Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
ad-blocking with your hosts file
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
slick
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 20 Apr 2003
Posts: 3466

PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

:!: Be sure always check the (auto-updated) hosts-file for non-127. IPs. Otherwise an attacker can offer an adblock-service and if you use this he can change the IP from the website off your bank to his IP, simulate the bank-website and fish your inputs (= your money)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bigun
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 1954

PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2006 12:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

*bookmarked*
_________________
BK - "Then, after months of loud-mouthed shit-talking and own-fart smelling, you lost the big bet, fair snd square, and are being a baby about it."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HeXiLeD
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 Aug 2005
Posts: 946
Location: online

PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2006 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have noticed one thing when using vmware, and that is that the linux hosts file does not block anything for vmware OS's.

am i wrong or its just my setup ?

what i mean is:
gentoo uses eth0 to connect to the internet and if i have; lets say http://support.microsoft.com in /etc/hosts, gentoo cannot connect to it as expected.

now i have vmware using eth0 in a promiscous mode and if i open the same url in any vmware operating system i get access to the page. In other words, vmware doesnt read /etc/hosts from linux.

Is there a way of changing this to make it read the linux hosts?

I have also started a topic here that in some way is kinda related to this question.
_________________
443640, Questioning, Unsolved, Configs, BinHost
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bigun
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 1954

PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2006 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You may have to change the hosts file in the VM.
_________________
BK - "Then, after months of loud-mouthed shit-talking and own-fart smelling, you lost the big bet, fair snd square, and are being a baby about it."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HeXiLeD
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 Aug 2005
Posts: 946
Location: online

PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2006 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes i know. but the point was to use one hosts file only in linux to filter everything.
_________________
443640, Questioning, Unsolved, Configs, BinHost
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Archangel1
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Apr 2004
Posts: 1212
Location: Work

PostPosted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I suspect it bypasses the Linux hosts file, so yes, you'd have to change the VM one.
What about if you use a different form of networking? I forget what it's called, but there's one where it has to communicate through the host rather than appearing to be on the network itself. That might turn the trick.
_________________
What are you, stupid?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bigun
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 1954

PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2006 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

*bookmarked*
_________________
BK - "Then, after months of loud-mouthed shit-talking and own-fart smelling, you lost the big bet, fair snd square, and are being a baby about it."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HeXiLeD
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 Aug 2005
Posts: 946
Location: online

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2010 4:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My current update is available here with 137.535 entries.
It's a new archive and with wiki page.
_________________
443640, Questioning, Unsolved, Configs, BinHost
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slick
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 20 Apr 2003
Posts: 3466

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 9:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jesse wrote:
Is this really sane? It slows my webbrowsing to an utter crawl.


Install a small Webserver on 127.0.0.1 and point the document root to a empty directory. This is fast, because the browser get a 404 directly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 746
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2010 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

KenTI wrote:
i use both opera and firefox, and when i was using privoxy (with the default configuration still, i wasn't able to manage tweaking it :oops: ) i noticed that privoxy really slowed down browsing

now using opera just with the hosts filter works even faster than firefox, it is a bit complicated to look up for the url of each banner (especially for flash, with adblock you just have to click on the label that appears on the side of the ad)

I realize the age of the post I'm quoting (is from 2004), but I thought I'd mention this snippet from the FAQ at the Privoxy website, which helped me and might help someone strolling around here some day!

http://www.privoxy.org/faq/trouble.html#GENTOO-RICERS wrote:

5.23. I compiled Privoxy with Gentoo's portage and it appears to be very slow. Why?

Probably you unintentionally compiled Privoxy without threading support in which case requests have to be serialized and only one can be served at the same time.

Check your "USE" flags and make sure they include "threads". If they don't, add the flag and rebuild Privoxy.

If you compiled Privoxy with threading support (on POSIX-based systems), the "Conditional #defines" section on http://config.privoxy.org/show-status will list "FEATURE_PTHREAD" as "enabled".

Btw., only now I noticed the #GENTOO-RICERS haha!


Anyways, I hope this helps!
Works nicely for me. :]
_________________
Kind Regards,
~ The Noob Unlimited ~

Sore wa sore, kore wa kore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
user
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Feb 2004
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2010 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Or use own dns resolver for blocking ad domains.

1) download http://pgl.yoyo.org/adservers/serverlist.php?hostformat=bindconfig;showintro=0
2) save it to /etc/bind/named.adservers.conf
3) strip html header/footer
4) add include directive to /etc/bind/named.conf
include "/etc/bind/named.adservers.conf";
5) restart your dns resolver
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slick
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 20 Apr 2003
Posts: 3466

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2010 9:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

user wrote:
Or use own dns resolver for blocking ad domains.

1) download http://pgl.yoyo.org/adservers/serverlist.php?hostformat=bindconfig;showintro=0
...

to add all with 127.0.0.1 to /etc/hosts simply do:
Code:
lynx --dump "http://pgl.yoyo.org/adservers/serverlist.php?hostformat=bindconfig;showintro=0" | grep "^zone " | cut -d "\"" -f 2 | while read host ; do echo "127.0.0.1 $host" >> /etc/hosts ; done
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sadako
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Aug 2004
Posts: 3753
Location: sleeping in the bathtub

PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Something else you can do, block via ip address using iptables with ipsets, www.bluetack.co.uk has some extensive lists, not just for blocking adds but potentially hostile or privacy-invading hosts too.

I have that along with dnsmasq with a large hosts file (as discussed in this thread) and privoxy (which blocks most adds for me anyways) on my router.
_________________
"You have to invite me in"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HeXiLeD
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 Aug 2005
Posts: 946
Location: online

PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 2:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Updated today with 294278+ entries @ http://nixbits.net/wiki/Hostsfile
_________________
443640, Questioning, Unsolved, Configs, BinHost
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lostinplace
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Dec 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 2:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

RedBeard0531 wrote:
I know that this is an unpopular opinion, but this is a VERY bad idea. Those adds are there for a reason. that page that is giving you free information is trying to make somemoney, and is probrobly barley covering the bandwidth. Imagine if everyone did this. It might mean the end of the free internet. I have no problem blocking popups because they are annoying, but are the ad bars THAT annoying? Im not trying to preach, I just want to pointout some of the consequenses of this.


Another way to look at it would be...

I pay for my bandwidth, just like many other users. Particularly rural users who might use cellular service, or in countries with tax on bandwidth. I also usually find the most ads on sites that are selling things themselves.

Perhaps the sites that have a sprinkling of discrete ads are not so(or at all) annoying, such as the small add text above my personal gmail account, even when it offers me things that make me blush. However the vast majority of the internet, and the world outside the box for that matter, splash ads on like a five year old finger painting. (I could at this point interject something about the cable co charging me to watch commercials it charges millions of dollars to air, but I wont.) Chances are, if you're using your cell phone to hit such a web site, it cost you more than that entity made.

Even when I'm not blocking ads, I'm still not looking at them, or clicking them. I am however chewing up my bandwidth, taxing my ISP, and being subliminally predisposed to a fetish to buy Prada, hit the gym, and order a sex doll. And all while simply trying to determine which roses mean friendly apology not secret stalker so my secretary doesn't get me shipped off to some P-C workplace courses. The flowers ultimately costs me $80 from the florist site, and a few hundred from the Prada and the sex doll (can't hit the gym, UPS is coming) that brought said florist's gross from $80 to $80.08.

Drop the ads, put up a donation button, and explain its the button or 10 ads, and you'll probably get at least $1 a click instead of $.01. But don't expect to convince me it's a bad idea to block the 'Bomb building for dummies' ads my garden supply store blasts at me every time I give them $200 for fertilizer for my tomatoes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HeXiLeD
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 Aug 2005
Posts: 946
Location: online

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RedBeard0531 wrote:
I know that this is an unpopular opinion, but this is a VERY bad idea. Those adds are there for a reason. that page that is giving you free information is trying to make somemoney, and is probrobly barley covering the bandwidth. Imagine if everyone did this. It might mean the end of the free Internet. I have no problem blocking popups because they are annoying, but are the ad bars THAT annoying? Im not trying to preach, I just want to pointout some of the consequenses of this.


It not an unpopular opinion. It is a subversive statement from someone that has something to win from it. It is also not just about the ads which by being removed or blocked also improve the browser, page and computer performance not to mention the huge security benefit that comes with it. How about cookies? first and 3rd part cookies and the crap that they plant on our computer from a location we don't want to access or have no clue we are downloading from ?
How about java apps that self execute or try to? Are we forgetting spyware? Adware and all the rest of *wares out there we don't want ?

If using a hosts file is a bad idea why is it that any decent firewall and or anti-virus out there supply similar functionality and where is the difference because there is one. HOSTs file is free and the other options not really. Is free internet going to end because of proprietary software that blocks ads ?

Lets point all the consequences of blocking sites of this nature with this method versus what we can lose and then weight things.
Claiming that this would end free internet is quite the social engineering mind egg plant to use other peoples lack of knowledge against themselves and making them believe that could actually happen while leading them to drop their protection measures.

Were we being bombed with ads 15 or 25 years ago when it was all very very very free and way more free than now ? Did the internet end back then ?

Whats the next claim ? Open free/source is going to end because there are no 3rd party ads supporting it ? It is the exact same thing.

When someone access IMDB which makes enough money to run and then splashes us with 3rd party ads on their site who pay IMDB to be allowed there; how is it any of this free ? (rhetorical question)
_________________
443640, Questioning, Unsolved, Configs, BinHost
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 2207
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2013 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's a lot of questions for someone whose last post was 7 years ago and last posted in this topic a decade ago...

Anyway, this is how I do it using BIND; there's no long timeouts because the DNS server says "no" right away:
/etc/bind/named.conf:
[...]
include "/etc/bind/adblock.conf";
[...]

/etc/bind/adblock.conf:
[...]
zone "adrevolver.com" { type master; file "pri/empty.zone"; };
zone "adtech.de"      { type master; file "pri/empty.zone"; };
zone "adtechus.com"   { type master; file "pri/empty.zone"; };
zone "atdmt.com"      { type master; file "pri/empty.zone"; };
[...]

/etc/bind/pri/empty.zone:
$TTL 1W
@ IN SOA    localhost. root.localhost. ( 1 28800 14400 604800 86400 )
@ IN NS     localhost.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
djdunn
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 651
Location: Under the moon and all the stars in the sky.

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2013 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if blocking adverts is immoral, than not installing flash which effectively makes flash based adverts immoral too?

wikipedia doesnt show porn popups and popunders playing music and videos and begging that i go somewhere or porn adds wasting my bandwidth.


if one of the most popular sites on the internet can work without forcing noisy high bandwidth adverts including full video, immoral porn smut, seizure inducing blinking, and filling my screen with 4 popups every time i click on a link, than the future of the free internet is not in peril, but the future of crap internet sites might be.
_________________
Now, with penguins, (cuddly such), "contented" means it has either just gotten laid, or it's stuffed on herring. Take it from me, I'm an expert on penguins, those are really the only two options.

--Linus Torvalds
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anbc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2013
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Mon Oct 07, 2013 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've decided to switch back to AdBlock in Firefox and remove these localhost blocks.

The hosts file block works well - no slowdown at all, but it's a pain to keep updated and is rather outdated in methodology!


Last edited by anbc on Wed Oct 09, 2013 4:29 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
666threesixes666
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2011
Posts: 1223
Location: 42.68n 85.41w

PostPosted: Mon Oct 07, 2013 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

this is not a sane solution, and should be locked..... your computer first checks hosts, runs through your 990000000 hosts then goes out to the internet. then, when it finds a bogus host, it loads your web page on your local computer! adblock plus was much easier.
_________________
cat /etc/*-release
Funtoo Linux - baselayout 2.2.0
consider this warning no. 1
http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/81Ku-vxIb3L._SL1500_.jpg
http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Special:Contributions/666threesixes666
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
init_6
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Jun 2008
Posts: 162

PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 5:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For my best solution is : dnsmasq + adblock + pixelserv on tomato based router.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_______0
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Oct 2012
Posts: 521

PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 1:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

init_6 wrote:
For my best solution is : dnsmasq + adblock + pixelserv on tomato based router.


what about instructions on how to glue all together??

By the way 0.0.0.0 instead of 127.0.0.1 works too. Apparently using 0.0.0.0 doesn't kill performance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_______0
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Oct 2012
Posts: 521

PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 1:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant P. wrote:
That's a lot of questions for someone whose last post was 7 years ago and last posted in this topic a decade ago...

Anyway, this is how I do it using BIND; there's no long timeouts because the DNS server says "no" right away:
/etc/bind/named.conf:
[...]
include "/etc/bind/adblock.conf";
[...]

/etc/bind/adblock.conf:
[...]
zone "adrevolver.com" { type master; file "pri/empty.zone"; };
zone "adtech.de"      { type master; file "pri/empty.zone"; };
zone "adtechus.com"   { type master; file "pri/empty.zone"; };
zone "atdmt.com"      { type master; file "pri/empty.zone"; };
[...]

/etc/bind/pri/empty.zone:
$TTL 1W
@ IN SOA    localhost. root.localhost. ( 1 28800 14400 604800 86400 )
@ IN NS     localhost.


Is that all?

emerge bind

make your changes.

start bind service

that simple?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
init_6
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Jun 2008
Posts: 162

PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 6:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

_______0 wrote:
what about instructions on how to glue all together??

By the way 0.0.0.0 instead of 127.0.0.1 works too. Apparently using 0.0.0.0 doesn't kill performance.


Set Up Universal Ad Blocking Through Your Router, ALL-U-NEED Ad Blocking v3.9e, Adblock for Tomato Routers, Adblock setup & install package Enough or you need more?

But in general adblock create a file which in turn uses dnsmasq to block the advertisement sources. pixelserv needed to show nothing instead of advertising.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum