Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
old grub still around after grub2 installation
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jody
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 460
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2013 3:13 pm    Post subject: old grub still around after grub2 installation Reply with quote

Hi
I migrated to grub2 following the instructions in "GRUB2 migration from GRUB Legacy"
including "Replacing and removing GRUB Legacy".
However, when i boot my computer now, the old grub.menu (with the 'GRUB2 Chainload' entry) always appears first.

I have unmerged the old grub:
Code:
  ~ $ emerge --searchdesc "GRUB boot loader"
Searching...   
[ Results for search key : GRUB boot loader ]
[ Applications found : 1 ]

*  sys-boot/grub
      Latest version available: 2.00_p5107-r2
      Latest version installed: 2.00_p5107-r2
      Size of files: 7,445 kB
      Homepage:      http://www.gnu.org/software/grub/
      Description:   GNU GRUB boot loader
      License:       GPL-3 truetype? ( BitstreamVera GPL-2-with-font-exception )


So i have no idea why it still takes over
(I don't know if this is relevant, but before doing the grub2 install, i did 'emerge --noreplace sys-boot/grub:0', as suggested by the "GRUB2 Quick Start")

Can anybody help here?
Thanks
Jody
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clad in Sky
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 May 2007
Posts: 773
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2013 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grub legacy still in the MBR of your drive, perhaps?
_________________
Kali Ma
Now it's autumn of the aeons
Dance with your sword
Now it's time for the harvest
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jody
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 460
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2013 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Excuse my ignorance,
but how can i check?
And how should i remove it?

Thanks
Jody
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clad in Sky
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 May 2007
Posts: 773
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2013 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I use Lilo, so it was just a guess.

I just read the migration guide - you probably didn't delete the lines:

title GRUB2 Chainload
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/grub/i386-pc/core.img
boot

from your grub.conf.

I'm no expert in Grub, since I've always used lilo except for one install, and that was when gentoo still had grub legacy. So delete these lines at your own risk or wait until someone with more knowledge of Grub posts.
If you make your bootloader unable to boot, you'll need to reboot using a boot cd, usb stick or whatever to make changes to your Grub.conf.
_________________
Kali Ma
Now it's autumn of the aeons
Dance with your sword
Now it's time for the harvest
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jody
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 460
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2013 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

unfortunately the removal of these lines did not help... :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clad in Sky
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 May 2007
Posts: 773
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2013 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hm, can't help you then, sorry.

Did you do "grub2-install" after deleting the lines from Grub.conf? That's the last idea I have.
_________________
Kali Ma
Now it's autumn of the aeons
Dance with your sword
Now it's time for the harvest
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tryn
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Dec 2002
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2013 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jody

You said
Quote:
i did 'emerge --noreplace sys-boot/grub:0'

So maybe the mention is still in the /var/lib/portage/world with the :0 still there.

If it is still there you might remove it and run this command to see if the old grub is gone.
Code:
emerge --depclean -p


Then try running the commands for the grub file again.

But first mount boot then.
Code:
grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg


I don't know if this will help or not but you could try it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum