Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Raid problem: cannot determine md version
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
meekrob
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Apr 2002
Posts: 81
Location: Tempe, AZ USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2002 1:21 am    Post subject: Raid problem: cannot determine md version Reply with quote

I'm trying to set up gentoo with a kernel raid. I'd like to set up a raid0 swap and root partition and a raid1 boot and backup partition. I noticed the gentoo install cd has raidtools installed so I partition out the drives using fdisk. I then create /etc/raidtab:

Code:
#swap
raiddev /dev/md0
raid-level 0
nr-raid-disks 2
persistant-superblock 1
chunk-size 32
device /dev/hde1
raid-disk 0
device /dev/hdg1
raid-disk 1

#root
raiddev /dev/md1
raid-level 0
nr-raid-disks 2
persistant-superblock 1
chunk-size 32
device /dev/hde2
raid-disk 0
device /dev/hdg2
raid-disk 1

#boot
raiddev /dev/md2
raid-level 1
nr-raid-disks 2
persistant-superblock 1
chunk-size 32
device /dev/hde3
raid-disk 0
device /dev/hdg3
raid-disk 1

#backup
raiddev /dev/md3
raid-level 1
nr-raid-disks 2
persistant-superblock 1
chunk-size 32
device /dev/hde4
raid-disk 0
device /dev/hdg4
raid-disk 1


I then type:
Code:

# mkraid /dev/md0
cannot determine md version: No such file or directory
#

Ack! So I check for /proc/mdstat. Nothing there.

How do I create the devices:

/dev/md0
/dev/md1
/dev/md2
/dev/md3

??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fghellar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 856
Location: Porto Alegre, BR

PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2002 1:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try this:
Code:
# cd /dev
# MAKEDEV md*

_________________
| www.gentoo.org | www.tldp.org | www.google.com |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest






PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2002 2:00 am    Post subject: modprobe md Reply with quote

Ahh. I have to start with a modprobe md... are there any other modules I need to load?
Back to top
meekrob
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Apr 2002
Posts: 81
Location: Tempe, AZ USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2002 2:03 am    Post subject: modprobe md seemed to do the trick Reply with quote

modprobe md seemed to do the trick!

thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TNX
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 8
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2004 12:49 am    Post subject: Raid problem: cannot determine md version Reply with quote

Hello,

I have run into a problem with /dev/md0.
Something must have broken in /dev, because at first my /dev/md0 worked just fine, raiddisk became active during boot and was exported over nfs. Currently, I've had to disable raidstart during boot, because it would hang the boot into an error message. The error "cannot determine md version: 25." comes up when trying to use any raidtool. The odd thing is, that if I go and rm /dev/md0 and create it again, the device works properly. (Or most probably I'm creating the file in the wrong way)

Here is how I do it currently:
Code:

server root # mount /dev/md0/
mount: can't find /dev/md0 in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab
server root # raidstart
cannot determine md version: 25.
server root # cd /dev/
server dev # rm -dr md0
server dev # ln -s md/0 md0
server dev # raidstart /dev/md0
server dev # mount /dev/md0 /data/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RaaR
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2004 4:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I read somewhere that kernel 2.5.x and above used /dev/md/? instead of /dev/md?.

Try replacing /dev/md0 with /dev/md/0 in fstab. Either I'm just not understanding your problem or this should solve it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TNX
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 8
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2004 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes the /dev/md/0 is the device and making /dev/md0 a symbolic link pointing to it solves the problem for as long as the computer is running. But if the system reboots, /dev/md0 is botched and I have to manually recreate the link.

I'm searching a solution which would make /dev/md0 to work correctly at boottime. (All other /dev/md? devices work properly at boot.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TNX
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 8
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 1:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, found a solution:

Scrapped devfs and emerged udev, now /dev/md0 works properly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7214
Location: Pelotas, BR

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Merged threads to put together two possible solutions and made stick.
_________________
"I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yottabit
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2002
Posts: 313
Location: Columbus, Ohio, US

PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just some helpful hints:

  • Use the new mdadm (multi-disk administrator) package and its mdadm.conf instead of the old raidtools and raidtab. Your life will be much easier. You can Google mdadm to read how it works and its advantages over raidtools. For setting up your system with mdadm you can see the software RAID howto supplement to Gentoo installation here: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-x86-tipsntricks.xml#software-raid. Lastly on this subject, you can interchange between mdadm and raidtools since they're just the userland utilities and both use the kernel's md driver! So no need to redefine your arrays and reformat! Just emerge mdadm, create your mdadm.conf (can be done automatically; read the previous link), unmerge raidtools, reboot! (Maybe there's more, but that's all I think I did...)
  • This has been covered before, but since this thread is sticky for the moment, I may as well say again: there really is no point in striping (RAID0) your swap! The kernel swap daemon automagically stripes/balances multiple swaps if you specify all of them in your /etc/fstab! Neato, right? Occam's Razor and all that jazz. (Finally, realize that if you were doing a mirrored array [RAID1] for the root filesystem there would be a good reason to mirror your swap... if one of the disks were to fail, you'd likely still keep serving up that database or whatever... with striping swap, if you lose a disk it's like pulling a RAM chip out of the system while running, hehe.)


J
_________________
Play The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
epinefryna
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jan 2005
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi
Need help
I found great howto about installing gentoo on raided hdds, I tried all of it and I'm stuck

I created partitions on my two identical hdds
Code:
Disk /dev/sda: 36.7 GB, 36703934464 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4462 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *           1          17      136521   fd  Linux raid autodetect   <-----boot
/dev/sda2              18         142     1004062+  82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda3             143        2575    19543072+  fd  Linux raid autodetect    <----- /
/dev/sda4            2576        4462    15157327+  fd  Linux raid autodetect   <---- /home

and
Code:
Disk /dev/sdb: 36.7 GB, 36703934464 bytes
64 heads, 32 sectors/track, 35003 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 2048 * 512 = 1048576 bytes

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdb1   *           1         123      125936   fd  Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sdb2             124        1101     1001472   82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sdb3            1102       20175    19531776   fd  Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sdb4           20176       35003    15183872   fd  Linux raid autodetect


I did
Code:
modprobe md

and got
Code:
md: md driver 0.90.1 MAX_MD_DEVS=256, MD_SB_DISKS=27

in dmesg

Created /etc/raidtab - almost the same as I found on this forum

PROBLEM:
I cannot see any /dev/md* devices. So I cannot run mkraid
Code:
livecd ~ # mkraid
cannot determine md version: no MD device file in /dev.


I'm running 2005.1 LiveCD.

Will you help me, please. And if you are so kind please explain me how is it possible that my two identical hhds have different geometries ????
64 heads, 32 sectors/track, 35003 cylinders
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4462 cylinders

Thank you in advance
_________________
There is no spoon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yottabit
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2002
Posts: 313
Location: Columbus, Ohio, US

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to create the md device nodes. Easy!

See this: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-x86-tipsntricks.xml#software-raid

Cheers,

J
_________________
Play The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Woolong
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2004
Posts: 62
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 2:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I followed the guide to create raid1, the system boots and runs okay. But the second disk is somehow out of sync with my first hd.

I described the problem here:
http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-395242-highlight-.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chazmati
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jan 2004
Posts: 6
Location: Neenah, WI

PostPosted: Sun Nov 20, 2005 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Help! After converting to UDEV, raidstart fails but mdadm still works.

Code:
metal ~ # raidstart /dev/md1
cannot determine md version: no MD device file in /dev.

metal ~ # raidstart /dev/md/1
cannot determine md version: no MD device file in /dev.

metal ~ # cat /etc/fstab | grep /dev/md
/dev/md/1               /home/share     ext3            defaults                0 0

metal ~ # cat /etc/raidtab
raiddev /dev/md/1
raid-level              1
nr-raid-disks           2
chunk-size              32
persistent-superblock   1
nr-spare-disks          0

        device          /dev/hdc2
        raid-disk       0
        device          /dev/hda2
        raid-disk       1

metal ~ # mdadm --assemble /dev/md1 /dev/hdc2 /dev/hda2
mdadm: /dev/md1 has been started with 2 drives.


Spaces added for clarity. What's up with this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neysx
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 27 Jan 2003
Posts: 795

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yottabit wrote:
You need to create the md device nodes. Easy!

See this: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-x86-tipsntricks.xml#software-raid

Cheers,

J
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-x86+raid+lvm2-quickinstall.xml would be a better place to look. I'll add a link to it in gentoo-x86-tipsntricks.xml

Hth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ali3nx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 476
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yottabit wrote:
Just some helpful hints:

  • Use the new mdadm (multi-disk administrator) package and its mdadm.conf instead of the old raidtools and raidtab. Your life will be much easier. You can Google mdadm to read how it works and its advantages over raidtools. For setting up your system with mdadm you can see the software RAID howto supplement to Gentoo installation here: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-x86-tipsntricks.xml#software-raid. Lastly on this subject, you can interchange between mdadm and raidtools since they're just the userland utilities and both use the kernel's md driver! So no need to redefine your arrays and reformat! Just emerge mdadm, create your mdadm.conf (can be done automatically; read the previous link), unmerge raidtools, reboot! (Maybe there's more, but that's all I think I did...)
  • This has been covered before, but since this thread is sticky for the moment, I may as well say again: there really is no point in striping (RAID0) your swap! The kernel swap daemon automagically stripes/balances multiple swaps if you specify all of them in your /etc/fstab! Neato, right? Occam's Razor and all that jazz. (Finally, realize that if you were doing a mirrored array [RAID1] for the root filesystem there would be a good reason to mirror your swap... if one of the disks were to fail, you'd likely still keep serving up that database or whatever... with striping swap, if you lose a disk it's like pulling a RAM chip out of the system while running, hehe.)


J


Must agree with yottabit on using mdadm. The best i can recall raidtools and friends have been depreciated in 2.6 linux kernels for some time favoring mdadm. raidtools may work but it's more than liklely only usable for long term support and compatibility to allow systems admins time to rebuild software raid arrays.
_________________
Compiling Gentoo since version 1.4
Thousands of Gentoo Installs Completed
Emerged on every continent but Antarctica
Compile long and Prosper!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
umka69
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Mar 2013
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Thu Aug 29, 2013 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

show here your.
Code:

# cat /proc/mdadm

# ls -l /dev/md*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum