Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Framebuffers on Fujitsu PrimePower 250 server?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
GenTimJS
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 May 2003
Posts: 406
Location: NH, USA

PostPosted: Mon Sep 16, 2013 3:11 pm    Post subject: Framebuffers on Fujitsu PrimePower 250 server? Reply with quote

Anyone know if any kind of sun frame buffer will work in a Fujitsu PrimePower 250 server? I've found almost no mention of people installing framebuffers in PrimePower servers on the web, though I was able to find some part numbers for Fujitsu branded framebuffers (without indication of what they were intended to work in)

The PP250 specs indicate it has plenty of PCI slots, and I currently have on hand a PGX64, a Creator3d and an Expert3dLite. I'm considering buying the PP250 from a local firm that is going under, and am doing my homework ahead of time.
_________________
-Tim Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 1678
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Sep 16, 2013 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PGX64 appears to contain a normal ATI Mach64 chipset, which is supported by atyfb. For Creator3D there is an old thread here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GenTimJS
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 May 2003
Posts: 406
Location: NH, USA

PostPosted: Mon Sep 16, 2013 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I meant more along the lines of if anyone knows if the hardware will support it.

I'm not aware of any reason why it wouldn't, but I've been surprised by Sparc hardware in the past.....
_________________
-Tim Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GenTimJS
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 May 2003
Posts: 406
Location: NH, USA

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to clarify, I'd be happy if the box gets me just a framebuffer console, I'm not super worried about X.

I just don't want to have to admin the box and do the initial OS install from a serial terminal.....
_________________
-Tim Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cb88
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2011
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

supposedly you can use a regular radeon in a T2000... I intend to test it out soon. I imagine as long as the kernel supports it it should wor although I have no doubt there will be bugs due to complete lack of testing on Sparc (I read about some of these things getting fixed awhile back).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GenTimJS
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 May 2003
Posts: 406
Location: NH, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2014 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cb88 wrote:
supposedly you can use a regular radeon in a T2000... I intend to test it out soon. I imagine as long as the kernel supports it it should wor although I have no doubt there will be bugs due to complete lack of testing on Sparc (I read about some of these things getting fixed awhile back).



Have you tested this?
I'm considering getting a T2000, but I haven't seen any half-height framebuffers/vidcards that claim to be sparc compatible.
_________________
-Tim Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum