Framework for mass installation and maintenance of gentoo
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
AgBr
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 9:03 pm    Post subject: Framework for mass installation and maintenance of gentoo Reply with quote

I am a teacher at a school for vocational education and besides that responsible for the maintenance of about 140 workstations. To make this possible without running crazy, between 2005 and 2010 a former student of me, Manuel Mommertz, and I developed a framework to mass install and maintain the whole installation (well, in fact, my part had been mainly requestig for features and testing). Since 2010 I am mostly on my own now, maintainig the whole system and slowly increasing my insight in how it works.
Unfortunately the headmaster now decided to migrate the entire school to Microsoft-Software whithin the next two years. So Manuel and I decided to hand the system over to the interested public, as long as I have a running system at hand to help getting it started elsewhere.

How it works