Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved] KDE4: ksysguard missing CPU and Network sensors
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Joseph K.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 400
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2009 3:43 am    Post subject: [solved] KDE4: ksysguard missing CPU and Network sensors Reply with quote

For some reason, ksysguard ("System Monitor") on my laptop does not have any sensors active in the CPU or Network History graphs in the System Load tab. Weird. Is it possible to add sensors to these existing graphs? I don't want to have to create a new tab. Thanks, cheers.

Last edited by Joseph K. on Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:29 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
billydv
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Dec 2006
Posts: 870
Location: Mount Vernon, NY

PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 4:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you cannot edit the tab properties in order to add rows and ultimately more sensors, you will need to create a new tab.
_________________
Billy DeVincentis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joseph K.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 400
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 5:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, that is the conclusion I came to. So it begs the question, why do the default tabs not include the same CPU and network sensors that appeared on my other system? Weird.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
billydv
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Dec 2006
Posts: 870
Location: Mount Vernon, NY

PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 8:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The default tabs may not have recognized it your system. My sensors tab came up normal on one system and not at all on the second.
_________________
Billy DeVincentis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
giessie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2005
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This might help you, I stumbled across it, while trying to get rid of the default tabs:

KSysGuard stores the default tabs in
./.kde4/share/apps/ksysguard/ProcessTable.sgrd
./.kde4/share/apps/ksysguard/SystemLoad2.sgrd

You can edit these files yourself, if you don't want to create new ones, but you should backup your versions.
KSysGuard will recreate default versions of the files if you rename or delete them.

Especially look at the locked="1" parameter in line 3.
In SystemLoad2.sgrd there are also wildcard filters, which you can not (afaik) create from the gui.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joseph K.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 400
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had some other major issues recently and essentially nuked ~/.kde -- after which, the default sensors appeared! Amazing. I wouldn't recommend nuking ~/.kde, but perhaps selective deleting of the aforementioned configuration files may help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
milan.opa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Sep 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 4:53 am    Post subject: Same problem after upgrade to KUbuntu 13.04 Reply with quote

Hi,

After upgrade to KUbuntu 13.04 same problem occurred to me. Previously working KSysGuad stopped showing CPU and network info.

To solve the problem I just deleted these files:

./.kde4/share/apps/ksysguard/ProcessTable.sgrd
./.kde4/share/apps/ksysguard/SystemLoad2.sgrd

Everything works now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum