Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
pm-suspend *almost* working
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tant0c1b0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Aug 2013
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Sun Dec 29, 2013 1:38 am    Post subject: pm-suspend *almost* working Reply with quote

Hi,
suspend-to-ram almost works on my laptop: I mean, the computer gets resumed, but it seems that the video card does not wake up (the display only shows a black screen). However, Gentoo seems to respond, infact I managed to shut down the pc by reminding the steps (CTRL+ALT+F2->enter username->enter password->sudo halt->enter password) without having to look at the gui. In addition/for example, the music I was playing before resuming gets resumed too, so I am almost sure the laptop gets resumed, except for the "gui part". Here is the pm-suspend log:
Code:
gigi@laptop ~ $ cat /var/log/pm-suspend.log             
Initial commandline parameters:
Blacklisting 01grub.
Blacklisting 90clock.
Sun Dec 29 02:14:59 CET 2013: Running hooks for suspend.
Running hook /usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/00logging suspend suspend:
Linux laptop 3.10.17-gentoo #28 SMP Sat Dec 21 23:43:03 CET 2013 x86_64 AMD A8-4500M APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
Module                  Size  Used by
vboxnetflt             15634  0
vboxnetadp             17702  0
vboxdrv              1809181  2 vboxnetadp,vboxnetflt
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:       7549976    1300344    6249632          0     106784     680340
-/+ buffers/cache:     513220    7036756
Swap:      2665468          0    2665468

/usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/00logging suspend suspend: success.
Running hook /usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/00powersave suspend suspend:
Blacklisting 01grub.
Blacklisting 90clock.

/usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/00powersave suspend suspend: success.
Running hook /usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/01grub suspend suspend:

/usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/01grub suspend suspend: success.
Running hook /usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/49bluetooth suspend suspend:

/usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/49bluetooth suspend suspend: success.
Running hook /usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/75modules suspend suspend:

/usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/75modules suspend suspend: success.
Running hook /usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/90clock suspend suspend:

/usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/90clock suspend suspend: success.
Running hook /usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/94cpufreq suspend suspend:

/usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/94cpufreq suspend suspend: success.
Running hook /usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/95led suspend suspend:

/usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/95led suspend suspend: success.
Running hook /usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/98video-quirk-db-handler suspend suspend:
Kernel modesetting video driver detected, not using quirks.

/usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/98video-quirk-db-handler suspend suspend: success.
Running hook /usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/99video suspend suspend:
kernel.acpi_video_flags = 0

/usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/99video suspend suspend: success.
Sun Dec 29 02:15:00 CET 2013: performing suspend
Sun Dec 29 02:15:11 CET 2013: Awake.
Sun Dec 29 02:15:11 CET 2013: Running hooks for resume
Running hook /usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/99video resume suspend:

/usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/99video resume suspend: success.
Running hook /usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/98video-quirk-db-handler resume suspend:

/usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/98video-quirk-db-handler resume suspend: success.
Running hook /usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/95led resume suspend:

/usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/95led resume suspend: success.
Running hook /usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/94cpufreq resume suspend:

/usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/94cpufreq resume suspend: success.
Running hook /usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/90clock resume suspend:

/usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/90clock resume suspend: success.
Running hook /usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/75modules resume suspend:
Reloaded unloaded modules.

/usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/75modules resume suspend: success.
Running hook /usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/49bluetooth resume suspend:

/usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/49bluetooth resume suspend: success.
Running hook /usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/01grub resume suspend:

/usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/01grub resume suspend: success.
Running hook /usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/00powersave resume suspend:
Blacklisting 01grub.
Blacklisting 90clock.

/usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/00powersave resume suspend: success.
Running hook /usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/00logging resume suspend:

/usr/lib64/pm-utils/sleep.d/00logging resume suspend: success.
Sun Dec 29 02:15:11 CET 2013: Finished.

The laptop has a radeon card:
Code:
gigi@laptop ~ $ sudo lshw | grep -i radeon
          product: AMD A8-4500M APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics
          version: AMD A8-4500M APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics
             product: Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]
             configuration: driver=radeon latency=0
                product: Seymour [Radeon HD 6400M/7400M Series]
                configuration: driver=radeon latency=0

Thanks in advance for the help ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
depontius
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 2438

PostPosted: Sun Dec 29, 2013 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe that making specia provisions for the nVidia cards in order to suspend/hibernate is normal. I use pm-utils to suspend the system that I'm on now, but this system has Radeon graphics. Another system does have nVidia, but it uses hibernate-script to suspend. I'd read the pm-utils docs and see if there is a section on configuring around nVidia graphics.
_________________
.sigs waste space and bandwidth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tant0c1b0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Aug 2013
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2013 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

depontius wrote:
I believe that making specia provisions for the nVidia cards in order to suspend/hibernate is normal. I use pm-utils to suspend the system that I'm on now, but this system has Radeon graphics. Another system does have nVidia, but it uses hibernate-script to suspend. I'd read the pm-utils docs and see if there is a section on configuring around nVidia graphics.

I read some under /usr/share/doc but that wasn't useful, at least for me. I have not the right skills to create my own scripts for pm-utils, is there any thing I can do? Is there a standard procedure to suspend/resume the gpu? Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
depontius
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 2438

PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2013 3:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

First, I know you have radeon hardware, but are you using the Catalyst or radeon driver for it?

Second, do you have an external monitor you can hook up to your laptop, and see how it fares through suspend/resume? I did a little looking with "pm-utils radeon", and there is a partially relevant thread here: http://forums.opensuse.org/english/get-technical-help-here/laptop/484970-radeon-black-screen-after-suspend.html

At the moment, I'm going to guess that as part of suspend the backlight has been turned off, and it is not getting turned back on during resume. If the external monitor just works, it solidifies the case for this hypothesis. I see "radeontool" as a dependency for pm-utils when VIDEO_CARDS="radeon" is set. One of the functions of radeontool is controlling the backlight.

Good luck.
_________________
.sigs waste space and bandwidth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tant0c1b0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Aug 2013
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

depontius wrote:
First, I know you have radeon hardware, but are you using the Catalyst or radeon driver for it?

Second, do you have an external monitor you can hook up to your laptop, and see how it fares through suspend/resume? I did a little looking with "pm-utils radeon", and there is a partially relevant thread here: http://forums.opensuse.org/english/get-technical-help-here/laptop/484970-radeon-black-screen-after-suspend.html

At the moment, I'm going to guess that as part of suspend the backlight has been turned off, and it is not getting turned back on during resume. If the external monitor just works, it solidifies the case for this hypothesis. I see "radeontool" as a dependency for pm-utils when VIDEO_CARDS="radeon" is set. One of the functions of radeontool is controlling the backlight.

Good luck.

Sorry for the imprecision, I use open source/radeon drivers. I tried the script suggested in the discussion you linked, without success. Also, I checked whether radeontool is installed, and it is, as a dependency of pm-utils (as you said). Tomorrow I'll try the external monitor: is it the same if I use VGA or HDMI? Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
depontius
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 2438

PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 2:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

An external monitor shouldn't matter how it's attached - the laptop screen does powersaving things. External monitors have powersaving modes too, but they're not directly tied into suspend/hibernate the way the laptop screen is. This will let you know if the problem is that the backlight isn't turning back on after resume.
_________________
.sigs waste space and bandwidth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tant0c1b0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Aug 2013
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

depontius wrote:
An external monitor shouldn't matter how it's attached - the laptop screen does powersaving things. External monitors have powersaving modes too, but they're not directly tied into suspend/hibernate the way the laptop screen is. This will let you know if the problem is that the backlight isn't turning back on after resume.

When using an external monitor, the suspension seems to be succesful, however it resumes immediatly, without pressing any key. The vga monitor gets resumed, though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
depontius
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 2438

PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 10:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know you have radeontool installed, but can you find where in the scripts it's getting run, or are you supposed to add a tweak to use it?
_________________
.sigs waste space and bandwidth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum