Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Adobe Flash: some content is garbled
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mrbassie
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 May 2013
Posts: 198

PostPosted: Thu Sep 26, 2013 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

evoweiss wrote:
Hi,

eccerr0r wrote:
Yes this is for pretty much any video I think, I have yet to try my nvidia cards though.


I noticed that my kubuntu distribution is running Firefox 24. I'll emerge it, try to see if it works, and will report back.

Best,

Alex


I just rolled back firefox from 24 on my other laptop because adobe-flash didn't work at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dE_logics
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Jan 2009
Posts: 2173
Location: $TERM

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2013 3:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Core i3 sandy bridge integrated graphics here.
_________________
Buy from companies supporting opensource -- IBM, Dell, HP, Hitachi, Google etc...
Disfavor companies supporting only Win -- Logitech, Epson, Adobe, Autodesk, Pioneer, Kingston, WD, Yahoo, MSI, XFX
My blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1529
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2013 6:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure, but I think that upgrading to Firefox-24 did the trick on my end. Try it and see... I need a good test website.

Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 3874
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2013 2:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So far so good, using Firefox-24.0-r1 indeed seems to work on my RadeonHD 5770... Seems like an API change. Boo...

Hope this doesn't turn around and end up breaking again though.

Thanks for the tip.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DarkMorph
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Jan 2004
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I came here to post a problem on exactly this! Running on an intel haswell laptop so it doesn't surprise me other intel video driver users are seeing this.. I'm on Firefox 24 with the SNA option enabled for the intel video driver. Toggling hardware acceleration in flash doesn't seem to matter (same goes for editing the mms.cfg file in /etc/adobe, no effect.)

Issues only seem to occur on certain sites. Aggressive content filtering seems to have some role but doesn't explain everything.

Examples:

youtube works fine. Even full-screen.
speedtest.net's plugin shows up if I suspend content filtering. It looks fine, but if I scroll the flash embed off-screen even partially the image is all corrupted.
veoh's site is completely unusable. (Screenshot: http://img198.imageshack.us/img198/108/g85.png)

Other random flash embeds exhibit unusual flickering when the mouse moves over it. Sometimes the content can be seen but often it is outright corrupted; it does not appear to be random. The corrupted display looks like it's a garbled mess of what is supposed to be actually drawn to the screen. The colours and patterns within the nonsense are not arbitrary that's for sure. Either flash is broken or the intel driver is not working right with something. EDIT: I have click-to-play enabled on firefox. It's never been an issue on my other computers though.

Flash is 11.2.202.310 here with +64bit +sse2 flags.

I have an old laptop with nvidia drivers and I have never seen this issue with Flash which further suggests intel drivers have a role in this problem.
_________________
What do you see, Atrus? What do you see?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dE_logics
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Jan 2009
Posts: 2173
Location: $TERM

PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 2:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

But in my case if I run FF with a new user, the problem does not persist.
_________________
Buy from companies supporting opensource -- IBM, Dell, HP, Hitachi, Google etc...
Disfavor companies supporting only Win -- Logitech, Epson, Adobe, Autodesk, Pioneer, Kingston, WD, Yahoo, MSI, XFX
My blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrbassie
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 May 2013
Posts: 198

PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
So far so good, using Firefox-24.0-r1 indeed seems to work on my RadeonHD 5770... Seems like an API change. Boo...

Hope this doesn't turn around and end up breaking again though.

Thanks for the tip.


It's worked for me too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DarkMorph
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Jan 2004
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2013 3:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Using kernel 3.11 seems to be less problematic but it still doesn't behave perfectly. (Tested today with 3.11.4)
_________________
What do you see, Atrus? What do you see?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 3874
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 6:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Incidentally, the firefox24 that worked fine for me on fglrx/RadeonHD 5770, I was forced to move the install to a Intel HD3000 graphics machine, and it retains its good working state.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rickj
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 343
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2013 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have what may be a variant of the same problem.

All flash ads, youtube content and the like viewed in Firefox are colour negative, and compressed horizontally into half the frame provided. In addition, the static ads flicker and flash annoyingly.

I tried changing over to gnash instead of adobe flash, but this had no effect on the problem.

In Opera, I see subtly different effects, mainly colour countouring in a wide range of garish colours.

To me the most mystifying part of this is that, if I download a .flv movie, which I assume to be flash, it plays perfectly in adobe or gnash. It seems that use within a browser is needed to show the effects.

I'm running kernel 3.10.7-gentoo-r1, Firefox 17.0.9, and an Intel 82865G Integrated Graphics Controller driven by xf86-video-intel-2.99.905 from xorg-server-1.14.3

Any suggestion would be gratefully received.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
haarp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Oct 2007
Posts: 372

PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2013 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a me too. firefox-24.0-r1 is already what I'm using, no improvement.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anarchy
Developer
Developer


Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 4:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For all those with flash issues in firefox, you can -system-cairo and emerge firefox and be fine. We know it is a cairo issue when using system-cairo but have not raced the actual problem to component in cairo that is causing bug.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DarkMorph
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Jan 2004
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 5:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anarchy wrote:
For all those with flash issues in firefox, you can -system-cairo and emerge firefox and be fine. We know it is a cairo issue when using system-cairo but have not raced the actual problem to component in cairo that is causing bug.


Yes! Thank you! Disabling the system-cairo USE flag solved the problem! :D
_________________
What do you see, Atrus? What do you see?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 3874
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 3:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How does the system-cairo translate back to firefox-17.0.9 (stable)? It appears this USE flag is in Firefox-24+...

Will this USE flag be backported to stable, or will some new version be stabilized?
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 2269
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does it matter what system cairo is being used?

Or what flags it is compiled with?
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - amd64-multilib, 3.15.9-zen, glibc-2.17, gcc-4.7.3-r1, eudev
xorg-server-1.16, openbox w/lxpanel, nouveau, oss4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 3874
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apparently that's still undetermined :D
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anarchy
Developer
Developer


Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
How does the system-cairo translate back to firefox-17.0.9 (stable)? It appears this USE flag is in Firefox-24+...

Will this USE flag be backported to stable, or will some new version be stabilized?


We are in process of stabilizing 24.x which will be next esr release in gentoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anarchy
Developer
Developer


Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
Does it matter what system cairo is being used?

Or what flags it is compiled with?


If using cairo-1.10.x and you are seeing an issue would be interesting to see. This should only be effecting cairo-1.12 users.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rickj
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 343
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately the -system-cairo USE flag in firefox-24 did not work for me.

I suspect mine is a video driver issue. Installing a video card with the radeon driver fixes the problem.

It seems the Intel 82865G driver xf86-video-intel Is somehow at fault.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lebkoungcity
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Nov 2008
Posts: 55
Location: Lebkoungcity (=Nuremberg)

PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2014 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rickj wrote:
Unfortunately the -system-cairo USE flag in firefox-24 did not work for me.

I suspect mine is a video driver issue. Installing a video card with the radeon driver fixes the problem.

It seems the Intel 82865G driver xf86-video-intel Is somehow at fault.


I finally solved it by emerging x11-drivers/xf86-video-intel with USE="-sna uxa".

This article gave me the idea to try it this way:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Intel_Graphics#Corruption.2FUnresponsiveness_in_Chromium_and_Firefox

Regards,
Andy
_________________
"The most dangerous world view is the world view of the ones who haven't viewed the world."
Alexander von Humboldt (1769-1859)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gcyoung
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Jul 2007
Posts: 83
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2014 9:39 am    Post subject: Intel graphics Reply with quote

Thanks Lebkoungcity, I struggled for days to find the solution to my adobe-flash garbled graphics after moving to systemd. In the event that it might help others with a similar system and problem, I mention that I am running a slave mythfrontend and webbrowser on an optiplex 32bit dual intel processor machine, with intel (i915) graphics. I found the article you mentioned very useful, and it seems to confirm that the problem lies with the intel graphics driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
donpine
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Nov 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Feb 08, 2014 1:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank You Lebkoungcity! Worked like a charm one of my old Dells with a 82865G card. On another with a 82845G I had to also rebuild my fonts, but problem solved on it too. :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum