
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I doubt your sound is setup correctly

what happens if you run

Code:
speaker-test -c2 -tpink


(this program from alsa-utils)
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcusXP
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Apr 2007
Posts: 184
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

albright wrote:
I doubt your sound is setup correctly

what happens if you run

Code:
speaker-test -c2 -tpink


(this program from alsa-utils)


Looks like you are right:

Code:
T440s ~ # speaker-test -c2 -tpink

speaker-test 1.0.27.2

Playback device is default
Stream parameters are 48000Hz, S16_LE, 2 channels
Using 16 octaves of pink noise
ALSA lib /var/tmp/portage/media-libs/alsa-lib-1.0.27.2/work/alsa-lib-1.0.27.2/src/pcm/pcm_dmix.c:1022:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
Playback open error: -2,No such file or directory
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcusXP
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Apr 2007
Posts: 184
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what could be the problem?
I already have "Intel HD audio" enabled in the kernel under "Sound Card support\Advanced Linux sound architecture\PCI sound devices"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2104
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the problem is that the t440s has multiple sound cards (at least
three) and the system has to be directed to use the proper one.

on my t400s, alsamixer shows the following three cards:

HDA Intel PCH
Thinkpad Console Audio Control
HDA Intel HDMI

I had some trouble getting the correct setting, but in the end the
solution for me was to load the snd_hda_intel kernel module
with this parameter:

index=2

The way I did this was to first blacklist snd_hda_intel (adding
"blacklist snd_hda_intel" to /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf) and
then add these lines to /etc/conf.d/modules

modules="thinkpad_acpi snd_hda_intel snd_hda_codec_realtek"
module_thinkpad_acpi_args="fan_control=1"
module_snd_hda_intel_args="index=2"

(of course, the thinkpad_acpi stuff is unrelated to sound issues)
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcusXP
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Apr 2007
Posts: 184
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Feb 26, 2014 1:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I made the changes you suggested but no help.
I think none of the thinkpad keys work properly actually, not even the ones that increase/decrease screen brightness.

I had Thinkpad T430s before and W530 working just fine with Gentoo, and Thinkpad keys used to work out of the box, with no special configuration.
But they don't seem to work with T440s for some reason :(

If there's any owner of T440s using Gentoo out there, I'd really appreciate his experience.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2104
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Wed Feb 26, 2014 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so, still no sound?

anyway, about the keys, you could use xbindkeys to
set the function and find the keycodes for the thinkpad
keys
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 1675
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2014 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I recently received a T440s too, and the volume, brightness and wifi function keys work fine without any extra configuration needed in KDE. The brightness key I need to hold down longer, because /sys/class/backlight/acpi_video0/brightness goes from 0 to 100 and is only in/decremented by 1 at a time. The controls in /sys/class/backlight/intel_backlight/ seem to have no effect.

What does not work here is the external monitor hotkey, but that is expected I guess.

I summarized what I got to work so far in the wiki: http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Lenovo_ThinkPad_T440s
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2104
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Sat Mar 01, 2014 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@chithanh

a little off topic, but have had this problem

using min_power setting in ASPM causes ext4 disk errors and
remount as ro after plugging back into ac?

I have to use medium_power setting ... (but it low power setting
appears to work fine in windows)
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 1675
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2014 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If there is a problem with SATA ALPM, it is best to report it at kernel bugzilla.

Also try updating your BIOS to 2.21 if you have not already done so.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmp_
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Oct 2005
Posts: 294
Location: BCN / Catalonia (Spain)

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2014 11:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It may work, but does not change bright on KDE.

Does it work for you ?

albright wrote:
Quote:
Anyone with T440s or T440p that can confirm/infirm the special buttons work for him?


I have a t440s and the buttons work

the volume up/down/mute buttons work in kde and they worked without any setup
once sound was working

the micmute button I had to setup manually (using xbindkeys)

the brightness keys work once I set

echo N > /sys/module/video/parameters/brightness_switch_enabled

in /etc/local.d/baselayoutstart

rfkill works out of the box

the special windows keys at F9 ... don't do anything and the
last three seem to give identical keycodes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GOS
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Sep 2010
Posts: 72
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 8:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a Thinkpad R400 in use.

Here it is necessary to boot with "acpi_osi=Linux" and "acpi_backlight=vendor". Additionally one has to activate "Support for NVRAM Polling" in the "Thinkpad ACPI Laptop Extras" section. (Sometimes it is necessary to build the whole kernel new for working hotkeys - secure ".config" and then "make mrproper" before you build the kernel new. Don't forget to rebuild dbus, X11-drivers, eudev and other kernel-related packages in the "mrproper" case.)

Otherwise the mute button doesn't work properly and if one uses this button ones he destroys the proper function of the volume-keys. On the other hand on newer thinkpads (e.g. X230) only "acpi_backlight=vendor" is necessary (not for the hotkeys bur rather for a proper working backlight).

Best regards
GOS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jcjc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Mar 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2014 9:50 am    Post subject: ALPM bug Reply with quote

Hi everybody,

I posted a bug on the ALPM problem, as I believe this leads to hibernate crashes.
Maybe you can add additional info if you have any:

https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=72191

Bye
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2104
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2014 12:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for that; I sent a followup

the most important piece of information is that this
same problem infects windows systems too; see

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/T400-T500-and-newer-T-series/T440s-is-killing-Samsung-840-pro-SSD-s/td-p/1366903

My SSD is Samsung MZ7TD512HAGM-0001L (512gb) which is an oem version of
840 series I believe.

Do you also have Samsung SSD?
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dziadu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 May 2006
Posts: 436
Location: Kraków/Darmstadt/Munich

PostPosted: Sat Jul 12, 2014 6:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For me most of the buttons were working: Mute, VolUP, VolDown, BacklightUp, BacklightDown on kernel up to 3.12.21-r1.

After upgrade to 3.14.x series BacklightDown stopped working.

With 3.15.4/5 none of Backlight buttons is working anymore. Three volume buttons are OK.

I compared source code of thinkpad_acpi kernel module for 3.12.21 nad 3.15.5 but did not found anything suggesting changes in this part. But I am not expert in kernel modules.

Any ideas?
_________________
1% Twojego podatku to 100% naszej pasji!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 1675
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2014 8:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you try the acpi_backlight=vendor workaround which is suggested in the wiki?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2104
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
After upgrade to 3.14.x series BacklightDown stopped working.
With 3.15.4/5 none of Backlight buttons is working anymore. Three volume buttons are OK.


FWIW, I'm running 3.15.6 and the backlight keys work, given (as mentioned above)
that I run

echo N > /sys/module/video/parameters/brightness_switch_enabled

at bootup

Without the echo the brightness keys still work but you have to hit them about
5 or six times to get one change in brightness
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dziadu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 May 2006
Posts: 436
Location: Kraków/Darmstadt/Munich

PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2014 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The
Code:
acpi_backlight=vendor
does not change anything for me.

Quote:
echo N > /sys/module/video/parameters/brightness_switch_enabled

at bootup


Does it must be run at some certain stage of boot or can be done in already running system? Becasue for me now it also does not work.

The BrightnessUp button works, but no BrightnessDown. Crrently I use kernel 3.15.7
_________________
1% Twojego podatku to 100% naszej pasji!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dziadu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 May 2006
Posts: 436
Location: Kraków/Darmstadt/Munich

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2014 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kernel 3.16 and still the same problem.

I additionally tested with xev, here is the message when I press Fn+BrightnesUp

Code:
KeyRelease event, serial 55, synthetic NO, window 0x5400001,
    root 0x2ba, subw 0x0, time 2052863, (-481,-292), root:(0,294),
    state 0x10, keycode 233 (keysym 0x1008ff02, XF86MonBrightnessUp), same_screen YES,
    XLookupString gives 0 bytes:
    XFilterEvent returns: False


There is no input for BrightnessDown.

Also showkey does not show anything for BrightnesDown keys. Looks like this key is not recognized at all (I have similarly no input for MicMute button but is nod crucial fro me).
_________________
1% Twojego podatku to 100% naszej pasji!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum