Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Emerge files off of a cd
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Atari1977
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Sep 2013
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 2:42 pm    Post subject: Emerge files off of a cd Reply with quote

Hello, I'm extremely new to Linux. I'm trying to install a program called ADTPro so I can use my Apple II as a terminal. I've downloaded the appropriate file from the website http://adtpro.sourceforge.net/install.html and put it on a cd. As the title suggests, how do I install this file onto the computer? I tried emerge --search but it wouldn't bring up the files on the cd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dE_logics
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Jan 2009
Posts: 2175
Location: $TERM

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why did you put it on a cd?
_________________
Buy from companies supporting opensource -- IBM, Dell, HP, Hitachi, Google etc...
Disfavor companies supporting only Win -- Logitech, Epson, Adobe, Autodesk, Pioneer, Kingston, WD, Yahoo, MSI, XFX
My blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Atari1977
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Sep 2013
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dE_logics wrote:
Why did you put it on a cd?


As the program's primary function is to allow you to create Apple II floppy disks, I stuck a couple of roms on the CD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 2366
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 3:17 pm    Post subject: Re: Emerge files off of a cd Reply with quote

There are installation and usage instructions on the page you linked to. Are you having trouble following them?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Atari1977
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Sep 2013
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 3:28 pm    Post subject: Re: Emerge files off of a cd Reply with quote

Ant P. wrote:
There are installation and usage instructions on the page you linked to. Are you having trouble following them?

The instructions just say to install Java and the files. They don't really answer how to get said files off of a cd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32019
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Atari1977,

The Java things run on your Gentoo. The .DSK files are Apple disk images.

To use the .DSK files you need to write them to an Apple disk. For the APPLE ][, you will need to write them in a APPLE ][ disk drive, since not even old PC drives give you control of the formatting information that the APPLE ][ uses.

What are you really wanting to do with the APPLE ][ ?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.


Last edited by NeddySeagoon on Mon Sep 09, 2013 3:43 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Atari1977
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Sep 2013
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 3:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Atari1977,

The Java things run on your Gentoo. The .DSK files are Apple disk images.

To use the .DSK files you need to write them to an Apple disk. For the APPLE ][, you will need to write them in a APPLE ][ disk drive, since not even old PC drives give you control of the formatting information that the APPLE ][ uses.

What are you really wanting to do with the APPLE ][ ?


I found this article a couple of days ago http://web.archive.org/web/20100817014158/http://dataswamp.net/apple2eserialterm/index.php, it's instructions on how to use an old Apple II(which I have) as a terminal for Gentoo. So I grabbed an old pc and followed some video instructions to install Gentoo. ADTPro is normally used to act as a server to write .DSK files through the Apple II disk drives. The ADTPro on the Gentoo machine is supposed to communicate with a version running on the Apple II(which I have on a floppy).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32019
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Atari1977,

I'll give it a shot - I have an APPLE ][ that still works with a serial card, so I can try out the virtual disk serving over the serial port.
I can try both ProDos and Apple DOS 3.3 - which is most useful to you?

I'll need to make up a serial cable to connect my PC and the Apple ][, so it may not be until the weekend.

The concept of serving a floppy image over a serial port to an Apple ][ makes my mind boggle but doing the arithmetic, a 140k floppy has 16 sectors per track, for 4k per track. At 300RPM, thats 20480B/sec ... or would be if the Apple could read it all in one rev of the disk but it can't. The actual data rate is 1/2 or 1/3 or less because of the sector interleaving ... that compares well with the serial link speed.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Atari1977
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Sep 2013
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Atari1977,

I'll give it a shot - I have an APPLE ][ that still works with a serial card, so I can try out the virtual disk serving over the serial port.
I can try both ProDos and Apple DOS 3.3 - which is most useful to you?

I'll need to make up a serial cable to connect my PC and the Apple ][, so it may not be until the weekend.

The concept of serving a floppy image over a serial port to an Apple ][ makes my mind boggle but doing the arithmetic, a 140k floppy has 16 sectors per track, for 4k per track. At 300RPM, thats 20480B/sec ... or would be if the Apple could read it all in one rev of the disk but it can't. The actual data rate is 1/2 or 1/3 or less because of the sector interleaving ... that compares well with the serial link speed.


I think ProDos is used in the article. But my issue is that I have the files that I need to install onto Gentoo on a CD, and I don't know how to install them from there. So how would I install ADTPro's file ADTPro-1.2.8.tar.gz onto my computer, while it's on the cd? Does it need to be moved onto the hard drive?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Atari1977
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Sep 2013
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Atari1977,

I'll give it a shot - I have an APPLE ][ that still works with a serial card, so I can try out the virtual disk serving over the serial port.
I can try both ProDos and Apple DOS 3.3 - which is most useful to you?

I'll need to make up a serial cable to connect my PC and the Apple ][, so it may not be until the weekend.

The concept of serving a floppy image over a serial port to an Apple ][ makes my mind boggle but doing the arithmetic, a 140k floppy has 16 sectors per track, for 4k per track. At 300RPM, thats 20480B/sec ... or would be if the Apple could read it all in one rev of the disk but it can't. The actual data rate is 1/2 or 1/3 or less because of the sector interleaving ... that compares well with the serial link speed.

It's possible to do it with a Commodore 64 as well(different software obviously). I've written a couple of disks using ADTPro's Window's version, and it's a good way to play Apple II games on original hardware.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32019
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Atari1977,

The file ADTPro-1.2.8.tar.gz is a compressed tar archive.
You need to decompress it and untar it, then you can get at the individual programs in the tarball.

You don't need to copy the file to your hdd but its easier.

Make a new directory called ~/ADTPro and copy the file ADTPro-1.2.8.tar.gz to it
Code:
cd ~/ADTPro
tar xpf ADTPro-1.2.8.tar.gz
will unpack the tarball to cd ~/ADTPro preserving the permission on the files.
tar will work out what compression is used for itself.

The ~ (tilde) in the path means the users home directory.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Atari1977
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Sep 2013
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Atari1977,

The file ADTPro-1.2.8.tar.gz is a compressed tar archive.
You need to decompress it and untar it, then you can get at the individual programs in the tarball.

You don't need to copy the file to your hdd but its easier.

Make a new directory called ~/ADTPro and copy the file ADTPro-1.2.8.tar.gz to it

Made the directory, but how do I copy the file over?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32019
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Atari1977,

Mount the cd, with something like
Code:
mount -t iso9660 /dev/sr0 /mnt/cdrom

/mnt/cdrom must exist.
Then
Code:
cp /mnt/cdrom/ADTPro-1.2.8.tar.gz ~/ADTPro


Lastly, tidy up
Code:
umount /dev/sr0
so you can remove the CD from the drive.

Depending on your settings, you may need to be root for the mount and umount commands.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Atari1977
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Sep 2013
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get a line that says

mount: wrong fs type,bad option,bad superblock, on /dev/sr0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32019
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Atari1977,

Try
Code:
modprobe iso9660
before the mount command.
Thats the filesystem driver for CDROMs

Unless you get an error message, the modprobe worked. You need to be root for this.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Atari1977
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Sep 2013
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm logged into root and is says Module iso9660 not found.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32019
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Atari1977,

The module is properly called isofs try modprobe isofs before you follow the rest of this post

If you are still reading you need to fix your kernel ... like this.
Code:
cd /usr/src/linux
make menuconfig


In the menuconfig window scroll down to
Code:
File systems  --->
when its highlighted, press return to get into the submenu.
Scroll down to
Code:
CD-ROM/DVD Filesystems  --->
and press return.

Your entry for
Code:
< > ISO 9660 CDROM file system support
will show < > meaning not selected.
Choose the line and press the space bar until it shows
Code:
<M> ISO 9660 CDROM file system support
, meaning loadable module.
Also choose the options just below, so that the menu looks like
Code:

  │ ┌──────────────────────────────────────────────────────┐ │ 
  │ │    <M> ISO 9660 CDROM file system support            │ │ 
  │ │    [*]   Microsoft Joliet CDROM extensions           │ │ 
  │ │    [*]   Transparent decompression extension

Press the Esc key to move up the menu system, being sure to save your settings as you exit.
Now to compile the module.

Run
Code:
make modules
make modules_install
modprobe iso9660
and try the mount command again.
No reboot is required as you have just added a module for your running kernel.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Atari1977
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Sep 2013
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now I get an error saying could not insert isofs: Device or resource busy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32019
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Atari1977,

Code:
emerge wgetpaste
and use it to paste your dmesg
Code:
dmesg | wgetpaste
Post the URL you get back.

Also post your lsmod output.

You could just download the file again
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Atari1977
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Sep 2013
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just found out that I can't get the net.eth0 working. I'm thinking at this point I'll just reinstall Gentoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32019
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Atari1977,

Thats a long way round to fix the net. Its also a bad habit you got from another OS.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum