Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Configuring network
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
honestrosewater
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Location: United States

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2011 2:15 am    Post subject: Configuring network Reply with quote

I'm stuck trying to configure my (wireless) network for a minimal install.

Code:
# ping -c 3 127.0.0.1


works fine, but

Code:
# ping -c 3 www.google.com


says, after 10 seconds or so,

Code:
ping: unknown host www.google.com


After failing to get things working with net-setup eth0, I tried setting everything manually using info from a machine on the same network, but that didn't resolve the unknown host problem either. Before setting things myself, /etc/resolv.conf had only comments in it saying that it was created by dhcpcd. Also, # ifconfig eth0 returned a setting for eth0, but no IP address was assigned. route -n showed only one entry in the routing table, I believe for destination 127.0.0.0. I temporarily disabled wireless encryption for the install because I had WPA on. I don't recall exactly what iwconfig told me, but the meaning was that nothing was set. I have an Atheros AR8151 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller (NDIS 6.20).

Is there anything that I can try before switching to a networkless install?

Many thanks. :^)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 8936

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2011 3:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Traditionally, eth0 is a wired interface. Do you have a wired NIC? If yes, using it would be simpler than sorting out wireless on the install medium. If you have no wired NIC or if you want to stick with wireless, please post the output of lspci -k ; ifconfig -a.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
honestrosewater
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Location: United States

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2011 4:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, of course, I will try wired.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
persica97
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2012 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello, did you solve the problem by the wireless install , or by wired install?

I have the Atheros AR8151 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller (NDIS 6.20), too. I installed gentoo using net-setup. But when I started gentoo, it failed to connect to the internet. Maybe it fails to detect AR8151. did you come with this problem? If so, Please tell me how you solve it ?

Besides, Ubuntu 11.10 can dectect AR8151, I tried lsmod to find out the name of the net module, But there is too many module using. do you know how to get the net module using by linux ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
honestrosewater
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Location: United States

PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2012 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

persica97 wrote:
hello, did you solve the problem by the wireless install , or by wired install?
No, I tried about 6 linux distros and never got a driver for this ethernet card to work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2642
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2012 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Post the output of lspci -nn. However, a quick google tells me the standard atl1c driver should take are of this card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
persica97
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gusar wrote:
Post the output of lspci -nn. However, a quick google tells me the standard atl1c driver should take are of this card.


I'm a new user of linux.Where can I get the standard atl1c? I went to the official netsite of Atheros, but I didn't find any driver. Besides, during the installation, I used net-setup to configure my network, and it worked. So, is there anyway that i can get the net-setup tool for my newly installed system?

PS: I just type lspci in the newly installed gentoo, and the result is 'command not found' :( .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2642
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 10:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lspci is part of the pciutils package. I'm very surprised you don't have it yet, it's part of the core packages required to run a machine.

By "standard driver" I mean it's in the kernel. You don't need to download anything, just compile your kernel properly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7747
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

persica97 wrote:
...I just type lspci in the newly installed gentoo, and the result is 'command not found' :( .
This is only on the path if you're logged in as root. Were you?

- John
_________________
This space intentionally left blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
persica97
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

honestrosewater wrote:
persica97 wrote:
hello, did you solve the problem by the wireless install , or by wired install?
No, I tried about 6 linux distros and never got a driver for this ethernet card to work.


Ubuntu 11.10 can get this ethernet card to work well. Besides, since it works during the installation using the minimal cd, I think it works in gentoo too. I just wonder wether the emerged kernerl-source is too new to support the network interface.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
persica97
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

John R. Graham wrote:
persica97 wrote:
...I just type lspci in the newly installed gentoo, and the result is 'command not found' :( .
This is only on the path if you're logged in as root. Were you?

- John


Yes, I was.

To get the network driver, I copied atl1c.ko in livecd envirement to the new gentoo. Since it works in the installation, I thought it would work in the new gentoo too. But when modprobe it, it seems to have no effect, and when insmod it, it said invalible. I really don't understand why it is so.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4638
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

persica97,

in Gentoo you do the job developers do in Ubuntu. The advantage here is you do not need to build all drivers for all possible hardware, all you need is drivers for your box. This results in much leaner and cleaner installation.

Did you read and understand Configuring the Kernel in the Handbook?

Also, there is Gentoo Kernel Guide .

Note, if you enable it as module then all you need to do is
Code:
make modules
make modules_install
no reboot required.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
persica97
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK! I go to read the gentoo kernel guide first.

I find my problem seems like the same as the following link mentioned http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-881635-start-0.html
But I don't know how to "compile second driver for my network card" :cry: There are too many things needed to learn!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31907
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lspci is provided by the pciutils package, which is not a part of stage3 install. To get lspci in your own install you need to
Code:
emerge pciutils
However, lspci tells about your hardware, so the command need not be run from your own install, since your hardware remains unchanged.

Some network cards need two kernel elements to make them work
The driver, In this case atl1c and a physical media driver.

Go into
Code:
make menuconfig
press the "/" and enter atl1c the kernel will show something like
Code:
  │ Symbol: ATL1C [=n]                                                      │ 
  │ Type  : tristate                                                        │ 
  │ Prompt: Atheros L1C Gigabit Ethernet support (EXPERIMENTAL)             │ 
  │   Defined at drivers/net/Kconfig:2501                                   │ 
  │   Depends on: NETDEVICES [=y] && NETDEV_1000 [=y] && PCI [=y] && EXPERI │ 
  │   Location:                                                             │ 
  │     -> Device Drivers                                                   │ 
  │       -> Network device support (NETDEVICES [=y])                       │ 
  │         -> Ethernet (1000 Mbit) (NETDEV_1000 [=y])                      │ 
  │   Selects: CRC32 [=y] && MII [=y]

This tells you what it depends on, where in the make menuconfig menu structure to find it and where the prompt is to enable this option.
Notice that setting this option also chooses
Code:
Selects: CRC32 [=y] && MII [=y]


You may also need an option under
Code:
< >   PHY Device support and infrastructure  --->
but as your driver turns on MII (Media Independent Interface) I suspect not.

There are several reasone why you cannot use *.ko files from one kernel in another kernel. There are a few kernel configureation options that must be
Code:
identical
between the two kernels. Identical gcc version must be used to build a kernel and its modules.

If you will use modprobe, the *.ko file must be in the right place and it must be in modprobes database of what kernel modules depend on what other kernel modules. modprobe tries to be clever and satisfy and load any modules the selected module depends on. Unlike insmod, which just does what its told. insmod needs full path names though.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
persica97
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks all! you are all helpfull!

I compiled the kernel again. with an careful attention, I find the tl1c and tl1e options in the kernel configure menu. There are really too many options! 8O The position is the same as NeddySeagoon showed. With the new compiled kernel, gentoo works nicely. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Schnulli
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Jun 2010
Posts: 159
Location: Bremen DE

PostPosted: Sat Sep 21, 2013 11:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

solved !


i had last days again same problem , couldnt get the NIC be working, if you like, here´s a working .config for Kernel 3.10.7, to make it easy for you, use genkernel #emerge genkernel and place this config in /etc/kernels and run then #genkernel all and u´ll find all needed in /boot, just to add into ur grub conf than, or as usually the old way
here are both configs:

-for genkernel
www.mlc-core.de/webfiles/kernel-config-x86_64-3.10.7-gentoo

the kernel .config
www.mlc-core.de/webfiles/.config //be placed in /usr/src/linux when u use the 3.10.7 ;)

By the way, i added some more in the section "networking" ;)

Kernel config is a bit more optimsed for Intel i3, i5, i7 Boards ;)

or.... quick and dirty, just copy it to /boot/ , dont forget to backup/rename ur old files: (use on own risk)
www.mlc-core.de/webfiles/System.map-genkernel-x86_64-3.10.7-gentoo
www.mlc-core.de/webfiles/initramfs-genkernel-x86_64-3.10.7-gentoo
www.mlc-core.de/webfiles/kernel-genkernel-x86_64-3.10.7-gentoo


Source /usr/src/linux/*
www.mlc-core.de/webfiles/linux-3.10.7-gentoo.tar.gz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum